Humans logo

The disinhibition of Tiktok

Pointless but they do it anyway

By CadmaPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 33 min read
3

The online disinhibition effect is a fascinating mentality for the masses known as internet trolls. Online disinhibition effect is “While online, some people self-disclose or act out more frequently or intensely than they would in person. This article explores six factors that interact with each other in creating this online disinhibition effect: dissociative anonymity, invisibility, a synchronicity, solipsistic introjection, dissociative imagination, and minimization of authority. Personality variables also will influence the extent of this disinhibition. Rather than thinking of disinhibition as the revealing of an underlying "true self," we can conceptualize it as a shift to a constellation within self-structure, involving clusters of affect and cognition that differ from the in-person constellation.” (Suler, The online disinhibition effect 2004). I have been subjected to the rhetoric of an unprovoked online disinhibition effect attack but I have never, nor will I ever succumb to it; I am rather fascinated by it. For example, recently, while browsing through TikTok a new genre/style of video was placed into my algorithm and the video showed a man wrapped around another man in a martial arts hold until the police arrived; the hashtags stated kidnapper, lol, comedy, crazy people, travel, New York, tried to kidnap a baby, world star and nyc travel. The video was posted to a channel that had a variety of clip videos of New York City and content from other creators; and as I browsed over the comment section of the video I read much of the arguments occurring online that did not supply additional information. This was not information I was seeking and I was curious about the video; I need to know more.

Kidnapper? Ok but who is the suspect? What happened? When did this happen? Where in NYC? Are there news articles, interviews? Who is the man who interfered? How old was the child being kidnapped? Where was the parent? Where is the court case today? Is this an old video or new? This is not their original content, where is the original video? Why labeled with a hashtag of lol or comedy? Asking for additional information I condensed my questions to “Where’s the original video? What’s happening?” 8,286 people liked my comment which indicated to me I was not the only person who wanted additional information. Summing up the news articles and interviews watched I learned the video was based on an incident that occurred at Madison Park in NYC in November 2020 where a Muay Thai Instructor named Brian Kemsley stepped in to protect the child; even followed his Instagram because I appreciated his content and heroic actions. (Glassberg, 33-year-old uses martial arts to stop attempted kidnapping in Madison Square Park 2020).

Yet, there were a handful of individuals bothered by me asking questions with an obvious goal attempt of me to “feel” stupid, or say “grow up” (which is not applicable and quite reversed but I digress) or complaints to read the hashtags. There was an automatic assumption about myself and I presumed the verbal gunfire has more to do with my gender more than anything. Let me be clear, there is nothing wrong with asking questions. Perhaps I am taking a bit of a utilitarian thought process to questioning the internet but true learning is grasping from multiple sources to learn as much as one can. Otherwise “Don’t you see that the whole aim of Newspeak is to narrow the range of thought? In the end we shall make thoughtcrime literally impossible, because there will be no words in which to express it.” (Orwell, 1984, 1949).

The unprovoked angry responses to my question told me these are individuals who gather all of their information only in the forms of hashtags and memes as fact without any further investigation or question of the source; and without researching other sources. There are a bevy of reasons to be angry like due to injustice, financial issues, personal tribulations, financial trouble, traumatic events, feeling unheard or undervalued as a person; this excludes physiological occurrences that provoke anger like pain, hunger or fear. “Anger can also be a symptom of a mental health issue, such as bipolar disorder, a mood disorder, or eurosis. It can also be caused by hormonal imbalances, such as elevated levels of cortisol due to drugs or tumors, lowering levels of estrogen just before menses, thyroid hormone imbalances, etc.” (Radhakrishnan, Why am so I angry for no reason? 16 possible causes 2021). Could this apply to the angry individuals? Sure, but I chose to respond to them regardless. I wanted to know what was the point of answering my question with ignorant rude commentary if they did not have the answers or additional information. The complacent in their credulous ignorance seemed baffling.

Let’s take a look at the individuals who comprehended I seemed additional information and chose to respond appropriately.

Below you will find the responses from those with rude and obnoxious behavior.

Siri corrected my “incapable“ to “in capable” but here is the dialogue.

