Humans logo

The Genderqueer is here

There are no sides, just a truth to be there

By Samantha ParrishPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like

To We are revolutionizing with identity. There is no longer just two genders and it has to be that way, as if we have to stick with it. There is no sticking with assigned genetic gender. But we are who we are and that instinct can't be fought with the answer of genetics. Genetics don't have a meaning anymore, there's a difference between that an authentic true self.

It's fascinating but also respectful to the individuals that know who they are, that it doesn't have to be one route in gender. You don't have to go one way or the other in two routes, make a new route. Make your own route that wasn't on the map. That's genderfluid/genderqueer.

Culture Nurture

There are people I've read about that have found it to be so comforting to identify as neither gender without having to go through a sex change route. It's a safe route for those that know they aren't the other gender, but don't like the gender they've known. To have a meet in the middle and be comfortable in skin that doesn't have to become a complete modification and transformation. To keep the body the way it is, but just changed the clothes, makeup, hairstyle. It's expanded the fashion choices of androgyny. To be neutral but balanced.

Fashion

I see fashion as battle armor. In the dynamic to combine many styles from both gender spectrum, in androgyny. I have a fascination with androgynous style to have the best of both worlds. I love the fashion combos of a baseball shirt and small black skirt, a plaid button up shirt, and a 50s styled skirt with a gamine haircut. Endless possibilities like customizing a character for a video game, anything is possible.

The Introduction of my friends

For some of my friends that identify as a specific pronoun. I usually let my friends introduce themselves to my social group because I don't want to assume that I have their exact pronoun right for their identity. It's better that way so that I know for sure I'll get it right and let my friend have their moment to present themselves. We only get one shot of an introduction, and I don't want to ruin that. Or in some instances, I'll say it for them to have it known to my group how the correct pronoun goes in a simple, casual greeting of introduction. I feel that it helps my friend relax and gives the respect and comfort to stay.

I recently had a conversation with a friend of mine about their coming out with genderqueer. They have gone on to tell me about what it's been like to have the anxiety to come out. I respect the courage they have had about saying something that is difficult to convey to family that won't and will not quite understand. I have applauded their courageous act and that they told me themselves.

I remember shopping with a friend and she distressed to me about how she was worried to insult someone that was genderqueer. She was worried about making sure she used the correct pronouns. I had told her may way of going about it was this, I just say 'friend' to anyone, I've done that for a long time when it came to greeting someone. I've just applied that to meeting someone who I may not know the correct pronoun for. That way it's not mispronouncing the preferred gender pronoun (until it is found out) and it's a friendly welcome to anyone that feels alone in the world. She had agreed with me and found that to be a good tip to address someone.

Society's change of vocabulary

I've seen some of my friends fight to make sure that 'they' is immediately how the pronoun has to be to identify someone who they aren't sure. Some of it is just a part of their dialect now which is nice that it flows automatically and casually. But I've in some of my friends that it has them incredibly worried about hurting someone with the mispronunciation. It's understandable and very considerate, but I don't see the need to have such an intensity to assume a pronoun, I see it's better just to take the casual question road and ask to already have the answer without the intense worrying of mispronunciation. It doesn't have to feel like walking on eggshells in anxiety with awkwardness over it, the other person is probably awkward too and will forgive for not knowing a correct use of pronoun. It can be addressed and then it's water under the bridge over a handshake and cup of coffee.

But as this is a staple in our society to have pronoun correction to our casual conversations, we need to respect the preferred gender whether it is: He/Him/His or She/Her or They/Them. It doesn't take that much to remember that or to ask. It wasn't a big deal to me to incorporate that into my conversations to be safe and respectful. I remember I had a bad dream the other night that I was talking to my friend, and I got the pronoun wrong, and I woke up with the strong sensation to apologize immediately to my friend for something that only happened in my dream. But it effected me in a way that I'm glad to know it bothered me in a dream, to know that I won't slip up and continue to respect any of my friends preferred pronouns.

I've found nothing wrong with this identity, what's wrong with being your true self?

It's refreshing to see posts on Instagram of an individual sharing a fashion trend, to see the look of absolute happiness and content on their face, knowing they are happy.

To all my non-binary babes out there: Be your true self

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Samantha Parrish

What's something interesting you always wanted to know?

Instagram: parrishpassages

tiktok: themysticalspacewitch

My book Inglorious Ink is now available on Amazon!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.