Humans logo

The Best Treatment for Androgenetic Alopecia: Red Light Therapy

Jason Jones

By Wellness WonderPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like

I have always had thick and shiny hair, ever since I was a little girl. I loved to style it in different ways, from braids to buns to curls. I got compliments on my hair all the time, and it was one of my best features.

But everything changed when I turned 25. I started to notice more and more hair on my pillow, in my shower drain, and on my brush. My hairline was receding, and my scalp was becoming more visible. I panicked and went to see a dermatologist, who diagnosed me with androgenetic alopecia, or pattern hair loss.

He explained that it was a genetic condition that affected both men and women, and that it was caused by the effects of androgens, or male sex hormones, on the hair follicles. He said that there was no cure for it, but there were some treatments that could slow down or stop the hair loss, such as minoxidil, finasteride, or spironolactone.

He prescribed me spironolactone, which is a medication that lowers the levels of androgens in the body. He said that it could take several months to see any results, and that I had to keep taking it indefinitely. He also warned me about some possible side effects, such as increased urination, dehydration, low blood pressure, dizziness, headache, fatigue, nausea, breast tenderness or enlargement, irregular menstrual periods, mood changes, and hyperkalemia (high potassium levels in the blood).

I was hesitant to take spironolactone, but I was desperate to save my hair. I started taking it as directed, hoping for the best. At first, I didn’t notice any difference in my hair or in my body. But after a few weeks, I started to experience some of the side effects. I felt dizzy and tired all the time. I had to pee more often and drink more water. My breasts became sore and swollen. My periods became irregular and unpredictable. My mood swings were out of control.

I hated how spironolactone made me feel, but I kept taking it because I thought it was working for my hair. But after six months of taking it, I still didn’t see any improvement in my hair growth or density. In fact, I felt like my hair was falling out even more than before. I was losing hope and confidence.

I decided to stop taking spironolactone and look for other options. I did some research online and came across red light therapy for hair growth. Red light therapy is a treatment that uses light-emitting diodes (LEDs) to deliver low-intensity red or near-infrared light to the scalp. The light stimulates the cells in the hair follicles, increasing blood flow, oxygen, and nutrients. This may help promote hair growth by extending the anagen (growth) phase of the hair cycle, preventing apoptosis (cell death), and reducing inflammation.

I was intrigued by red light therapy because it seemed safe and natural. It didn’t involve any chemicals or drugs that could harm my body or cause side effects. It also didn’t require any surgery or needles that could damage my scalp or cause pain or infection. It sounded too good to be true.

I read some reviews from people who had tried red light therapy for hair growth and saw some before-and-after photos that showed amazing results. Some people claimed that they had regrown their hair in just a few months of using red light therapy at home with a device like a red light therapy cap. A red light therapy cap is a wearable device that fits over the head and delivers red light to the scalp. It is easy to use, painless, and convenient.

I decided to give red light therapy a try and ordered a red light therapy cap online. It arrived in a few days and came with clear instructions on how to use it. I charged it up and put it on my head for 20 minutes as recommended. It felt warm and soothing on my scalp. I repeated this process two to three times per week as instructed.

After four weeks of using the red light therapy cap, I noticed that my hair was shedding less than before. After eight weeks of using it, I noticed that my hair was thicker and fuller than before. After 12 weeks of using it, I noticed that my hairline was lower and more defined than before.

I couldn’t believe my eyes when I looked in the mirror. My hair looked like it did when I was younger. It was shiny and healthy again. It had volume and bounce again. It covered my scalp completely again.

I was overjoyed with the results of red light therapy for hair growth. It worked better than spironolactone or any other treatment I had tried before. It restored my hair and my confidence.

I am still using the red light therapy cap regularly to maintain my results and prevent further hair loss. I am also taking care of my hair by eating a balanced diet, managing my stress, and using gentle hair products. I am happy with my hair and myself.

If you are suffering from hair loss and are looking for a solution, I highly recommend red light therapy. It is safe, effective, and affordable. It can help you regrow your hair and regain your self-esteem.

Do you have a hair loss story to share? Have you tried red light therapy for hair loss at home? How did it work for you? Let me know in the comments below!

reviewsciencelisthow toadvice
Like

About the Creator

Wellness Wonder

Be simple, and keep being curious about the real essence of life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.