Humans logo

The break-up

From both point of views

By Molly RoblesPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Angela's POV:

Tonight. I have to do it tonight. I chanted that in my mind like it was my life-saving mantra. Tonight was the night I had been holding off for so long. I was going to break up with Brian, my fiance of a year and before that, my boyfriend for two years.

It wasn't that I didn't love him. I loved him completely. I just wasn't ready for marriage. I've been dreading this night, because I know this would break him.

Bzzzzzz.Bzzzzz. My phone lit up with a text from Brian. I'm downstairs babe. I took a deep as I looked at myself in the mirror. It's time. No more waiting. No more putting this off. I took one last look at myself in my bathroom mirror, before turning off the light, and shutting the door the behind me.

I took my time making my way downstairs. I knew it was gonna happen, and that it was happening tonight, but I still wanted to prolong it.

I finally made my out of the main entrance to my apartment. Brian was standing next to his car, browsing on his phone, then he saw me. His face lit up with a big smile. His smile. I smiled back and waved. I walked towards him and he wrapped me in a hug, giving me a quick peck on the cheek.

"Hey you." He said to me lovingly.

"Hey you". I replied back before I untangled myself from him and made my way to the passenger side door. I opened the door, hesitating, before finally sliding into the seat. Brian waited for me to click my seat belt into place before putting on his own seat belt and starting the car. He looked at me and smiled. "Are you ready?" He asked before moving the car. Here we go.

Brian's POV:

It only took us fifteen minutes to get from Angela's apartment to the restaurant. It was a special place for us. It was where we went on our first date.

She had been quiet the whole the whole ride there. She looked nervous. She had been... different. But I just brushed it off to be pre-wedding jitters.

We only waited a few minutes before we were seated by the waiter. He handed us our menus before leaving us. I looked at the menu for a few minutes before deciding on pasta carbanara. I set my menu down and looked up at Angela. She was still looking at her menu deciding on what to eat. I observed her for a moment. She was so beautiful. She had auburn brown hair and light green eyes. Tonight, she wore her hair down while a dark blue, long sleeved dress. She took a deep sigh before setting her menu. She looked up at me with a nervous look on her face. Why is she acting so strange tonight?

"Are you okay? You seem like something is wrong." I asked her. She opened her mouth to say something, right as our waiter walked up to take our food order. We both ended up ordering the pasta. "I'll be right back with those." He said before departing.

For a few minutes after, we just sat in silence. Angela just looked down at her lap. Not being able to take the silence anymore, I finally asked her again what was wrong.

She finally looked up at me. Sadness replaced the nervousness that was there a few moments earlier. "We need to talk about the wedding." I felt a uneasiness settle inside me. "Yeah there are few final details to go over." We sat in a akward silence for a few moments before she finally spoke again. "Brian... there isn't going to be a wedding." She said, and I felt my heart drop. "What?"

An hour later

There wasn't anything else said for the rest of dinner. Afterwards, I just paid the check and we left. We currently sat in my car, in silence.

"It isn't that I don't love you, which I really, really do, I'm just not ready yet. And I wanted to say something sooner, but I didn't want to hurt you." She said

"You didn't want hurt me?" Was she really saying this to me? Now of all times?

"I'm sorry-"

"Just shut up Angela!" I needed to get away from her. I began to unbuckle my seatbelt, and reach for the door handle.

"Brian, wait."

She opened her door to follow after me. I just need some space. “Just leave me alone!” I was trying so hard to get away from her, I wondered into the middle of the road. “Brian stop!” I was trying so hard, I didn’t see the car coming. I ignored her pleas for me to stop and come back. I was trying so hard to ignore her so I could get away, that I couldn’t stop her from pushing out of the way. And because it happened so suddenly, there was nothing I could to stop the car from hitting her.

Angela’s POV:

I didn’t feel it. Not at first. It wasn’t till my body hit the ground. And then I exploded with pain. It was everywhere. I couldn’t stop, I couldn’t slow it down, I could only pray that it would away. I thought at first, Maybe this is my hell. But then Brian’s face appeared above mine, panic streaked. Then I thought, I’m not in hell, because if I were, he wouldn’t be. I tried to speak. I tried to say I love you and I'm sorry. I tried to take back the words I had just spoken only moments ago. But each time I tried to speak, to say those words, blood would fill my mouth and those would come out a gurgled mess. I tried to fight so hard, because I could feel death coming. But the more I fought, the weaker I became. More and more, the darkness surrounding me became darker and darker, until there was nothing.

dating
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.