Humans logo

The Happiness Prescription

Start your pursuit of happiness with someone else!

By Aya muradPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
Like

Do you know what truly makes you happy? Do you think happiness is a destination or a journey? How can we be happy for as long as possible?

One morning, I sat down staring at the screen blankly. I had been working all week on so many different tasks and projects and found myself at that moment burnt out and joyless. I thought maybe a nap would help just take a break and stop thinking about all these responsibilities and deadlines. Out the window, the sky was clear and the weather was promising of a lovely day outside so maybe a walk by the Nile would help, I can even go fishing. I kept searching my brain for all the different activities that used to make me happy but, unfortunately, none of them excited me. I needed something more.

As I pondered this dilemma, the answer suddenly became clear. What I needed was to get out of my own head and help someone else.

Imagine happiness as this soulful melody that plays when you extend your hand to someone in need. There's something profoundly powerful in the saying, “If you want happiness for an hour — take a nap. If you want happiness for a day — go fishing. If you want happiness for a year — inherit a fortune. If you want happiness for a lifetime — help someone else.” These words? They’re not just words; they’re a whisper of truth, guiding us toward a life filled with everlasting joy.

Think back to the last time you made someone smile, the warmth that spread through your heart. Remember the feeling of being part of something bigger, of making a positive difference in the world. It’s in these moments of genuine connection, these threads of kindness, that the most profound happiness is found. the gratitude in a friend's eyes when you’re there for them, the spark of hope in a stranger's smile because of your generosity, or the endless possibilities in a child’s laughter, inspired by your support. These aren’t just acts of kindness; they are the building blocks of a joy that becomes a part of who you are.

It became clear that naps, fishing, money, hobbies, etc were quick fixes. While enjoyable, they left me feeling empty again soon after. But consistently contributing to others filled me at a soul-level. It satisfied my human need for connection while making a positive difference. I found that when I lifted someone else up, it lifted me up too. My whole perspective shifted from zooming in on my own troubles to zooming out and seeing the bigger picture. I realized that true happiness comes from committing to things beyond ourselves.

In a world that sometimes feels cold and distant, true happiness is in the warmth of human connection. It’s in the shared moments of laughter, the silent understanding, and the comfort of knowing that we’re not alone. Happiness, at its core, is about being there for each other, about reaching out when someone else needs a hand to hold.

In your pursuit of happiness, Find small ways to make someone's day brighter. be the reason someone believes in the goodness of people. There are countless opportunities every day to make a positive impact. In my Islamic religion, there’s a saying by prophet Muhammad that smiling at the face of your brother is charity you’ll be rewarded for. Do not underestimate any good deed you do. Whether it’s a smile or giving money or food or feeding stray animals. Everything counts.

You won’t just find happiness, you’ll be the source of it.

A lifetime of happiness awaits those with an open heart.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Aya murad

Aspiring writer looking to connect and inspire through the power of words. Let's grab coffee and see where the conversation takes us!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.