Humans logo

The Mist

A delicate place for a conversation

By Ember GrayPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

A delicate mist fell upon the rose bushes in the softest way. The trees swayed with the dance of the breeze ever so slightly. The pink and purple haze in the evening sky drew a chill up her spine.

“Why have you brought me here?” She asked quietly. She knew that Charlotte had not shown this space to anyone else before. She knew above all else, she was the first to see it.

“I..I need to tell you something....this was the best place I could think of to do so.” Charlotte clenched her fists into heavy balls, turning her knuckles white with agitation. Veronica knew whatever Charlotte had to say was going to take all of her energy, all of her strength. Veronica unfolded the plaid blanket they had brought along with them and carefully sat on the dry square. She lightly padded the spot next to her, indicating for Charlotte to sit as well. But Charlotte shook her head, pacing the length of the blanket instead.

“I need to tell you...” she started again. How could this be so hard? Why was she getting so tongue-tied?

Veronica smiled up at her. Her soft face beckoned for the truth. “So tell me.”

Charlotte looked at her, and felt the faintest of tears start to form in her eyes. She delicately wiped them away and started again. “I—I love you. I have loved you from the beginning, since I met you really. I never knew this kind of feeling. It takes my breath away every time I hear you speak, every time I see you smile. I feel my entire being shiver when you say my name. When you touch me, I think my head may float away. I've never felt this kind of love before, Veronica. I didn't know it ever existed. But it's as if... as if you have shown me colors that I can't see with anyone else. I only see the shades of pink and green when I'm with you. No one else.” Charlotte let out a deep sigh, coming from somewhere deep within her that needed to be let out for a long time now. She fell to her knees on the neat blanket and looked past Veronica. She couldn't dare to look at her. Not after all she confessed.

But to her surprise she felt Veronica's light hand on her shoulder. She looked up, gazing into Veronica's honey eyes. They seemed to be brighter than ever in this moment. Veronica smoothed some of Charlotte's crimson hair back behind her ear. She could smell the scent of vanilla on her skin as it passed her face.

“My dear, sweet Charlotte. Thank you for bringing me here. It's so lovely...” Veronica's voice was like music, a warm melody washing over Charlotte. “The roses, the mist. It's all so pretty. How special I must be to be the one you show this place to.”

Charlotte felt another hot tear slip from her eye. As she reached up to wipe it away, she felt Veronica's hand once more. Softly, she wiped her tear away. Then she leaned in and gently rested her lips against Charlotte's forehead. The warmth of her lips made Charlotte's head spin. She felt dizzy but wonderful. How much love could she feel for one person? It seemed to be growing with every moment spent together like this. She didn't dare ask the question for fear it would stop.

Charlotte stood slowly, still reeling from the delicate kiss. “So, what are you thinking?” Her hands were tight balls again, fingernails digging into her palms.

Veronica too stood, and slid in to meet Charlotte's gaze. “I think....I think I'm in love with you too.” She closed her eyes and leaned forward, pulling Charlotte by the hips towards her. In a moment of sensational ecstasy, their lips met. The warmth and softness of the kiss made Charlotte want to pull away, but she didn't dare stop. Instead she leaned in further, kissing Veronica back hard. The passion was palpable in that meadow they were in, and the sun seemed to peer out from the clouds just for them. In this moment, they were perfectly united.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Ember Gray

Just a twentysomething Midwest girl with a story to tell.

Find me on Twitter at @embergray

Book featuring a collection of these poems and short stories coming out in August!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.