Humans logo

The start of my journey

Seeking Human Kindness...

By James' Place Adult DaycarePublished about a year ago 2 min read
Like
The start of my journey
Photo by Matt Collamer on Unsplash

In the world of social care, there are people who have made it their calling to help the most vulnerable, often at the cost of their own personal lives. For these courageous and selfless individuals, caring for others is not just a job, it's a way of life.

My journey began as I became more aware of my brother James' condition. James has epilepsy and other additional needs. When it came to him being at social gatherings and parties, he would stand awkwardly while the other kids played games, I remember how confused he would look and he’d make an effort to join in, but for some reason, he just couldn't.

By Kat J on Unsplash

Growing up with a brother with disabilities was not easy, and our family often struggled to cope with it. Always making allowances for him in my daily life I suppose that kind of behaviour becomes ingrained into your psyche and as such, I always looked out for the underdog at school and always step up to defend them when they’d get in trouble, often leading me to get into trouble.

After moving to Andover and realizing that the care being offered to people with disabilities was not up to the standard that I would expect, my family and I decided to take matters into our own hands. So, we started James' Place with the aim of providing beautiful spaces for people with disabilities to feel at home, loved, and looked after. It was a labour of love, and one that has continued to grow and flourish over the years.

The journey has not been easy, and the road ahead is often fraught with challenges, but caring for those who need it most has become a life choice that I will follow. I have seen the best and worst of humanity during my time in this industry, and the vast majority of the time I am pleased to say humanity is a force for good!

By Tim Marshall on Unsplash

Many social care providers exist, but what sets James' Place apart is the deep empathy, care and respectful interactions that permeates every aspect of every location, The rooms are light and airy, beautiful and often overlooking gardens or parkland, the staff are kind, and our members are treated with the utmost respect and dignity. It is not just a job for those who work there - it is a vocation. A way of life that drives them to be the best they can be for those who need them the most, often an overlooked marginalised member of society.

In a world that can often be cruel and unforgiving, it is heart-warming to know that there are people willing to join the team at James' Place who put the members first without hesitation. We search for a particular type of person, ones that are looking to make sure that they have made a difference in someone's life.

It has taken 11 years to get this far, and for those who persevere, the rewards are immeasurable. It is the satisfaction of knowing that you have made a difference in someone's life, and that you have brought hope to the families. I really love my job, every location we open just opens the door to an new extended family.

Thank you for reading, I hope you enjoy. this is the start of my Blog journey, any advice on how to improve would be much appreciated.

#MadeByDyslexia - Expect small mistakes and BIG ideas

Kind Regards

Guy

humanity
Like

About the Creator

James' Place Adult Daycare

At the top of our organisation our strengths lie in our diverse backgrounds bringing many different disciplines to our team. This gives us a unique view on how Day Care should be delivered. Empathetic, modern Daycare

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.