Humans logo

The Best Of A Forbidden Love

Chapter one: The discovery - Part 1

By AzteckPrincess26Published 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 34 min read
1

Chapter 1

My name is Melody. I was born in a castle that has long been forgotten as well as the era of time, and such a beautiful time it was. My mother had passed at such a young age after I was born that I remember her not. I do, however, remember one particular time of when I was just eight years old. A green pasture so big and so wide that I could see an endless stretch of land. The bluest of skies that day, was beyond as beautiful as I had ever seen it. And in the far distance of the castle grounds, I could see a long stretch of a blooming forest of Cherry Blossom Trees surrounding the largest pond of water that I was all too familiar with.

But on this particular day, though I did not know it, everything would change for me. As I make my way around the castle grounds and round the tower towards the back, I stare at the beautiful Cherry Blossoms just to the left of me, and in the far distance, I see bright pink petals flowing gracefully in the breeze as a slight gust of wind carries them in the air, scattering them every-which way. I had put on my winter Shaw that morning for 'tis was a little chilly this day. As I lay my hand on the castle walls and glide it across the stones, as I do every morning, I start to walk towards my daily path to get to the beautiful scene of trees. It was my most favorite of places to be and I spent most my time there. That day, unfortunately, I would not make it to my beautiful Cherry Blossoms. That day, I had stumbled upon something on the wall...something I had never seen before.

It looked just like the castle wall, but it was different, the color, the feel and even the texture was all different. This one particular stone, was soft and warm. Not at all hard or cold like the others. So, being the curious little girl that I was, I pushed on it, and a secret door opened! I jumped backwards in fright. Not expecting that at all. Of course all the fibers in my body was telling me to push the funny looking stone again and to continue walking, but as I lay my hand on it ready to push it again, I heard something from inside.

I leaned in closer to get a better listen. Moan. Someone was down there. I knew I would get into trouble by father if I were caught sneaking around...but I was very good at not getting caught, and I stepped through the magic door. As I continued to take more steps, almost tip toeing, until I noise behind me, I spun around only to see the door had started to close on it's own! I try to run back but was not successful, I was trapped!

Me feeling like the foolish child I was, had no choice but to keep moving forward. So, without a choice, I continued, pausing every time I heard the sound of a moan and a groan. I was scared out of my wits, regretting not listening to my gut and only walking away to see my beautiful Cherry Blossoms, but as I get closer to what seems to be the entrance of some kind of room, I see a small light admitting from it.

I finally come to the end of what seemed like a scary corridor, and see something that no one has ever seen in this era. Back then I had no idea that this would be the future of every human's daily life. In today's time they are called machines. There were so many of them in this one room, all with little blinking lights that I had thought to be little fireflies at the time. I was in such awe of what I stubbled upon that I had forgotten about the strange sounds I heard, at least until I heard the sound of moaning again.

I froze upon hearing the sound. Strange though, I saw no one, I looked all the way around me and turned in a full circle, no one but me was there. So where was this noise coming from? I then, heard someone speak to me. The voice sounded like a man's voice, he sounded so weak. He said in what sounded like a whisper: "Help....me..."

" Where are you?" I asked back in a whisper, afraid if I spoke too loud someone else would hear me, "How can I help you?" I was looking all around for this voice. I was certain maybe it was a spirit talking to me when I head the voice say, "Up here." I look up and stubbled backwards, as I fell down, a small scream escaped my lips. I quickly covered the rest of the sound trying to come out of my tiny body and I averted my eyes quickly.

It was a man! Or, at the very least, I assumed he was. He was hanging in the air! There were so many strings coming out of his body, or going into his body, holding him up. He had the body of man, but different parts of his body were disturbingly discolored, he had stitches everywhere that made a connection to where his joints are and to make it more uncomfortable then it already was...he was completely naked....I was in shock as to how he got up there or how 'it' got up there, I wasn't sure if he was even human from the way he looked. He had different colored body parts, one leg was a greenish color the other a pale white, his arms were brown with a tint of purple and blue coloring, the torso was all sorts of mixed colors of skin that had been stitched all together....in fact, his whole body looked stitched together.