This individual assumed the content on the person’s channel was the original content and that would be incorrect; the channel I watched the video had other videos that did not seem like it was theirs. The video is also posted on other platforms as an “original” but I digress. This person is the beginning of the disinhibition of the online effect because I asked a question for additional details. I attempted winsome sarcasm until they chose their comment of stating ignorance; Ignorance by definition means lack of knowledge which is ironic considering they have not provided any additional information proving they are far more “educated” than myself.

This user chooses vulgarity as if the captions or hashtags supplied ALL of the information I was seeking; my only question to them was “why does me asking for additional information matter”. This is a fair question. We are not condemned to a classroom and have incredible tools in the palms of our hands; our technological advances grow incredibly every day, every month and year. If we were condemned to a classroom and I was holding up the class from leaving I could fathom the irritation because it is interfering with their timed schedule or desires; but on the internet there are no obligations to stay nor connnect.

This is the internet and anything can be posted; including the very article you are reading. Hashtags are tools on the internet to bring vitality to the videos or articles or photos. The hashtags only told me kidnapping and NYC but they do not tell me the name of the man, where in NYC, how did the altercation occur, was the person pinning the man down the parent? Hashtags and memes are not sufficent enough information for someone who is inquisitive; an inquisitive person is intellectually curious, eager for knowledge, and likes to inquire, research and ask questions. People who believe things without having to be convinced are credulous; hence why there is nothing wrong with engaging for additional knowledge on a situation no matter what it is.

The following photos are from the same individual who truly demonstrates the online disinhibition effect and more; let’s review their commentary.

The opening statement is “Who cares. Alleged criminal was arrested. Grow up.” Their disposition disregards the judicial system of the prosecutor and defense attorney; and rather thrives on a concept highlighted in Arthur Miller’s ”The Crucible” where accusations are all that matter based on societal rankism. “There is prodigious fear in seeking loose spirits” (Miller, The Crucible. 1952), this is the only concept that would attempt to explain how irked they are that I asked a question. I admit I responsed with a snarky comment to match their emotional intelligence to communicate of “tell me your illiterate without telling me you’re illiterate”, the indicator that they did not properly read my question of “Where’s the original video? What happened?”; which seemed to have confused them. Perhaps my response startled them that someone would dare be rude back but I digress. I further explain “The question was for people who were capable of providing additional information like a news interview; not meaningless unprovoked useless banter.” Their response is meaningless because of how irrelevant we are to each other. They are nothing to me and I am nothing to them. Their obnoxious response of blind insinuations of “grow up” indicates their assumption of my emotional intelligence; I presume it stems from how they perceive my age based on my looks. Most importantly, their boorish response are completely unprovoked. There are no offenses taken. There are no barbaric comments. I am not fighting with anyone. I am asking for additional information on what is happening. This is a conscious choice to respond with rankism.

Dr. Fuller on Psychology Today breaks down Rankism “Rankism is an assertion of superiority. It typically takes the form of putting others down. It's what ’somebodies‘ do to people they think are ’nobodies...Before you conclude that rankism is human nature — that we're like the apes, and they do it, so we have no choice — and dismiss the possibility of overcoming it, consider this list of specific kinds of "put-downs" that, not long ago, were deemed cool, but have now become a surefire way to embarrass yourself’” (Fuller, What is rankism and why do we “do” it? | psychology Today 2010). He further breaks down where rankism can be seen like in racism (whites putting down and keeping non-whites down), sexism (makes keeping females at a disadvantage), ageism (the patronizing young condescending to the elderly), anti-semitis (discrimination against Jewish), classism (putting down others based on their social class or financial class); he admits this is more prevalent in Britain from the former aristocracies than in America but it is still present as well, homophobia (the discrimination of gays and lesbians by heterosexuals), ableism (discrimination or humilation of people with disabilities, colonialism excuses to subordinate and exploit other societies or nations, the workplace or schoolyard bullying, child abuse, sexual harassment, domestic violence, corporate world, politics; and I add even online as well.

