Humans logo

The book of wishes

Wish it, writes it, keep it

By NovitaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like

Someone says," be careful what you wish for" However, how about the good wishes? Nothing is impossible isn’t it, so the wishes can go as high as they can be. I have many wishes in my life so far, most of them came true. Well, I have a secret about it. I have a little black notebook that my grandma gave me a few years ago before she passed away. She told me if we have wishes we need to write them down. We need to have faith in it, and it will come true. As simple as that she said. Really? Well, here is the story.

This little black notebook my grandma gave me was only a simple notebook, nothing special about it. I read pages by pages, it wasn’t even half full. It felt amazing to read someone else wishes, especially the one you love. One thing I noticed, her wishes were simple. For example, she wished to receive a rose or she wished to buy a rabbit or she wished to marry a good man which all came true as far as I know. At that moment I thought I give it a try. It had a lot of pages left to write down my wishes. Let start with my first wish when I finished high school. I wanted to continue my study at the best university in the city. It was the best of the best. It was hard to get in, but it was worth trying. I wrote my wish on that next page, "I wish to study there, only there I will go" I remember my dad asked me if I had a backup plan about it, and I said," No, I do not need one" I went to a very long test, the next thing know I got a letter started with "Congratulation" That was it, I have never seen my dad so proud and happy. It was amazing. Wasn't it? Was it coincident? or was it because of my magic notebook? Well, you decide.

The next wish I wrote was about my future husband. I kept it in my mind that nothing is impossible, so without a doubt, I wrote again in my little black notebook. This time I had a very long list of wishes, all about details of what kind of person I wanted to spend the rest of my life with. Days passed, months passed and, then one day my dad passed away. It was a sad moment, but I knew I couldn't stop something like that from happening. I was drowning in sadness and I forgot about the wishes and the notebook. I felt I had no wishes left. It was a difficult time. In short, few years after that, I met someone online in the world of online dating. My family was worried about it, but I loved him. He seems a lovely and responsible man. I talked with him for three long months and finally met in person. He was from a foreign country. We decided to get married at that very moment we met. He is everything that I ever wanted. I moved overseas following him since. One day I found this notebook, I realized everything on that list is in my husband. It was included the wish to be with someone from a different country. It was amazing. Wasn't it? Was it coincident? or was it because of my magic notebook? Well, you decide.

Few years passed, I still keep this dusty little black notebook somewhere on my desk. I wrote a wish occasionally such as when I needed money, I wrote silly stuff like “I wish for $20 " or "I wish for $50 " somehow, it came true. Either I won an instant scratchy ticket or the goods that I tried to sell on eBay sold. The thing was, I always get the exact money I need. It was amazing. Wasn't it? Was it coincident? or was it because of my magic notebook? Well, you decide.

Maybe you wonder why I didn't wish for a lot of money and write it down in that notebook and see if it comes true. I know nothing impossible, but a lot of things are hard to get and we cant get everything we want. I wish only something I need, something simple like what my grandma did. We do need money but do we need it that much? We don't even need to wish for happiness because we can make it ourselves, it is up to us to be happy or not. It is the same with money, we work to get what we need, it is enough. Sometimes I didn't have enough money or when something suddenly comes up, that was when I need to make a wish for a miracle. If I deserved to get more, I will get more, and hear this I got exactly what I need when I need it.

This brought me to this final story, one day I wrote a wish about a lot of money. I wrote, " I wish for $20000. I need it because my car needs repairs, my son's therapy needs to be paid, and I need to start a business to help my husband" It was a lot to ask, but nothing is impossible isn’t it? Few days passed, it was nearly my birthday. My birthday is always around the Melbourne Cup carnival. That particular year it was exactly on my birthday, so I just thought maybe this is my lucky day. So I made a wager, a random pick to be honest. The next thing I knew, my husband said that I won some money, I surprised "what? really?" I thought maybe a few hundred dollars but when he told me I won $20000 I could not believe it. We were so happy, I could not describe it. It was amazing. Wasn't it? Was it coincident? or was it because of my magic notebook? Well, you decide.

One thing I learned, nothing is impossible in this world as long as we have faith in it. Don’t let a single doubt cross our minds because if we do, it will not happen. Oh yes, we can have as many as wishes we like but keep it simple. It made me wonder, what should I wish next?

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Novita

I am a mom of two beautiful kids

Love nature, traveling, writing, looking after kids

enjoy my life in simplicity

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.