Humans logo

The small gesture that changed everything.

Kindness

By Irfan ShahPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The small gesture that changed everything.
Photo by Andrew Thornebrooke on Unsplash

There are certain moments in our lives that have the power to shape our entire perspective. For me, one such moment occurred when I was just 12 years old. It was a small gesture, but it had a profound impact on me that I still carry with me to this day.

At the time, my family was going through a particularly difficult time. My parents were going through a divorce, and as the youngest of three children, I was struggling to understand and process everything that was happening. I felt lost and alone, and I didn't know where to turn for support.

One day, as I was walking home from school, I noticed an older woman sitting on the bench outside of her house. She looked up at me and smiled warmly. I smiled back and continued on my way, but something about her kindness stayed with me.

Over the next few days, I started to notice her more and more. Sometimes she would be outside working in her garden, and other times she would be sitting on her porch, reading a book. Each time I passed by, she would smile and wave, and I would feel a little bit lighter.

One day, I decided to stop and talk to her. I was feeling particularly down that day, and something about her presence seemed to offer a sense of comfort. We struck up a conversation, and before I knew it, we had been talking for hours. She listened to me as I shared my worries and fears, and she offered me words of encouragement and support.

Over the next few weeks and months, I continued to visit her regularly. We would talk about everything from school to life to the latest book we had read. She became a source of stability and comfort during a time when everything else in my life felt chaotic and uncertain.

Looking back on that time in my life, I realize that the small gesture of kindness that the woman showed me had a profound impact on me. It taught me the importance of human connection and the power of a simple act of kindness.

In the years that followed, I made a conscious effort to pay forward the kindness that had been shown to me. I made an effort to reach out to others who were going through difficult times, to listen and offer support, and to be a source of comfort in their lives.

The experience also taught me the importance of being present and paying attention to the people around me. Sometimes, it's the small gestures of kindness that can make all the difference in someone's life.

As I've grown older, I've come to appreciate the value of human connection even more. In a world that can sometimes feel disconnected and divided, it's more important than ever to reach out to others, to show kindness and compassion, and to build meaningful connections.

It's easy to get caught up in our own lives and our own problems, but the truth is that we are all in this together. We all have our own struggles and challenges, and we all need support and understanding from time to time.

The small gesture of kindness that the woman showed me may seem insignificant in the grand scheme of things, but for me, it was a lifeline during a difficult time. It reminded me that there are good people in the world, that I wasn't alone, and that there is always hope.

So, if you ever find yourself feeling lost or alone, remember that there is always someone out there who cares. And if you have the opportunity to show kindness to someone else, even in a small way, take it. You never know what kind of impact it may have on their life.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Irfan Shah

Psychology of mankind.

Stories untold.

Truths unveiled.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.