Take a moment to read fragments from Fuller’s 2010 article, “Rankism is a residue of predation. Our species, Homo sapiens, has a long history of predation. We're not only good at it, we're the top of the food chain...The reasons we've given to justify the familiar isms are bogus. They're actually not reasons at all, they are excuses. They are excuses for putting people down and keeping them down so we can more safely exploit them in the future…If we can handicap or eliminate the competition, we improve our chances of coming away with the spoils...Rankism wins, wins, wins, and then one day it loses. In the end, it loses because organizations and societies grounded in dignity for all trump those driven by the threat of indignity.”(Fuller, What is rankism and why do we “do” it? | psychology Today 2010); it is this very reason why it is pointless to engage and start an online fight with another person online. Where are the spoils they are seeking to gain? There are none there. I am not going to read their commentary and shrivel up and assume my lower rank because they have deemed so; so why waste something they can never have back…their time.

Below you will find their response to me and their lamenting acrimony continues:

Their expected response follows as “That your question doesn’t matter..No one gives a *&/* what your complaint is. Grow up and realise the planet deals with problems every day”. Perfect demonstration of rankism, they have decided my inquisitive question does not matter and does not deserve answer but only their obnoxious respons; it is failed rankism. I admit I did peak at their account since it was public like mine because I wanted to see what made them feel so “above me”; and I could not find anything. Let’s continue with their response “No one gives a *&/* what your complaint is”, they are attempting to validate their behavior to continue their behavior and I presume I am supposed to accept that this (I presume based on their videos on TikTok) male has told me no one, including the over 8,000 people who appreciated me asking my question to gain deeper insight; and attempting to twist my words narcissistically by claiming I made a complaint. There are no complaints, the dictionary will tell anyone that a complaint is an expression of discontent, regret, pain, censure, resentment, or grief; lament; faultfinding and based on the dictionary’s definition I am not the one complaining but rather they are. They finish their lament with “Grow up and realise (If you’re attempting to correct their grammar I can assure you that ‘Realise’ and “Realize” are the same word but realize with a ’z’ is mostly found in America and Canada and realise with an ‘s’ are found in UK, Australia, or New Zealand) the planet deals with problems every day.” Again there seems to be an assumption of my age and who I am; based on my comments it seemed evident I read a lot not my emotional intelligence or intelligence.

They have decided I am childish and should grow up and not ask questions, which is an interesting glittering generality of it’s own statement. Dr. Heitler in an article on Psychology Today discusses puerile behavior in adults like listing the 10 common signs of it like “Emotional escalations: Young children often cry, get mad, or outwardly appear petulant and pouting. Grownups seldom do. Blaming: When things go wrong, young children look to blame someone. Grownups look to fix the problem. Lies: When there's a situation that's uncomfortable, young children might lie to stay out of trouble. Grownups deal with reality, reliably speaking the truth. Name-calling: Children call each other names. Adults seek to understand issues. Adults do not make ad hominen attacks, that is, attacks on people's personal traits. Instead, they attack the problem. They do not disrespect others with mean labels. There is one exception. Sometimes adults, just like firefighters who battle forest fires, have to fight fire with fire. They may need to use ’fire‘ to manage an angry child or an out-of-bounds adult, in order to get them to cease their bad behavior. Impulsivity—or as therapists say, "poor impulse control": Children strike out impulsively when they feel hurt or mad. They speak recklessly or take impulsive action without pausing to think about the potential consequences. Similarly, instead of listening to others' viewpoints, they impulsively interrupt them. Adults pause, resisting the impulse to shoot out hurtful words or actions. They calm themselves. They then think through the problem, seeking more information and analyzing options. Need to be the center of attention: Ever tried to have adult dinner conversations with a two-year-old at the table? Did attempts to launch a discussion with others at the table result in the child getting fussy Bullying: A child who is physically larger than other children his age can walk up to another child who is playing with a toy he would like and simply take it. The other child may say nothing lest the bully turn on them with hostility. In many cases, it's safer just to let a bully have what he wants. Adults, on the other hand, respect boundaries: Yours is yours and mine is mine. Budding narcissism: In an earlier post, I coined the term tall man syndrome for one way that narcissism can develop. If children—or adults—can get whatever they want because they are bigger, stronger, or richer, they become at risk for learning that the rules don't apply to them. Whatever they want, they take. This narcissistic tendency may initially look like strength. But in reality, it reflects a serious weakness: being unable to see beyond the self.“ (Heitler, Can you spot 10 signs of a childish adult? | psychology Today 2016). Seeking knowledge does not fall under those categories but making a conscious choice to engage in boorish rebuttals with a complete stranger online does check off quite a bit on the list.