This was no man, this was a monster, but how did it talk? He asked for my help, I can't just leave him! Did my father know about this, did he do this? No. He wouldn't know about this. He would never do something like this to someone, to anyone....would he?

I was questioning my father's ability to make such a creature, but no one knew to make such things. Yet. Here this strange one has been given a life and a voice. What in the heavens above had I just stubbled into?! The man-creature moaned again. Oh right, hanging in the air, how do I get him down? I am only 8 years old, what could I do? I looked around frantically also trying to be quiet and not get caught down here. My heart was pounding in my ears so loud I didn't hear the man-creature speak again until he moaned loudly, I looked up, he pointed to a lever in the wall and said, "over there, pull it...please..." he begged. I did as I was told and a loud sound was made in the situation. He was lowered to the floor and I ran over to him, threw my Shaw over him and sat with him a minute.

I tried to get the strings out but he would hiss every time I touched them. I hadn't the slightest idea on what to do. I was on the verge of tears due to this nonsense dilemma. He looked up at me, and I down at him just as a tear had escaped my watery eyes. He took his hand and wiped it away. "Do not cry child, 'tis not your doing."

After a few moments of catching his breath, he finally gathered enough strength to sit up. He then, out of some mustard courage and strength, started ripping the strings out of his body all at once, howling at the pain it caused him and because of that we heard footsteps. He quickly, but also very wobbly, stood up, I tried to help him, but only handed me my Shaw and said, "No need for both of us to get into trouble little one. Go, before they find you helped me." I looked at him worried. They were getting closer but I couldn't move, what was going to happen to him?

I was lost in my thoughts when suddenly the man-creature picked me up, carried me down the corridor I had come from only meet the end of the wall. He put me down, and pushed yet another strange stone next to me and the door that had closed on me before, had opened back up! I gasped in shock as I saw my beautiful Cherry Blossoms across the way. But in his response he pushed me out the way I came in, landing on the ground in an "oof!" and before I could stand up and protest to this injustice, the door closed once again as I got a last glimpse of the man standing tall, watching me run back with tears in my eyes as I slammed my fist on it as it closed. I tried looking for that stone again. But for the life of me I could not find it. Pressing on every stone there was to push.

All was quiet as it had been before I was consumed with curiosity, all except the sounds of my sobbing. I slump to the ground crying. Only the sound of the gentle breeze could be heard, and the sound of my heart beat once more in my ears and the pain of my tears streaming down my face, being pushed out by someone I had just saved, only to save me in return. What is going to happen to him I wondered...

I wiped my face, I looked down at my hands. Wondering, what had happened. I questioned the ways of life, the ways to make life, and just...the possibility to exist out of a creation such as he was. I had though him to be a monster, when instead, he had just as quickly repaid his debt to saving his life....by saving mine. I felt heartbroken. I had just helped him to escape, only to be captured again. Why didn't he just come with me?! Why did he just stand there?! I stood and slammed my fist on the wall again hoping it would open, but it just stood still. Looking like a plain castle wall....

Chapter 2

I am the age of Seventeen years old now. Sitting in my favorite Cherry Blossom tree staring into the ocean of the sky. Memories of my discovery wonder through my mind, as well as the heartbreak of not knowing what had become of my heroic man-creature, as I call him. I am older now. And I find myself daydreaming about him most often then not. When I am in the castle I have to be weary of the servants, for they know when I think about not so lady like things. My face grows hot and my body reacts a certain way and the servants tell me it is a sin to think of such lustful things since I am not yet a wife. They say I have no business thinking of such things that make my face turn a blush red color. Pish posh, what do they know. They are but servants that do my father's bidding and sometimes...my father.

