Humans logo

The Loveliness of Traditional Partnerships and Having Soul-Integrity

It is good to honor your true desires.

By Dream SilasPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Loveliness of Traditional Partnerships and Having Soul-Integrity
Photo by monaaste on Unsplash

Honoring Myself

I am always honoring myself. I honor myself by letting myself be the person that is strongly coming through me at all times. I always feel a greater sense of myself completely excited and ready to express itself through me. I listen to this greater sense of myself and I allow her to come through me and show me who I truly am, what I truly want, and my ultimate purpose. This allows me to see where my attention naturally flows and allows me to indulge in, or more so, incorporate different aspects of myself into my personality. Honoring myself is extremely important to me and I do not give too much thought to how it reflects itself in the physical world or how people react to me honoring myself. I’ve always been more to myself anyway, so I value my own opinions over anyone else’s. But even if I feel or perceive society to be going in a completely different direction than I am, I stand still in where I am at the moment. This took a lot of courage on my end to gain this sense of security within myself but now there is absolutely no going back.

Traditional Partnerships/Marriages

In a partnership/marriage, I prefer traditional gender roles. To me, there is something so sweet about it that draws me to it. I am also drawn to my ability to be more of myself in a traditional partnership or marriage and my ability to really cultivate something beautiful. This is something that took me quite some time to accept as I felt a strong push for the exact opposite at times. These days, there are some people that push for the complete eradication of gender roles. I even felt the need to stand behind this at one point, even though I did not want it personally. Ultimately, pretending that I didn’t want to take up a more traditional role made me feel unhappy. I wasn’t excited about my future relationships, or marriage at all because I wasn’t honoring what I truly wanted.

Of course I completely understand the push for the eradication of gender roles as I also do not believe that a role should be pushed on anyone that does not want to adopt it or who feels uncomfortable fulfilling the role. However, people who still want to operate within gender roles should feel free to do so and should not at all feel ashamed or be shamed. To the people in favor of traditional roles, it means more to us than simply just referring to it as a role or something one does. It becomes who we are being. A role one has is a big part of their identity. Roles are our whole lives in a sense. For me, how I behave and what I do in my partnership/marriage is a really important part of my life. Especially because the aspect of partnerships and marriage means a whole lot to me. Embracing my desire for a more traditional approach feels more natural and I feel happy about myself, glad I am being who I need to be, and living life as my higher self intends me to live. Denying my desire for a traditional partnership and marriage is denying who I am and cutting off who I could be. I truly believe that the person who has soul-integrity is highly favored by the force that orchestrates our lives.

What is Soul-Integrity and Why it is So Important in Relationships and Partnerships

I define soul integrity as honoring your true desires, feelings, and being-ness without altering them to match your perceived ability to express it in the physical world. In other words, being your true self without any concern about how others will feel nor having concern toward if what you desire is possible for you or not. Having this kind of integrity will always prove beneficial in your relationships because:

1. It is way more likely that you will find the perfect match for you if you are being who you genuinely are.

2. You are able to feel, give, and receive love in the way you need it the most as there is no disconnect between your true needs and wants and who you are naturally being.

3. It is more likely for your desires and needs to be met in a relationship if you are actually owning whatever needs and desires you have by being your true self.

4. It is more likely for the relationship to run smoother as there is no excessive force or strain if both parties are honoring themselves.

5. It is more likely for both parties to understand each other well.

Final Thoughts:

Honoring myself and my desires has proved beneficial to me as it allows me to live the life that is best for me with the people who are best for me. Maybe this article will inspire you too to honor yourself and your desires as well!

If you have enjoyed this article, please give my podcast linked below a listen. Thank you.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Dream Silas

I love to write about love, the beautiful, and the natural world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.