My two part character limited response included “You’re stating I should grow up when you made a conscious choice to engage with someone when we’re irrelevant to each other; so what’s the point? There were no complaints but you do seem awfully upset about whatever hinders your soul & are seeking ways to release; by going online & ranting.” I want to point out their choice on how to behave because “It is rare for people to be asked the question which puts them squarely in front of themselves” (Miller. The Crucible, 1952). There is no thing to gain from engaging me with it or anyone else for that matter. For example, a 25 year old Sean Duffy was sentenced to 18 weeks for their unprovoked banter online that was dedicated to a teenager from Worcestershire Natasha MacBryde who committed suicide. (BBC News, Reading man jailed for Dead Girl 'trolling' insults 2011). There was no point or gain from their abusive messages online about a young girl he never met. “That's an extreme example, but it's a phenomenon almost as old as the internet itself: trolling. Examples of trolling range from the above to the extremely mild winding up of people to draw a reaction. Even outside of trolling though, discussions routinely turn into arguments that often turn personal. Are people genuinely more aggressive, rude and unpleasant online, and if so, why?” (Martin, Online disinhibition and the psychology of trolling 2013). It is a very good question. “Common wisdom dictates that people are more aggressive, rude and forthright online because they're anonymous and can act as unpleasantly as they like without immediate consequence. If you're irritating in real life you risk at best social sanctions and at worst a physical assault. There's definitely evidence that points to anonymity as a factor” (Martin, Online disinhibition and the psychology of trolling 2013).

According to the Wired 2013 article quoted above, it seems the Austrailian tiktoker’s confidence thrives in their anonymity but their psychlogical choice of words demonstrates a primitive connection to rankism skill set that are no longer needed. They also quote “Psychologist John Suller wrote a paper on this in 2004, entitled "The Online Disinhibition Effect", where he explored six factors that could combine to change people's behaviour online. These are dissociative anonymity (‘my actions can't be attributed to my person’); invisibility (’nobody can tell what I look like, or judge my tone‘); asynchronicity (’my actions do not occur in real-time‘); solipsistic Introjection (’I can't see these people, I have to guess at who they are and their intent’); dissociative imagination (‘this is not the real world, these are not real people‘); and minimising authority (’there are no authority figures here, I can act freely’). The combination of any number of these leads to people behaving in ways they wouldn't when away from the screen, often positively -- being more open, or honest -- but sometimes negatively, abusing their fellow internet users in ways they wouldn't dream of offline.” (Martin, Online disinhibition and the psychology of trolling 2013). The dissociative anonymity is a strong factor that are commonly seen in the videos posted where people are identifying people who mistreat others. I am older than the internet and watched it’s transition of the slam book where someone probably did not see to the online useless banter they wanted the person to see. They do apply the solipsistic introjection when they continue to presume I should grow up and reacting to a preconceived notion they have created. It is a lonely life for them underneath it all.

I expect their banter to continue and of course I will update but until them I will tie up my post with a rant of inquisitive nature.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

A new quelling feculent for the masses

I was searching for a video to share with a friend and at the exact time I stumbled upon a ton of comments being left on a bunch of videos. I immediately created a screenshot for this article, when I clicked on each comment; the commenter immediately deleted their content which would remove them from the notifications. See below (dated 12/26/2021)

Let’s begin with the first comment and the video it is referencing to and what my video is about please see below:

The above video is me sharing a story about a gamer moment where other gamers questioned my skill at my job as a red mage and made a dangerous gamer move by pulling a creature we could not handle; even after I explained it. This is an old video I reposted for fun as a response to TikTok’s “what’s your best video of 2021?”. The user commented the following:

Pardon their incoherent speech….

The comment “No baby daddy around so weird! Angry racist man hater upset? So weird!” is irrelevant to the content of the video. However the implications of “no baby daddy”; a common “insult” to imply being single as bad. Now “In pre-industrial America, the household was the center of production. Most families lived on farms where everyone worked to produce goods in order to survive. Within this context, the status of men and women was relatively equal. Men were the heads of households, but the role of women as caretakers and producers of goods, such as food and clothing, was equally important. With the first stages of industrialization, these patterns changed.” (Uml.edu, The role of women in the Industrial Revolution Unk) Women’s role began to change drastically after the Industrial Age, wars and continue to change as time passes.

