Humans logo

The "proper" way to speak isn't always the best way to live

I was sent to speech classes until high school because the education system didn't approve of my tongue, unfortunately for them, my tongue can't be controlled.

By Michelle LJPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
The "proper" way to speak isn't always the best way to live
Photo by Girl with red hat on Unsplash

If you spend at least two hours with me you will learn that one of the biggest words in my dictionary is bro.I say bro so much people start to become the actual word bro. I say bro to everybody i say bro to my friends and i say bro to my family i even say bro to the air when its the only thing i can speak to.Some people hate when i say bro others have gotten used to it and some even say it now with me

“Bro you won't believe what happened “

“Omg bro”

“Nah bro thats wild “

“Damn..but yea bro”

When did I start saying bro idk bro I guess one night I slept with my mouth open and the word bro was tattooed onto my tongue.Glued to my soul and attached to the beginning of every sentence my mouth forms and the end of every joke.Bro is my virus the one I host and it grows and grows until the only thing left I can say is bro

When i'm happy- BROOOOO

When im mad -bro.

When i'm sad and shocked- broo ..

My neurons probably release electrical impulses that make the sound broo.I think I'm comfortable saying bro and so I say it all the time why not right?When you're comfortable you can't help but do what you do .Do I say bro when i'm in a professional setting ? -yea sometimes bro .I mean bro it’s like this

I say bro cuz I like bro its a comfortable bro I can be chill with bro and maybe just maybe it's one of the words I treasure because I KNOW I CAN SAY IT RIGHT. I don't say many things correctly or at last what grammar rules and all that other english langauge bull shit says is correct.

I remember being put in speech classes and being seen as mentally challenged and guess why bro?All because I didn't say words properly I had issues with pronunciation bro. So they made me take test and put me in speech and I had to do my S’s and my CH and SH and Sally sells seashells at the seashore and just know I probably messed that up and I can't always say red and sometimes my wellow is ur yellow and a lot of times people look at me like huh and ppl ask me to repeat and ppl say they hear me but i can tell they not really listening because I say yea it was red but u hear yea it was wed.

So this bridge is formed and different people give opinions and bro no one asked for anyone's opinion so Now I say bro because my tongue likes to say it because I don't have to think twice about how to say it because people cant tell me

“bro u sad bro wrong”

because I can tell them

“gtfoh bro”

So yes I say bro and I will continue to say bro because bro gives me the confidence to cross that bridge and keep raising my hand and repeating my points because bro in the back didnt understand me and Imma keep saying it until you understand me.

My tongue isn't like your tongue they told me mine is heavy

So maybe I use the word bro to help me put it on a diet

Bro are the crutches I use to help my tongue walk one step at a time I kill you with my rhyme and my passion and my words and I know after this shit you gonna say

BROOOOO!!!!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Michelle LJ

Writing allows me to escape the tornado of scars and fears in my mind if only for a moment

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.