Humans logo

The sunflower in my garden...

A smile I will never forget

By Eddie J GrymPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
And I will always love you more than yesterday and less than tomorrow....

Spring was here.

I thought as I got out of the door, that would lead me to our garden.

The wind started playing around with my hair, as the smell of the flowers we planted some weeks ago, filled the space all around me. My mind was racing with thoughts, mostly those happy moments we had lately, in our new house.

Right as the sun was smiling down at the Earth, in that small Paradise we had just created for us two, I felt two arms wrapping me around my waist.

A smile instantly appeared on my face.

My heart started pounding so hard inside of my chest, like it was trying to tell me something. That, this feeling, each day more different, was capturing my heart and all of my being.

I could almost feel her heartbeat, on my back. Her body pressed right next to mine, warming me up. Making me forget the cold I felt just some times ago.

Her head leaning on my back, as she was breathing in my scent. I couldn't stand not being able to see her, so, I turned around to face her.

She had that big smile on her face, the one I adored. And her eyes were shining so bright, that I just got lost in them, just like I always do. As soon as I started staring at her, she looked away, making me grin at her reaction. Despite all this time of us being one, she still has that one habit, she doesn't even know I adore it, or maybe she does it on purpose. My thoughts were dancing with the wind, while feeling warm around her presence. As she turned her head to face me, the wind messed some hair strands around her face, covering up her left cheek and a bit of her lips. My heart fluttered, as if all those butterflies, were suddenly flying all around it, filling all in the void that felt empty for so long, long before I found her.

With my left hand, I gently pulled her hair, putting them behind her ear. That made her look down, while smiling shyly and avoiding my gaze.

I slightly pulled her chin up, her eyes narrowed as she smiled. I could almost see myself inside of them.

She was happy and I felt the same, as I knew that I was the reason behind that one smile.

I leaned my forehead on hers, as I was still looking at her.

It all felt right. And my heart was still skipping beats, only to race faster right after it.

With all that love that was in the air, I could barely catch my breath. So, I decided, to catch hers.

I moved my hand to cup her face and I slightly pressed my lips on hers, while keeping her closer to me, with her hand on my chest, right over my heart, so she could feel how it was beating.

It felt surreal.

I still couldn't believe "we" existed.

Maybe it was just a dream, from which I would never want to wake up if true.

And while I was feeling the love she was radiating and her arms tightly wrapped around me, I promised myself I would never give up. That I'll give up whatever it takes for me to be next to her and to never let her go. Even if it would cost me the peace I worked for in my entire life. As for me, there was no peace or any other thing that had more worth than her.

Until the end of time...

And Beyond.

love
Like

About the Creator

Eddie J Grym

I have been creating stories for fifteen years now, but have only been writing since 2014. I enjoy the craft that is to spell the adventures of the mind into sentences and pages to share these journeys with others.

Twitter & IG: @ejgrym

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.