But here, in my Cherry Blossom tree, I can think of such things with no one scolding me or giving me some kind of lecture of how I should feel in my own body. No one telling how I should think in my own mind. Here. I am free. I can be me.

Although...I still wonder if he lived. I have prayed every night since that day that he still lives. I pray that if he has, he will find me and take me away from this castle. I dream about that often. My man-creature finding me, telling me he has never forgotten that day as well. I often wonder about these feelings I have developed recently, are they really only feelings of lust, or, dare I say it, love?

I have, of course, grown into a young lady and am of age to be wed. I have turned down so many suitors already in the last year that my father has begun to loose all hope of my finding a husband. So much so that he has in fact stated many times in the last couple of months that he is going to have a specially trained guard follow me until I admit my defeat and choose a suitor. Only then, will the guard of his choice be free of my 'caretaking' as he calls it.

Little did I know. That day would be today. My seventeenth birthday. My thoughts are disrupted by a commotion so loud that it reaches me across the way to my Cherry Blossom forest. Sounds like the celebration has started, and then I hear screaming. Someone screaming my name. "PRINCESS MELODY!!" I groan, as if I'm in agony, hoping they give up on their search for me and just let me be. Only for today. I pray they stop screaming for me, and as I finished my prayer, the search for my response had ceased. I sit still and listen for moment. All is silent, only my breathing and the breeze in my ears can be heard.

I breath out a sigh of relief and lay back on my tree branch and continue staring into the sky, daydreaming about my man-creature once more. After a few moments my eyes start to get heavy, as I start to slowly close my eyes, I heard a clearing of ones throat. I quickly open my eyes and as I lay there silently I am holding my breath, hoping they do not look up and see me. As I slowly turn my head to look down, I catch a man looking up at me.

I stare back down at him and as he stars at me, I sense an almost familiar presence within him. I can only see one side of his face as he is turned sideways but where do I know him from? He notices my staring and smiles. Then says, "You have grown much since we met last" I am then confused by his words but do not show it. "Oh," I say, laying my head back down facing the sky, "and how long since our last meeting sir?" closing my eyes, showing no interest at all on this conversation.

The next thing he said had me almost jumping from where I lay, "A very long time child. Though, the last we met, I had wiped a tear from your cheek." I opened my eyes again, sitting up this moment gasping, as he turned to face me. It was him! My man-creature. He WAS still alive! I climbed down the tree ready to embrace him, only to stop and stare at him. Do I dare? I did not see him as a monster or even think of him as such as I did so many years ago.

What if I am dreaming, oh please, do not let this be a dream, please do not let me be sleeping on my branch dreaming a moment I have so very much longed for. I slowly walked towards him, taking in his appearance. I could only pray for this moment for so long and here, hoping it was real. I was very cautious as I approached him. I reached my hand up to his cheek, and very softly lay my hand upon him. Warmth. He really was here! I could feel my eyes light up and start to water as tears threaten to spill from my eyes and a smile forms on my face. I place my other hand on his other cheek and with my thumb graze along the stitching on his cheek I so often see in my dreams, I closed my eyes in remembrance and I open them again, a tear escapes my right eye down my cheek.

Without a second thought he does as he did before and wipes it away. I embrace my arms around his neck and bury my now tear stained face in the crease of his neck. "I prayed for your life to be spared" I said, lifting my head. "I prayed every day since then, but please, I have to ask" I looked into his eyes, as he was just a bit taller then I, "why did you not come with me? Why did you not run and hid? I could have brought you clothing and you would have been free!" I was breathing heavy due to this surprise.

I awaited his answer but no reply was given, he looked away from me, a look of sadness and much pain in his eyes. "Tell me! Why did you not follow me?" I demanded tears welling up in my eyes again. "I saved you," I continued, " and you pushed me!" Still no response. "Why do you not answer me man-creature?!" I shouted with anger from his silence, and with that, he looked back at me. Noticing a hurtful expression on his face before calmly collecting himself, he took my hands from around his neck and placed them to my side. Then he said in almost a whisper, "To protect the one who saved me" He turned away from me, and said, "I am sorry for not following you, I did not want to risk your safety any further, I was, in fact, able to watch you grow into the woman you are today."

