Poets logo

Rebirth

An observance of gratitude

By Pauline FountainPublished 3 years ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
4
[ image : Pauline Fountain ]

Rebirth

I celebrate the rebirth of life on my balcony garden.

Luscious succulents and variegations of striations and patterns.

Cactuses provide a diversity form, texture, chroma, shape and dimension.

The Jasmine tendrils explore the structure of my garden arch.

From the butterfly, a string of rough hewn hearts made of driftwood.

Soon the chakras will sway.

The birds feature provides a place of rest for regal brass elephants bejewelled with blue crystals and bells awaiting the breeze to chime.

The sun pierces the faceted heart and projects rainbows.

I gaze at the shells and starfish and feel the presence of the sea.

In this moment I see a blue sky day.

Next?

Hanging baskets with vibrant displays of colour.

[ Taking these photos anchors me in the here and now. I have restored my balcony garden after spending 9 out of 12 months in the Psychiaric facility, Toowong Private Hospital .

This provides me with a physical and visual context for reflection on resilience.

This process extinguishes a mind on fire after a continuing pattern of three hours of sleep per night when my eyes finally close at dawn. ]

[ Last discharge date 13/03/2021.]

Pauline Fountain. © 2021. All rights reserved. No part of this work may be used or reproduced without the written permission of the author.

inspirational
4

About the Creator

Pauline Fountain

Writing combined with photography provides me with a creative outlet to reflect with meaning on my life.

In 2008 I was diagnosed with Bipolar 1 (Rapid Cycling) and Complex PTSD.

My son’s gentle wisdom furnishes me with the gift of hope.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allen10 months ago

    You are definitely on your way to healing. Between your little garden, photography and writing down your thoughts, there is a peaceful little imp on your shoulder nudging you to calm and stressless days filled with prosperity and light. Believe it and it shall be.

  • Sandra Tena Cole11 months ago

    This was such a beautiful and evocative way to start your healing-through-writing journey on this platform! I'm really looking forward to reading you on a regular basis 💜x

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.