Humans logo

The Inner Child Within Us

Why as we get older, we feel the need to revert back to our younger years

By Allison Schafer Published 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
The Inner Child Within Us
Photo by Sigmund on Unsplash

The older I get, the more aware I become of my need to re-live my childhood. It’s funny, when we are young, all we want to do is dream about when we are older and everything we will get to do. And then we get older and realize it was so much easier when we were kids.

I often find ways to relive those moments that brought me back to when I was still in my youth, and the only thing I had to worry about was boys and how I looked everyday. Because, let’s face it, being an adult is HARD.

There are so many responsibilities and pressures and as we get older, we begin to understand that the world is messy and because of that, our lives can be too.

I am lucky enough to have a close knit group of friends who I have known since I was in Kindergarten, which is a rare thing. Most people struggle to keep lasting friendships, especially ones that span for twenty years. I am fortunate enough to have them in my life. It helps when life gets too stressful, I can always relive my childhood days with the people I grew up with. And, for the most part, they are nothing but fond memories.

What I also love doing is watching an older TV show that takes me back to a time when I was in middle school or high school.

I’ve always found this concept interesting; how TV can be such a nostalgic thing for so many people.

For me, it’s usually watching a Disney movie. It’s that feeling of youth you get when watching one of those movies that takes you back to a time where everything was better, easier. Plus, Disney movies just make you feel good (it’s a fact).

I also tend to have some keepsakes from back in high school, so when I’m feeling like I need to be reminded of my childhood, I’ll go through some of my old stuff and smile at the memories it brings to my heart.

I think this is important. As we age, we are dealing with more stress and obstacles we never thought we’d face as children. There’s an innocence that comes with childhood and I can’t help but think a lot of us wish to relive that time in our lives.

I heard a saying once that said, “ Wishes are children.” I can’t help but think that’s an accurate statement. As an adult, I still wish, but the wishes also come with practicality. I know what’s attainable and what isn’t at my age. Children haven’t figured that out yet. They are still the dreamers, the hopeful. I can’t help but wish to be that version of myself the older I get.

I want to keep that heart alive and I think that’s why I tend to wish to relive some of those childhood memories. While I love the wisdom that comes with growing up, sometimes I wish my head didn’t get in the way so much. Sometimes my head is so full of doubts that I can’t shake the realist within me, which can sometimes squander that dreamer residing somewhere deep down.

There is a happy medium to be found somewhere in between growing up and still holding onto that inner child that did nothing but dream about the impossible. I’m still trying to find it and I hope someday I do.

How about you? Do you have a go to TV show, dream or object that brings you nostalgia?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Allison Schafer

Harry Potter/Marvel/Disney enthusiest. Cat lover. World traveler. Book lover. Alway baking. Hopeless Romantic.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.