Humans logo

the SCREAMING room

Use your imagination

By Novel AllenPublished 2 years ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
1
nikolay tchaouchev on unsplash

Do you need to scream? Release all the stress from your body.

Then come with me to visit my screaming room.

Feel free to perform any type of screaming that you deem necessary.

My topic sounds like an oxymoron, I am aware, but I have a brilliant idea for the coming new year.

I have decided to convert my extra room into a Screaming Room. What is a screaming room you may ask. Well, the idea just popped into my head because of you guys. I do not have pictures yet, it is still just an idea in my head.

This room is located in an area that has a vast and unending view of beautifully green, luxurious and lush hillsides. I have hung paintings of realistic looking waterfalls on both sides of the windows, since my exterior panorama lacks a waterfall which would have completed the overall look of paradise.

The ubiquitous need to scream is universal, it relieves stress. So at the end of the day, or whatever portion of the day I deem fit that I wish to scream, I will enter my designated screaming room, grab a pillow, place it over my face, and scream to my heart's content. I already feel much calmer, just thinking of the act of screaming itself.

Maybe there will be times when I just grab a pillow and dance, dance to the sounds of music in my head, or put some music on and sway to the rhythm, or maybe dance, scream and sway. Yes, the screaming room will need music, but in a very tiny way, I do not wish to distract from the main focus of the room, but only because everything needs music.

Screaming to become and stay calm. This is not a new concept, I am merely taking it a bit further and creating a permanent space for the furtherance of my brilliant idea.

Truthfully, sleep has been an elusive, evading my grasp, kind of enigma to me these days. I reach out to grasp it, but it keeps on getting more and more far away, making me want to scream at it and invite it to please come closer. Hopefully now I can entice this thing, sleep, which was my friend in days gone by, to come and be my friend again.

I will throw 'BRING YOUR OWN PILLOW' parties, or we can do some pillow yoga. The ideas are infinite.

This unique room will contain only pillows. Small pillows, large pillows, medium pillows, red pillows, yellow pillows, white, black, pink, green pillows, well, you get the idea, all the colors of the rainbow, will be arrayed in this room in the form of pillows. I do not wish my room to be totally clinical, so colors will give me choices, depending on the mood that I am in at a particular time.

There will be beanbag pillows, weird goofy looking pillows and pillows with uplifting and warm fuzzy messages. Maybe one corner of the room will inhabit only white pillows, for when one just wants some space without color. There will definitely be pillows large enough to rest and snooze on after all the fun of screaming is over.

My traditional bedroom will be available for the regular and much needed life sustaining sleep. It will be there for me after my time spent in the special room, and I have been sufficiently lulled into a well deserved peaceful and contented sleep.

Deconovo on unsplash

Are you not excited to create your own screaming room, with whatever contraptions or accoutrements you find enjoyable.

The sun streams in through the large bay window, inviting relaxation and meditation. The perfect setting for the flow of ideas to create my journaling and stir my creative thoughts to flow with the great ideas for the next challenge, and the next hope for the perfect story. I can create, relax and sleep on a soft comfortable cloudy kaleidoscope of colorful pillows.

My aim for the sanity, clear headedness and general sensible traits that are sorely needed in these difficult and troublesome times, is simply to de-stress, relax, dream up new travels in the form of words, because 'read a thousand books (or stories) travel a thousand miles', and sleep.

I am contemplating whether or not I want children in my sanctum of solitaire. I imagine that I will grudgingly let them in to enjoy some me time for themselves. There will most definitely be no pets in here. They can have the full run of the rest of the house, but this is most emphatically a pet free zone. You are totally free to bring your pets into your screaming room.

The list of temporary visitors will include, questionably 'better' halves, choice friends, children, sleep and myself.

I am impatiently waiting for the organization of my Zen room. It is a wonderful feeling to know that I will have a special place in which I can just let go and be myself whenever I have a yearning to do so. I can shut out the voices of the world that are trying to keep me tied up and twisted inside. My need for contentment will be fulfilled.

I feel so much better already.

N.A.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    My insights aren’t working but I would have ticked every one! Pauline 🌸

  • Pauline Fountain11 months ago

    Take me in please Novel? The screaming room! To desensitise a mind on fire I’ll reside in the ‘one corner of the room will inhabit only white pillows, for when one just wants some space without color. There will definitely be pillows large enough to rest and snooze on after all the fun of screaming is over.’ And then to the Zen room. Now how to create this for me? In my I bedroom unit with a balcony garden, now shared by my partner. The challenge is the screaming room we both need, together and alone. Our Zen room is present. Though much grown now - it is our very own forest. First depicted here. I must update. The clickable link worked fine! Pauline 🌸 https://vocal.media/poets/rebirth-pgnsdv0x63

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.