Humans logo

The First Adult Christmas Present I gave…

was a artificial ficus

By Majique MiMiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Ficus tree on Amazon

I was reminiscing about the holidays & gift giving the other day. As far back as I could remember, as soon as talk of the Christmas season would begin, I would start planning what to give people.

Yeah, I was one of those strange children who cared more about giving gifts. I mean let’s not get it twisted I had my Sears Catalog toy list & stuff, but right next to my list was what I wanted to give others.

Shit, even before the Secret Santa in Elementary school I would draw, color, and even one year I learned some basic crochet stitches and I think I made every one in my family a doiley or scarf like object that they all pretended to like but either hid or threw away when I wasn’t looking. The point is I like giving & I planned ahead of time.

I remember the year one year, I believe I was seventeen. I remember my daughter was little I was on public assistance.

I didn’t learn how to drive yet, so I walked or took a cab to run my monthly errands.

Every month, I would watch out the window for the mailman and then run down the steps to meet him so he could hand me my “assistance envelope”. The envelope consisted of a monthly stipend of $322. 00 a “food stamp ticket” which you gave to either a bank teller or “food stamp truck” and they gave you food coupons (stamps), and a Medicaid card.

Typically every month, I would pack up my daughter’s diaper bag and stroller and we would walk the three mile round trip walk to the bank & then to the Acme & Kmart to pick up what we needed.

This particular month, I was wandering around Kmart and I saw it.

An artificial ficus for $89.00.

In the late 80s for someone on public assistance it was a small fortune, but I wanted to get it for my mother for Christmas.

Off to the lay-a-way counter I went. It was the first major layaway purchase I ever made.

Silly, huh? But I was seventeen with a baby so I felt grown as hell.

Plus my Mom had no idea, and I was proud of myself. I made my little payment every month at errand time while my Mom was at work.

And I kept my mouth shut 🤐 .

For the first time in my little teenage life. 🤭.

Until it was time to take the thing home. 🤣.

I didn’t think of that.

So, here’s my happy, jolly ass in Kmart with my daughter. Her stroller & diaper bag in the cart, her up front in the child seat thingy and this really large box 📦 sticking out of the cart 🛒. It was haphazard and awkward as hell walking home pushing that damn cart.

The most annoying part was walking down the street that didn’t have a sidewalk. I had to stop and pick up the box from the road a couple of times.

Some jerk slowed down his car, asked if I needed help, then laughed and took off.

“Yeah , Merry Fuckin Christmas Asshole!” I yelled after the car. Luckily, I was almost to the apartment building.

But how the hell was I supposed to get everything up the four flights of steps to the apartment?!

I had to ruin the surprise 🤣. I grabbed my daughter & the diaper bag and ran up the steps. My mother, had a very confused expression as I ran by her to put the baby in her crib.

I then ran past her to head out the door, “I’m not leaving, but I gotta do this now so don’t be mad at me.”

I ran back down the stairs, then I grabbed the 📦 the tree was in. It was heavier than it looked 🤣, so I drug it up all of the steps.

When I got everything in the door, the look on my mother’s face was stuck on confused 🤔. But once she realized what it was and what I had to do to get it to her, I think she appreciated it 🤣

Nah, I know she did, she had that tree for years ❤️🎄❤️

humanity
1

About the Creator

Majique MiMi

You can call me MiMi. I’m a Brain Aneurysm & Stroke Survivor & Former English Professor. I write to stay sane, and to keep gratitude in my Spirit & Praises in my mouth.

Check out my series starting with Hood Ornaments

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.