Humans logo

The Only Path to Mastery is Paved with Embarrassment

I have been embarrassed before. My first attempt at singing in front of a crowd was a flop.

By Edison AdePublished 4 months ago 5 min read
Like

“I’d rather regret the things I’ve done than regret the things I haven’t done.” -Lucille Ball

I have been embarrassed before. My first attempt at singing in front of a crowd was a flop.

I stood in front of the crowd, stumbling over words, and shaking uncontrollably. Got booed off the stage.

It was awful. But when I look back today, I am glad that happened.

We have all been there right?

That sinking feeling in the pit of our stomach as we realize we have no idea what we’re doing. I’m here to tell you — that embarrassment is a good thing.

In fact, it’s the only path to meaningful accomplishment.

My Most Embarrassing Moment Taught Me the Beauty of Being a Beginner

I still vividly remember my most embarrassing moment. I was 13 years old and decided I wanted to learn chess.

My uncle was a chess master, so I begged him to teach me. He agreed. And invited me to play at a local tournament he was participating in. I felt a swell of pride that he thought I was ready for actual competition.

That pride quickly turned into utter humiliation. I lost every single game I played within 10 minutes. Most of my opponents didn’t even think I knew how the pieces moved.

The worst part? My uncle just watched silently from the sidelines, shaking his head in disappointment.

I wanted to disappear.

I swore off chess forever and didn’t talk to my uncle for weeks.

But with time and distance from that embarrassment, I gained some perspective. My uncle had done me a favor by putting me in that uncomfortable position.

He understood the power of being a beginner.

Endure the Embarrassment, Accomplish the Extraordinary

Here’s the key realization — the only way to get good at anything meaningful is to endure embarrassment.

Proficiency requires thousands of repetitions. Excellence requires tens of thousands.

If great athletes stopped training the first time they lost a game.

If artists abandoned their craft when someone criticized their work.

If entrepreneurs gave up after their first failed business.

We’d have none of the marvels that enrich our lives today.

No grand masterpieces to inspire us, no iconic brands to support our economy, no legendary players to entertain us.

Every single expert, master, and legend started out as a flailing beginner.

They pushed past the discomfort to reach heights few dared to dream of.

Michael Jordan was cut from his high school basketball team before becoming the greatest player in history.

J.K. Rowling’s first Harry Potter book was rejected by 12 publishers.

Steve Jobs was fired from his own company before making Apple the most valuable in the world.

Their extraordinary success would never have happened without embarrassing failure first.

The Masters Aren’t Concerned with the Opinions of Amateurs

The most crucial mindset shift on the path to mastery is to stop worrying about external validation. Beginners place too much emphasis on what others think about their performance.

But the masters are not concerned with the opinions of amateurs.

If Einstein abandoned his theory of relativity when his professors called him a lazy dogmatist.

If Beethoven stopped composing when critics said his work had “too many ideas and too much noise”. If Picasso gave up painting when academics claimed he “wasted his great talent”.Great work transcends the early jeers and doubts. Stay focused on your own development and let the results speak for themselves.

The only approval you need is your own. The only metric that matters is if you’re improving against your past self.

Everything else is just noise.

Turn Embarrassment into Motivation with the 3 R’s

Now that we’ve embraced the fact that embarrassment is inevitable, how do we actually use it to our advantage?

Here are the 3 R’s:

Reframe

the embarrassment — don’t let it discourage you. View it as proof you’re challenging yourself. A sign you’ve stepped out of your comfort zone into new territory. Every expert was once a beginner in unfamiliar waters.

Relish

the embarrassment — treat it like a drug that sparks a rush of motivation. Let it ignite your competitive fire and fuel your relentless desire to improve. Use it as a reminder of why you started this journey in the first place.

Repeat

the embarrassment — don’t let a few bad reps deter you. Or a few bad games, paintings, and speeches. Mastery requires an extraordinary number of repetitions over years and decades. Setbacks are part of the process. Keep practising, analyzing and applying lessons learned for incremental improvement.

If all else fails, remember this quote from the legendary Bruce Lee:

“Don’t fear failure. Not failure, but low aim, is the crime. In great attempts it is glorious even to fail.”

The path of mastery is a lifelong journey.

We are all still beginners relative to the limits of human potential.

Have the courage to be embarrassed over and over again in the pursuit of your highest self. That is the only way to accomplish something extraordinary and lasting.

The race goes not to the swift, but to those who keep running. Who push past the discomfort and exhaustion. Who embrace the sweat and tears that pave the road to success.

Your time is now. Step into the arena as a proud beginner and relish the glory of impending embarrassment. Let it burn bright within you as the fuel that propels your rise to the top.

The world is waiting for your genius to emerge. One embarrassing repetition at a time.

© Buzzedison

Get step-by-step game plans to secure funding, build efficient systems, and scale your business the smart way delivered to your inbox weekly.

First seen on Medium

advicehumanity
Like

About the Creator

Edison Ade

I Write about Startup Growth. Helping visionary founders scale with proven systems & strategies. Author of books on hypergrowth, AI + the future.

I do a lot of Spoken Word/Poetry, Love Reviewing Movies.

My website Twitter

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.