Humans logo

The Dragon Beside Me - A Fellow Vocal Writer

You read the title correctly - A Fellow Vocal Writer ;)

By Rowan Finley Published 2 months ago 3 min read
6
Photo taken by C. W.

Roughly two years ago, I was singing by a piano at a local church that I was attending at the time. Honestly, I don't remember the song that I was singing, but in came through the doors, a radiant, beautiful lady dragon. Tears poured down from her eyes. It seemed as if she was recovering from heartbreak but also experiencing new found joy too. Her emotions were intense, raw, and genuine. Feeling compassion for this lady dragon, even though she was a stranger, and we'd just met that day, I wrote her a little letter. I wanted her to know that God really cared for her and knew her inner sorrows and pain. I wanted her to know that God treasured her tears in bottles and that they were not unseen or wasted in His eyes.

We became instant friends, to the point that it felt like we'd known one another forever. In many ways, her mind and heart were like mine but then there were just enough differences to keep things interesting. Most importantly, we perceived the world, and spiritual realm in a similar fashion. The soulful fellowship we experienced was like soothing chicken noodle soup with an eternal flavor. I sang the melody part and she sang the harmony part for many songs. The hymns and lyrics just kept rolling from our hearts, and rarely did we grow tired of singing. She played her Irish whistle and I played violin. We visited nursing homes, met homeless people, prayed for the sick, and declared deliverance over those bound by darkness. We shared the same heart to further revival in all the world. How could life actually be so dynamic?

This lady dragon helped my soul fly higher than the chaos that I'd lived in for so long.

Little did I know, God sent her to help me escape a lot of toxic people and situations. She coached at times, cheered, and encouraged me to newer heights that I didn't even know were possible. She was comfortable with me as I was - broken. She never once said anything negative such as, "you've got a lot of baggage," or "you're a hopeless case." Without knowing every detail of my past, she just intuitively knew so much about my pain and emotional struggles. She was filled to the brim with compassion herself and it spilled out through her affirming words, kind actions, and consistent friendship. I had never experienced anything quite like this with anyone.

This lady dragon guarded my heart with her fire breathing skills.

God had recently helped her through a major life transition and it was difficult for her to navigate. Though a bit different, I too was working through a big life transition. It became clear that God had given her new strength, revelation, and purpose for her own life. One of the many gifts that God had recently strengthened in her was discernment. There had been elements of this gift throughout the whole course of her life, but He'd cranked up this gift times ten. She could see, or discern, darkness or light attached to people. I sometimes tend to be too trusting or naïve with people, but she saw the threats of darkness closing in around me before I did. She fearlessly expelled the darkness with prayer, petitions, and the fire that billowed deep within her lungs.

This lady dragon reminded me of the importance of being armored up for battle.

Ephesians chapter six is a powerful chapter because it reminds me to not wrestle with flesh and blood but rather principalities in the spiritual realm. Every time I looked at her, I was reminded of her shimmering scales of armor. Her strength inspired me to armor up and brace myself for the attacks and fiery arrows from the enemy. She reminded me of my warrior's heart. Praying without ceasing became even more motivating. Reading the scriptures was even more important because it truly was, and is, a sword that pierces through all things. It exposes the lies, and brings the truth!

This fellow Vocal writer and lady dragon's name is Colleen Walters.

Here she is! 😀 To read her writing, click on her name above, as it is a hyperlink.

friendship
6

About the Creator

Rowan Finley

Father. Academic Advisor. Musician. Writer. Aspiring licensed mental health counselor. My real name is Jesse Balogh.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Colleen Walters2 months ago

    Where there’s a dragon, there’s a noble knight, and I’m humbled and honored to be the dragon beside you, 😊

  • Joe O’Connor2 months ago

    This is a touching and thoughtful tribute to a special person Rowan, and it’s clear that you both help each other to be stronger in your faith and in life. “ She fearlessly expelled the darkness with prayer, petitions, and the fire that billowed deep within her lungs.” is a wonderful line that says a lot about Colleen🤗

  • I loveeeeeeeeee Colleen's poems! This was such a wonderful tribute to her and I'm so happy you have her in your life!

  • Gargie S Anand2 months ago

    Such a lovely read I had. It was so beautiful.

  • John Cox2 months ago

    This is a beautiful essay, Rowan, lovingly written and lovely to read.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.