Humans logo

The Boy That Couldn't Shoot Lasers Out of His Eyes

He could fly, but that's all.

By Ryan KellerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Original Photograph by Alan Serwan

What?! There's a kid at school that can fly?

Oh yeah, you didn't know? Yeah, he used to.. kinda.. float in right over there.

Float in?! You mean.. like.. fly? Fly in? Like, the kid physically flew to school?

Yeah, he walked out of his house and flew into the air and up and over to school... Landed right over there in the courtyard, next to that statue of that guy.. Everyday.

You're full of it. I can't believe I'm talking to you.

What? It's true. Ask anybody. His name was, er, is Taylar. With an a. I mean a-r. He can fly... Pretty high too. Ask anybody. Almost everybody knew who he was.

You're serious... Are you serious?

Yes dork, I'm serious. He used to fly to school. It was pretty cool at first, then it was just him flying to school. He was weird. New kids like you would always wanna attack him with questions and sign up for his imaginary "cool guy" fanclub... Everybody wanted to know how he did it. Nobody knows. He said it was easy.. That he just decided one day to "will himself to." Freakin weird. He used to try and teach other people how to do it.

Did anybody else do it?

Nope. I even tried it. I felt stupid. It was like he was making fun of you 'cause he could do it and you couldn't seem to... I mean, he wasn't a jerk er anything, it just made you feel stupid, standing there with your eyes closed trying to have "the understanding"... That's what he kept saying, that it was an "understanding."

...Well I want to try it!

Whatever. You're stupid. You can't do it. It's some dumb magic trick only he seems to know. I think he only told people they could do it so that they'd like him more.

What if someone else COULD do it?

They can't. I know they can't. I mean really, he freakin FLEW to school.

Well where is he? Did he finish?

No, he just stopped coming er somethin. Nobody knows.

Stopped coming? Don't you, like, have to go to school? Did he get some job, like, as a flying guy or something? I mean, if you can fly... why would you need to go to school?

Na, he just stopped coming. Some kids saw him at his house not too long ago, not doing anything. I think he's homeschool now. He was touchy. He got real upset at this dude Randy. He had said something to him like, "hey, you think yer so cool cuz you can fly- I bet you can't shoot no lasers outcher eyes."It WAS pretty funny. I mean, he wasn't like superman er anything. He just could fly.

...I wish I could fly.

MAN, your a looser. I'm trying to tell ya you can't fly. It's not that big a deal. After you see it a bunch of times you don't care anymore. He did tell people he was gonna do other stuff too. But we never saw it. He said if he could "will himself" to fly, then he figured he could do other stuff too. But I think he was full of it... I mean, he didn't "will himself" to shoot no freakin lasers out his eyes. He just flew and that's it. It was cool for a while, but he was weird. He didn't know how to talk to people er nothin.

Well I wanna at least SEE him fly.

I don't think he does it anymore. Some kids saw him gettin somethin at the gas station and then he just walked home. Maybe he forgot how er somethin. OR maybe he's just a wuss and he's still upset about Randy screwin with him. I don't know.

Really? So, he's probably not flying because of Randy?

Probably. He was touchy. And Randy's cool. He's like, the most popular guy in school.

I bet he can't fly though. Did HE ever try-OWW! What'd you hit me for?

Don't talk bad about Randy. He's my friend. You're stupid. Why are you so stuck on flying? Flying's stupid.

Flying's not stupid!

It totally is.

No, it's not! You're a jerk!

Flying is stupid. That kid's not cool. His flying's not cool anymore and he's not cool. He wouldn't be cool even if he DID shoot lasers out of his eyes.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ryan Keller

As a single-father of two special needs boys, creating is not only a skill I teach and promote, it's a necessity for getting through life soundly. I've lived in the Southeast all of my life and write about the good and the bad via metaphor

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.