However according to the user, my value is based on the appearance of a male; “For women, the picture is much different. More than a third – 35 percent – said physical attractiveness is what society most values in women. Thirty percent mentioned empathy/nurturing/kindness, while 22 percent thought intelligence was prized in females. In the single digits were the qualities stereotypically associated with powerful businesspeople and political leaders: ambition, hard work, professional and financial success, loyalty, competence, independence and strength.” (Milligan, The Value of Women Large portions of the American public value women most for physical attractiveness. 2017) The lacking presence of a male indicates I have lesser value as per the commenter. They continue their sentence with “Angry racist man hater upset? So weird?”, they are displaying their expectations of females that decided ”hate all men”. What is interesting is that they stated I was racist, and perhaps I am…against video game players who do not know their job properly in a good game of role playing online. I a supposed to take offense and their choice of words; but that would require me to find value in their words opposed to my actual excitement to utilize their intentional comments to fill in my unlicensed cheap dissertation that you are reading now. I am supposed to find as much value in them to feel something like pain in comparison to how valuable I am to them to desire to comment on several videos and interact with a stranger they have never encountered online or in person; but much like love that is a severe hit and miss.

Let’s look at the next video

The above video is an audio making jokes for all Supernatural fans and puts a little humor on Covid-1 to lighten the mood; and it is evident that is how it is applied under my account.

Again we dive into their online disinhibition by making assumptions; and we should all be aware about what happens with assuming…I digress. However, their choice of “Verbal” attack focuses on intelligence; again assuming…there is value in their opinion and words for me. They are also assuming I am not vaccinated; which I am happily and early. However, rankism has an influence on the online disinhibition effect; the internet is a digital drug that makes some individuals feed their clandestined feelings of rankism against others highly confident; enough to release it and make a mark in the world. However, “human judgment is limited by cognitive load. Cognitive load is essentially the limited working memory that humans are bound by; there is a limit to the number of facts and data that we can keep track of at one time. As a result, we have come up with cognitive shortcuts that help us to make low-data decisions.” (Turman, What do people assume about you based on your online presence? 2021) Their cognitive load remains to be extremely limited but they make the conscious choice to respond to the best of their ability and education.

The above video is a silly video of poor cosplay as Snow Miser and Heat Miser battling it out in the cold while “I” put on my favorite vest from Ororo (if you haven’t checked them out then do yourself a wonderful favor! Ororo Wear <— click here) The user’s response:

The last ”wig“ is my hair; I’ve got great hair

“Fake hair again?! So weird that black people just can’t be themselves. Was the last wig racist?” This is a very interesting comment because they have referred to myself as racist…to the dictionary “Racist (noun) : a person who believes in racism, the doctrine that one's own racial group is superior or that a particular racial group is inferior to the others.” (Dictionary.com) and “Racism (noun): 1) a belief or doctrine that inherent differences among the various human racial groups determine cultural or individual achievement, usually involving the idea that one's own race is superior and has the right to dominate others or that a particular racial group is inferior to the others. 2) Also called institutional racism, system racism: a policy, system of government, etc., that is associated with or originated in such a doctrine, and that favors members of the dominant racial or ethnic group, or has a neutral effect on their life experiences, while discriminating against or harming members of other groups, ultimately serving to preserve the social status, economic advantage, or political power of the dominant group. 3) an individual action or behavior based upon or fostering such a doctrine; racial discrimination. 4) racial or ethnic prejudice or intolerance.“ (dictionary.com) this is where we can see rankism rearing it’s head around. The color of my skin indicates being myself are limited to their definitions; again based on assumptions, sterotypes or prejudice concepts. The “last wig racist”, is my hair when the color is lifted, not dyed but again there are no demonstrations they have full comprehension of the video, disregarding the video as well as making a conscious choice to “attack” a complete stranger.

The above video includes my best friend and I being silly with a “spill the tea” friendship joke between us. Please see below:

They continue their prejudice commentary of “Weird not your real hair! No daddy at home either? Tell us your black without telling us you’re black…”. I have a poorly placed wig on of green hair; with my real hair spilling out from underneath. “No daddy at home either?”, now this comment can be veered from either racism or which happens often; they do not know how old I am and are trying to guess my age even though I have stated it in my videos before. “Tell us your (you’re) black (Black) without telling us you’re black (Black)”, this is the most direct demonstration of grasping at straws I have seen online.

