Humans logo

The Death of Southern Chivalry

What happened to the dating pool?

By Justice for AllPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

I can't explain what happened to men in the last few years, Being a good man went out of style. I would love to blame the pandemic but I can't because it started before that. Since May 2019 the men in Georgia have lost any sense of southern grace I have ever seen. It is disturbing to say the least. The Southern guys I knew were amazing men..now they have turned into the antithesis of everything that I ever knew to be true. My biologiacal father told me in 2015 that men in the South treat dogs better than women..somehow that has come true since 2019. I am not talking convicts and thugs here, I am talking deputy sheriff's and employed men, military and people you would think had some clue how to treat women.

It doesn't seem to matter who they are. There seems to be some failure on the part of men in the south to be men.

I can't explain it other than everyone of them have their balls cut off. Then there is the ghosting. When did men start not speaking to women they claimed to love? Seriously, what is going on here.. If you can go from I love you to who are you in less than 24 hours someone needs to reeducate you. Think about it this way, if you have a daughter would you want someone to do that to her? If you can't treat a grown woman better than what you would shoot a guy for doing to your daughter you shouldn't be dating.

Guys, If you aren't going to catch her don't make her fall in love with you. Seriously, I have seen the worst of the worst Georgia has to offer. Remember this if you would not want your daughter treated the same way, don't treat a woman like that. She is someone's daughter, even if he is a horrible person, she should still be treated like she matters.

Where are the days of men calling women and making time for her, not disappearing at the first sign of the feelies. Real men don't quit talking to women for no reason, they don't ignore her wants and needs, they don't slam doors in their faces, or not return phone calls or emails. That makes it almost impossible for the next guy. A woman remembers a man for the things he did for her that no one else did, and for the big things he did to break her heart. What you do to people has consequences.

Dating during the pandemic and pre pandemic has been a disaster. Of epic proportions. The lies, the ghosting, even the selection has been horrible. Seriously, paying for Eharmony has not netted anything more than men who I would never settle down with. Not that the selection is great. I have talked to sheriff deputies who wanted nothing more than virtual sex, an accountant who was rude to the waitress, a sales guy who shouldn't be anywhere near his daughter- no wonder he is divorced twice, a deputy that I would have dated long term who let me fall in love with his kids and then called and said he just needed to get things together and he cared but wouldn't return a text message. Then there is one who I thought was sweet until he essentially expects me to message him and doesn't really think having but one conversation should get him a date at my expensea firefighter at that.

When I used Eharmony in AZ I got a Border Patrol Agent K-9 Agent who was a former Marine, who was as sweet as could be. Every time he took me out he would bring me a present. Nothing big but a book I wanted to read, a travel book for Savannah where I wanted to visit or just someething that was small but thoughtful.

When I moved to Georgia it gave me a Dublin Police Officer who drove hours just to have dinner with me and was a complete gentlemen, a Contractor with DOT who was very sweet that I didn't get to go out with more than once , not because of him but because I was so busy working.

Seriously guys, especially the ones with daughters, would you let a man treat your daughter the way you treat women? No. So don't treat women like that. No woman should ever be treated worse than you would want for your daughter or your sister. I would say it is just a pandemic thing but it really seems like guys want one thing in Georgia. They don't hold doors, return texts or emails. Sadly, that is about as bad as what is coming out of Tennessee these days. The South that I knew where men, romanced and treated women with respect has died. No one can resurrect that. The good ones just don't exist.

I defended the men in Georgia when my biological father told me men in the South treated dogs better than 'Dad, these men have been amazing to me." They were sweet and kind, not just after one thing, they believed in love, they are protective and honest." Somehow, enter 2019 and they all have turned into just what my father said, including the ones who are professionals in their professional jobs. I always lead with my heart but my heart is leading me right out of Georgia for the sanity of my nonexistent love life and not towards anyone but somewhere I don't have to deal with whatever is single in the South.

I don't remember the last time I had a good first date. Probably 2015, but that was more of a relationship. I went back to dating a previous boyfriend until we couldn't talk because of a stolen Iphone. I have met these extraordinary men in the last two and half years and never had any of them ask me out, but those random chance meetings were prevented from being anything because of work. I couldn't tell you what is wrong with the guys in Georgia or anywhere else because it seems I went from white cloud to douche magnet. Guys, when you are an asshole, all it does is make the good girls not want anything to do with you. Even your own bros should be ashamed of you. You are making them all look like you.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Justice for All

"Justice delayed, is justice denied" "Injustice anywhere is a threat to justice everywhere."

Tattooed, Employed and has a Psych degree..Always on the look out for a group of Avengers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.