Humans logo

The Choice

Black notebook

By Hope AckerlyPublished 3 years ago 9 min read
Like

It was getting late. With every footprint he became deeper in thought. “Mom, I’m not sure what you want me to do. It’s been 4 years and the days have felt like no time has passed at all.” Grey Waterton was 17 when his mother had passed. After combating cancer for months she finally fell to the illness. That day changed him forever and now he found himself walking on the beach. The waves crashing with this beautiful calling. “This is it, this is her place. I know it.” For years he had been trying to find a place to lay her ashes to rest but nothing felt right. Not for the woman she was. As he pressed on he contemplated hard and decided that tonight he would say goodbye. It was after all the day she passed these some four years ago.

As he trudged home he felt a small hint of relief, could he finally make her happy? Could he bring her to her final resting place? Upon getting back to his grandmothers house, where he lived since that day he felt much resolve. The walk down the hallway felt like the last time he would have to question anything again that is until reaching his room and turning the light on. What laid upon the bed was a black notebook and a letter. Curiously he grabbed the letter and began to read.

“My dearest Grey, I know that my passing may have been one of the hardest moments in your life. I wish that I had more fight in me and that I could be here today to see how amazing you have become. I am always watching over you and know that my boy has become a wonderful man full of love and kindness. When you receive this letter it may be a few months or years but know that timing is everything. I have a request of you, that you return my ashes to the spot that I have put in the pages of my journal. I’m sorry I couldn’t give you more in life but hope that I can in death. Please take my journal and the ashes with you because then maybe you can understand the wait in why this came to you when it did. Love forever to the moon, mom.”

Grey’s eyes began to water and tears splotched the handwritten letter. It was his answer, the reason he had known all along not to spread her ashes yet. He had finally arrived at the thing he knew he was waiting for. With that he began to pack for the next mornings journey. He would wait until he could speak with his grandmother and ask her why she with held this from him. Tomorrow for sure he was beginning his journey.

The sun gleamed in beneath the curtains. As the light started to flood his room his body began to become rigid until he yawned into a deep stretch. Sitting up he ran upstairs to ask his grandmother the question that plagued him all night. “Grandma why didn’t you give this to me sooner?” He waved the book and letter at her. “Grey I am not really sure what you are talking about.” She said sweetly. “I came home from a walk to find moms journal and a letter from her on my bed. Where else would it have come from if you didn’t put it there.” Her face grew solemn and she went on with her cooking. “Well in the letter mom tells me where she wants to lay to rest and it’s her last wish I bring her there. So that is what I will be doing today. From the look of the coordinates it’s about an hour drive then a long hike. I should be back later today.” She flipped the crackling bacon in the pan, “Well let’s get you some breakfast before you go” She smiled warmly with her sun kissed face and long grey hair.

It was midmorning when he began his trip. Why did she leave this for so long to do? His heart felt heavy and a little angry. “I have been working on where to put you and nothing felt right mom, why did you wait so long?” He sat with the top down to his moms blue convertible. He loved this car and with this adventure he felt like she was around again. His anger died down and was now reminiscing of all the adventures they would go on. He grew up with a wild education that involved real world learning and lessons rather than a schooling based on a governmental system. This lead to many day trips and adventures, lessons with all sorts of people and the ability to communicate very well. He missed her terribly and the life they had together. “Our final adventure together, huh mom.”

An hour later he found himself at the spot that would begin his hike. “Good thing I brought plenty of water for this.” Looking at his map it would be at least a 2 hour hike. “Where were you taking me mom?”

The journey was beautiful, a little stream followed him for about 30 minutes in. It was like it was leading him excitedly to where he was going. The tree’s were in full bloom and the air smelt like rich dirt and dew. Like it had just rained and the atmosphere felt fresh. The hike began to take on a rather difficult level. As he got further along the more he had to push through bushes, climb rocks and really push his body hard. Sweat beaded up on his brow and he decided to take a break. Pulling out the notebook and his water bottle he began to read her journal for the first time.

“Today he told me he loved me. It was truly magical. Is this some kind of fairy tale with him? Our chemistry seems to understand the other without question, yet I wish to know all of him. Could this be the one I have been waiting for? - Daphne

“It’s been 2 year today since we started this whirlwind relationship. Everyday I have become so immeshed in us and am so excited for what our future holds. I truly love him and have a feeling he may propose. Shh don’t tell anyone!- Daphne

“He proposed! It was everything I could imagine and more. The thing is I feel like he is hiding something. I don’t know what it is but I plan to find out more. I am so happy!” Daphne

“I’m pregnant! We didn’t mean for this to happen but I couldn’t be happier! I can’t wait to meet my son. I am sure my little prince will be perfect! No news yet on what he is hiding but still feel something there. I will find out soon. I don’t want to bring my son into this world with lies.” - Daphne

The next few pages were ripped out of the notebook. Why is there pages missing?

Finally the next entry read.

“The password is Lemons. They are my favorite after all. Grey if you are here all will be revealed to you now. Get to the spot where I asked you to go. When you do perhaps it can give you an understanding I couldn’t.”- Mom

He stopped reading and decided to go back to it. Grey finished the water bottle and got back his stamina. It was a good thing as well because now the forest was thick, “How on earth did you pick this spot mom? It’s not even on the trail.” Climbing through the thick shrubbery he pulled out the picture of where she wanted him to be. “It’s an open space with a little clearing here and she has got me in the thickest part of the forest. Did I go the wrong way?” He looked at his compass and the coordinates were right. He was getting closer.

After 15 minutes of wading through thick prickers and trees finally the trees began to open. There was no longer any condensed brush, it was now open and free. There in the distance about 15 feet away was a pile of rocks that didn’t look like it belonged. He rushed over and pushed the pile aside. At the bottom was a cypher. Palming it he looked closely at it. “What is going on? Why did she leave something like this for me?” On the cylindrical box was a bunch of letters. He tried to twist it, open it, yank it but nothing worked. Thumbing his fingers along the letters, “They move. Oh right, your password! Now I get it.” He changed the letters to spell out the word Lemons and a small click happened as he twisted it open. He poured the contents out to find another letter amongst papers and a key. Opening the letter he looked around, took a deep breath and read.

“My dearest son. You have arrived to the start of your journey. I hope that you gathered that the person I spoke of in this journal was your father. I know I never told you about him but there was a reason for this. I wanted you to have the choice to be free if you wanted to. The pages I had ripped out were of the secret I had finally uncovered. Before I reveal this to you, I want to give you the choice right now. Before you find out please consider things very carefully because you are now of age. It will be your choice that no one can make but you. I had a trusted friend give you my notebook hopefully when you were 21. Grey, the paperwork here is your real birth certificate and a sum of $20,000 in bonds which you can find in a lock box. Grandma will know which bank it goes to. If you should chose to take this money and find your own way then you have our support. But if you should chose to claim your place alongside your father know we will support you as well. I just wanted what was best for you, for you to be happy and have a wonderful life. Grey, your father was a duke and you are his heir. The secret was that we were to live a life of royalty and I, well I just wanted freedom rather to be in the spotlight and bound there forever. That is why I never told you. I hope you can find it in your heart to forgive me, but I wanted you to have the choice to become Earl Grey Waterton, or stay as Grey Waterton. I love you my sweet love, and hope that you chose what is right for you. Love always and forever. Mom”

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Hope Ackerly

I write a blog at daretohabit.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.