Humans logo

The Night

That Changed Everything

By Kirsten LundPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
The Night
Photo by Biel Morro on Unsplash

We met I was sitting in front of my favourite fountain.

“What are you looking at?” A man’s voice startled me. I turned to find where the voice came from. There was a man standing beside me. His hair was light brown and reminded me of wet sand.

“I just lost my job,” I said, “I have been trying to figure out how I am going to make bills.”

“I can help you find another job if you would like.”

The next time we saw each other we were in a coffee shop going over my resume.

“You shouldn’t phrase that line like that,” he said as he pointed to the line on the screen. “Try making it shorter and to the point. Employers don’t want to have to read every single word. They want to be able to skim over it and get all the details.”

“Oh! Okay.” I quickly deleted the sentence and rewrote it.

“That’s way better,” he said with a grin on his face.

“Thank you.” I looked up at him and smiled.

Two weeks later we met up again.

“I found a job!” I exclaimed.

Nothing could tear us apart from then on. We moved in with each other not too long after and we fell in love hard.

Tears streamed down my face as I walked up the aisle a soft song playing in the background. All I could focus on was the man waiting at the end for me. He was dressed head to toe in black. I couldn’t wait to call him mine forever. The picture wavered before disappearing.

I showed my husband the positive pregnancy test. There were tears in his eyes asked he asked if it was a joke.

“No, it isn’t,” I said with a smile. He dropped the stick and pulled me into his arms. We flopped onto the couch in a fit of laughter.

“I have been waiting so long for this to happen! I can’t wait until they are here!”

My husband was holding our newborn son. He couldn’t take his eyes off of him. He was mesmerized

“What did you want to name him?” I asked softly.

“Jeremy.” His voice was so quiet that I almost did hear him.

“I love it,” I said with a huge smile on my face.

“Ya, hear that buddy? Your name is Jeremy.”

The world was black. It took a while for me to realize that I was in my bedroom. The night was darker than usual. The hairs on the back of my neck stood up and I felt uneasy. What was going on? Did someone break into the house?

I woke up my husband and we rushed downstairs. I was so thankful that our baby was at my sister’s place for the weekend.

Bang!

“ARCH!”

“NO PLEASE DON’T!”

Bang!

My heart skipped several beats as I moved toward the living room window to see what was going on outside. I watched mortified at what was happening. People were falling to the ground as gunshots rang through the sky. I spotted a child in the middle of the street crying looking for his mother.

Before I could stop myself I ran out into the street. I had picked up the child and ran back to my house unaware of what was going to happen next.

I was pushed to the ground with the young child in my arms.

Everything had moved in slow motion.

I watched the world pass by me as I rotated my body to take the brunt of the hit. I watched as my husband fell to the ground holding his chest. The child's scream pierced my ears. I sat the child down and told them to run into my house and close the door behind him. When the child ran off to my house I crawled over to my husband.

My heart had stopped when I saw the blood pooling on his chest. I grabbed his hand as I told him that everything was going to be alright if he just held on. I watched his hand come up to grab my face. I leaned into it. His hand felt cold when It made contact.

“I love you.”

love
1

About the Creator

Kirsten Lund

I'm an aspiring author, just looking to find those whose hearts I can impact, and change for the better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.