Above video audio is about people having the audacity to speak to me…ironically.

By this comment, I won’t lie I did feel really special and pretty; it takes time and focus to sift through my videos and comment and then delete after posting. Time is something one can never have back. “Classic case of victimhood. She’ll never get anywhere in life because she’s always the victim. A racist victim…” Now they begin with “classic case of victimhood”, victim is a person who suffers from a destructive or injurious action or agency, or a person who is deceived or cheated, as by his or her own emotions or ignorance, by the dishonesty of others, or by some impersonal agency, a victim of misplaced confidence; the victim of a swindler; a victim of an optical illusion; a person or animal sacrificed or regarded as sacrificed. (The Dictionary) between victim and the added suffix “hood” to indicate state or character; a fun audio is met with a blind response. Their response is actually the reason why I enjoyed the audio where a side character asks “what’s the first thing you notice when someone approaches you?”; the reply is ”the audacity”.

Last video from the same commenter is below:

The above video is a quick short time about boys who had placed their hands on me inappropriately and without permission when I was a child; including from another child that deemed it to be acceptable for his gender. My response was to fight him immediately and because I wouldn’t allow someone to touch me inappropriately the boys would respond “I thought you were nice”; a perfect demonstration of the patriarchy but that’s for another article. Their response:

“You’re just an ignorant racist…They’re all mean”, I’m not going to lie this was confusing but let’s not have an aneurism trying to understand; there are some levels no one should have to lower themselves to. Ignorance is the lack of knowledge and racism is identified above. “They’re all mean”, since my video refers to males I assume they are agreeing; but if they are implying females I am under the impression they were rejected. Rejection the common yankee fear of toxic males because they lack the ability to cope and comprehend rejection and it is automatically perceived as a definition of their unworthines; indicators of low self esteem.

Why are they focused on you? I assumed it’s because I’m important to them ^_^ but all jokes aside. It is evident they are an intentional online troll with the intention to cause “harm” to others to where they can mentally process as a great target.

The creator provided permission for me to use their video as reference:

Tiktok creator I.am.Crit has on their page “Gay Empath Sports“ with 18.0K followers as of 12/26/2021. Why go online seeking validation of strangers through hostile behavior.

Individuals whom are ignorant (lacking of knowledge) are limited in their cognitive load. Due to their limited cognitive load to make rational decisions of fact or culture, they instinctively focus on characteristics they have deemed below their rank. The internet becomes an incognito disguise to spew whatever digital drunk thought is spurred.

Cognitive load can be divided into three categories of Intrinsic load which can be described as “It is generally considered fixed; an instructional designer cannot change the intrinsic load.” (Fuhrman, Cognitive load theory: Helping students' learning systems function more efficiently 2017). The Germane Load, “This is the portion of the memory devoted to integrating new information, the creation and modification of schema (Sweller, van Merriënboer, & Paas, 1998).” (Fuhrman, Cognitive load theory: Helping students' learning systems function more efficiently 2017) And the Extraneous load, which is the “portion of memory that is taken up by processes not related to learning at all. This is equivalent to the memory used by all the hidden programs running in the background in your system tray.” (Fuhrman, Cognitive load theory: Helping students' learning systems function more efficiently 2017). Thir intrinsic load are structured by their environment, potentially their genetic material and societal acceptances (even though there are new changes being implemented). The Germane Load seems to be inactive and appears to have been for a long time. The extraneous load does not require learning but rather it’s purpose are memory recalling. A highly active intrinsic and extraneous load, paired with an inactive germane load, the digital intoxication, rankism and personal suffering of individuality and low self esteem; life produces an individual like this. It is heartbreaking to be so aware of their limitations but at least they are blissfully unaware.

According to PsychCentral, the 13 common reasons people choose to abuse others are because they have a disorder, were abused, watched something that introduced it to them, have anger issues, grew up with an addict, have control issues, do not understand boundaries, are afraid, lack of empathy, personality disorder, exhausted of life and defensive. (Hammond, 13 reasons why people abuse 2017). These individuals may gain pleasure from seeing others in pain and can even experience pleasure from inflicting pain; inflciting pain onto another validates their “rankism” as above another and their value to affect another person.

