Humans logo

The Soulmate Truth

My Take on Soulmates

By mikayla mariePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

I saw someone write a piece on Vocal saying “you do not have a soulmate”.

Now I read the article, and they are a talented writer, but I disagree completely.

Some of their thoughts were that every person you fall in love with is your soulmate and I have to disagree. I don't think that's the case at all.

Now I am no love expert but here me out.

Maybe it is because I grew up with the idea that I will find that one person who will love me forever. And trust me, I was not surrounded by perfect relationships growing up.

My father and mother broke up. Both their parents have different spouses. And it goes on. It seems as if marriage does not work in my family.

Maybe this is why I am so keen on finding that somebody that will be my forever.

It also did not help that I watched Disney princess movies as a child, or into my early teen years, watch movies like "The Fault in Our Stars", or "Divergent", or even "The Hunger Games", where it is based hugely on a relationship.

I thought what they had was perfect and I wanted that growing up. And I still do if I'm going to be honest.

Now when it comes to the word “soulmate”, I believe that is someone’s forever.

But I also believe, you can love many people, without them having to be your soulmate. I think that is possible.

You can love many people, and I have, you wouldn’t believe how many boys have promised me “forever” and then ended it with me months later.

But it’s until you meet that someone, everything changes.

No matter what you go through, I believe you will have the power to overcome that situation. If not, they are not your soulmate.

I dated this one guy. He was a nice feller. We spent our whole summer together. Driving around town, sleepovers, drinking, road trips, it was everything.

I didn’t think anything could go wrong because I remembered the look on his face when he asked me out.

He was full of pure joy and I never saw him show emotion like that. I thought he was my forever.

I was wrong.

One week into our senior year in high school, we’re done.

I got over it of course, it took time, but that’s that.

We loved each other, but the love vanished.

Same thing with another guy. 
We dated for several months and the love began to fade. We hung out 24/7 though and neither of us knew why we didn't feel the same anymore.

And that's terribly sad. Falling out of love. But there's a reason for it, and that is your soulmate.

"But how do I know if they are my soulmate?", you make ask.

The trick is, is when the love stays. When the honeymoon phase isn’t just a phase.

When you want to work out an argument instead of just walking away. When you want to tell them the truth, instead of lying.

This is it.

You may think all of this is baloney and you have the right to.

I’m just saying, if someone is meant to be in your life, they will stay. And if not, they’re not your soulmate.

I believe in soulmates, and I always will.

Even if I never get one.

But I believe I will, and maybe that's because I grew up going to church, believing in the Word and how God has a plan for all of our lives and that there is a special someone for us.

But that's a whole different story for another day.

love
1

About the Creator

mikayla marie

basically a life story in the form of journalism. i guess that's poetic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.