They are the victim of an abuser and repeat the only behavior they were introduced to; especially in childhood. They could be introduced to an idea that over glorifies abuse as “cool”, the romanticization of a specific lifestyle that deems ”control” or “power”. They have anger issues that are uncontrolled and unruly which stem from unresolved personal traumas. It is plausible these people grew up with an addict, “An addict blames others for the reason they engage in their destructive behavior. While the victims are often forced to remain silent and acceptant of their behavior. The end result is a lot of pent up anger and abusive behavior. As an adult, the victim subconsciously seeks out others to blame for their actions.” (Hammond, 13 reasons why people abuse 2017). They are in a drug induced need to have control and can not relinquesh it; this is their method of asserting dominance they do not have in their personal life. Ignorance of boundaries seems deeper online because “distance means a person is subject to whatever the abuser decides.” (Hammond, 13 reasons why people abuse 2017). They are reacting out of fear, but this is the internet; how can fear of a complete stranger who has no affect on their life create fear. This is where their “primary cognitive programming/intrinsic load” are applied as well as associative experiences. Personality disorders are fathomable reasons because they are genuinely incapable of a lucid perception of reality. These people are mentally exhausted from their lives and are true “cries” for help but they become difficult to assist; because as much as they need it, want it, they may frequently reject it out of fear.

Unfortunately these people are incredibly unhappy at the core of their being and are expelling their inner energy out to the world who “seems” happier, more put together, more successful to act like a barrel of crabs with the world.

My curiosity upset those about the fighting video when I and now you after reading know that I questioned my teachers in school about their knowledge and would seek books with things they did not teach. The supercilious confidence that goes into the incapability of reading, diving in deeper beyond superficial information is the reason why misinformation spreads so easily; even Facebook admitted in court they did not fact check. (Post Editorial Board, Facebook admits the truth: 'fact checks' are really just (lefty) opinion 2021). I also watched a video where four African American males rob 2 white couples at gun point in Philadelphia, I still had questions. Were they apprehended? How are the victims? Where in Philadelphia was this? Were there additional related crimes nearby? The Tiktoker posted their video to utilize the platform to bring awareness to the city and for people to stay safe. Yet his post turned into a long political debate with a wealth of prejudice commentary hinting at Black Americans and George Floyd; and the creator was fighting for their life against it.

I remember this cheap rhetoric when I was receiving a stream line of comments about my team members under the videos on Youtube from someone who took the time to watch all of the videos and comment on each video; also insinuating my team members would burn in hell with excessive quotes from the Bible. Commentary under the false pretense of deontological theologies as an excuse to batter people online. I struggle to see the point of the behavior because there are no gains for the commenter. Think about it. They have went out of their wasting time they can never have back to try affect a person’s life that they probably can not affect; only to sit alone with themselves in their thoughts stuck in the mad house they call their mind. And set on repeat. I genuinely feel bad for those people because no one else is stuck with them truly except themselves and they are angry that they cannot escape; so instead of being productive and focusing on the grass on their side of the fence they would much rather try to piss on somebody else’s lawn while willingly destroying their own shoes. The truth is, it always seems the only true reason why people engage in this behavior is because “Sometimes our deepest hate is for the things we cannot change about ourselves” (2021, The Witcher); yes I quoted the show.

Conclusion

Potential solutions for the future to defer the development of these type of people that would in return benefit society as a whole seems it would be the introduction of psychological first aid being taught in classrooms to create multiple generations capable of recognizing signs in others; this can assist people to “let go” of the things that no longer serve them in an healthy manner. If they are being abused, it would recognized faster and responded to accordingly. However, until an idea like that catches fire; we have to sift through the societal changes of the twenty-first century.

For those who need to harass or bother others, take this into consideration. At the end of the day, we are all irrelevant to each other until we chose to be otherwise; why not choose to be an evolved human. Evolved as in high emotional intelligence, conscious choice of when to engage or disengage, personal healing, sharing of intellectual wealth and so much more.

References

Suler, J. (2004, June). The online disinhibition effect. Cyberpsychology &amp; behavior : the impact of the Internet, multimedia and virtual reality on behavior and society. Retrieved December 18, 2021, from https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15257832/

Orwell, G. (1949). 1984. Editorial EDAF.

Radhakrishnan, R. (2021, July 12). Why am so I angry for no reason? 16 possible causes. MedicineNet. Retrieved December 18, 2021, from https://www.medicinenet.com/why_am_so_i_angry_for_no_reason/article.htm

Post Editorial Board, N. Y. P. (2021, December 15). Facebook admits the truth: 'fact checks' are really just (lefty) opinion. New York Post. Retrieved December 18, 2021, from https://nypost.com/2021/12/14/facebook-admits-the-truth-fact-checks-are-really-just-lefty-opinion/

Glassberg, L. (2020, November 17). 33-year-old uses martial arts to stop attempted kidnapping in Madison Square Park. ABC7 New York. Retrieved December 18, 2021, from https://abc7ny.com/attempted-kidnapping-brian-kemsley-jiu-jitsu-good-samaritan/8045410/

Crowley, J. (2020, November 18). Celebrity martial arts trainer saves baby from kidnapping like a real-life action star. Newsweek. Retrieved December 18, 2021, from https://www.newsweek.com/viral-video-celebrity-martial-arts-trainer-stops-kidnapping-jiu-jitsu-1548395

Miller, A (1952). The Crucible

Heitler, S. (2016, March 4). Can you spot 10 signs of a childish adult? | psychology Today. Psychology Today. Retrieved December 20, 2021, from https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/resolution-not-conflict/201603/can-you-spot-10-signs-childish-adult

Fuller, R. W. (2010, February 17). What is rankism and why do we “do” it? | psychology Today. Psychology Today. Retrieved December 20, 2021, from https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/somebodies-and-nobodies/201002/what-is-rankism-and-why-do-we-do-it

BBC News, . (2011, September 13). Reading man jailed for Dead Girl 'trolling' insults. BBC News. Retrieved December 20, 2021, from https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-berkshire-14894576

Martin, A. (2013, May 30). Online disinhibition and the psychology of trolling. WIRED UK. Retrieved December 20, 2021, from https://www.wired.co.uk/article/online-aggression

Uml.edu, . (n.d.). The role of women in the Industrial Revolution. UMass Lowell. Retrieved December 26, 2021, from https://www.uml.edu/tsongas/barilla-taylor/women-industrial-revolution.aspx

Milligan, S. (2017, December 5). The Value of Women Large portions of the American public value women most for physical attractiveness. Retrieved December 26, 2021, from https://www.usnews.com/news/the-report/articles/2017-12-05/study-women-valued-for-physical-attractiveness

Wakefield, J. (2015, March 26). Why are people so mean to each other online? BBC News. Retrieved December 26, 2021, from https://www.bbc.com/news/technology-31749753

Turman, S. (2021, October 13). What do people assume about you based on your online presence? Entrepreneur. Retrieved December 26, 2021, from https://www.entrepreneur.com/article/388371

DePaulo, B. (2018, December 3). No Need to Marry, Have Kids to Be Fulfilled: New Survey Marriage: Is it possible that Americans just aren’t into it? Psychology Today . Retrieved December 26, 2021, from https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/living-single/201812/no-need-marry-have-kids-be-fulfilled-new-survey

Fuhrman, .J. (2017, June 6). Cognitive load theory: Helping students' learning systems function more efficiently. Cognitive Load Theory: Helping Students' Learning Systems Function More Efficiently | Franklin University. Retrieved December 26, 2021, from http://www.franklin.edu/institute/blog/cognitive-load-theory-helping-students-learning-systems-function-more-efficiently

Hammond, C. (2017, March 22). 13 reasons why people abuse. Psych Central. Retrieved December 26, 2021, from https://psychcentral.com/pro/exhausted-woman/2017/03/13-reasons-why-people-abuse

Noonan, S. J. (2019, December 2). The art of letting go | psychology Today. psychology Today. Retrieved December 26, 2021, from https://www.psychologytoday.com/intl/blog/view-the-mist/201912/the-art-letting-go

social media
3

About the Creator

Cadma

A sweetie pie with fire in her eyes

Instagram @CurlyCadma

TikTok @Cadmania

Www.YouTube.com/bittenappletv

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.