I started to feel dizziness of sort, watch me grow? I slummed to ground as my world started spinning, what was happing to me? I felt myself slowly hit the ground with a thud. I was still conscious as I heard my man-creature shout my name as he lifted me up. Even in this dazed state, hearing him say my name, was the most wonderful sound to me, and then the world went dark.

Chapter 3

I know not of how long time had passed until I had finally awoken, but alas it was night outside and as I was coming to, I could hear voices near me. Not wanting to alert anyone I was waking, I laid there still and listened. "Poor dear I hope she wakes up soon" I heard one of the elderly servants say, then another said, "I hope she learned her lesson in not spending all day near those pretty petal trees," I heard another say, "serves her right not listening to no one, doing what she likes when she likes." she said in a nasty tone. "Midlrea!" I heard a third servant shout. Just then a mans voice broke through, "WATCH YOUR TONGUE WOMAN!" the only voice I wanted to here, boomed throughout the room, hearing servants gasped and some gave a startled scream. "You disrespect the Princess in any sort of manor again I shall see to it you loose that tongue you hold so proudly in your mouth" He growled at her.

I could barely hear but I am certain she replied in a meekly manor of, "Yes, sir, sorry sir?" I did my best not to smile. Midlrea was one of the servants who like to seduce her way into my father's bed chambers and then act like she has the right to treat me anyway she pleases just because my father approves of her so called services. Absolutely disgusting in my opinion.

Only then do I start to stir and pretend as if I am just waking up to this commotion. "Look she's waking up!" I feel the servants rush over to me as I slowly open my eyes "Princess, oh thank the havens you are finally awake!" I look around and see that I am not in my room. "Where am I?" I asked, now honestly confused. "You are in your caretaker's chambers...M'lady" Midlrea said with a hesitant pause. "Caretaker?" I asked. "What caretaker? I have not such a thing." I said sitting up. "I am your caretaker Princess" I look up and it's my man-creature. "Pardon?" I said more confused. Then I asked, "Alright then, if you are to be my caretaker, what is your name so that I may address you properly" A servant handed me a drink of water as I awaited his response. I sipped it slowly. Not wanting to rush anything in me soon after waking.

"My name," he said, "is Zombie" he paused. "That is the name my creator, your father, has given me" Upon hearing that I almost choked on my drink and the servants again, aiding me quickly. I am able to catch my breath and say, "What do you mean your 'creator'? You mean to tell me you are my father's bastard son?" I asked taking another sip of water, watching his body language shift uncomfortably. Good. I continued "Explains why have I never heard of my father having another child other then myself I suppose?" I said.

I must not let on about my remembrance of his discovery as a child. I must remain silent about what I remember and it must be a fuzzy distant memory if anyone find out. So to conceal it further I said the one thing that I knew would make everyone uncomfortable. "Hmm...well seeing as you have a lovely scare on your face my father must trust you enough to have hired you."

He does not respond with body language this time, only his words, and says, " I am not his son nor your lost brother as you seem to assume." he said in a more matter of fact manner sort of tone while also straitening himself up in a more guard like pose. I look at him, looking at me and I can tell he understands my singles of words. I look towards all the servants as if I have literally no idea what is going on and ask, "Well...is someone going to explain this to me? If you are not of my father's blood then please, explain what you mean by 'created'?"

All the servants look around at each other, they have not a clue on what to say or even how to say whatever there is to say.

"You honestly mean to say my father, a ruler of this castle made a human being?" I scoffed "How dense must you think of me to make up such a ridiculous thing for me to try and believe, only God can create life and you sir, are not a creation of God" I start to stand up with the help of the servants and he says,

"You are absolutely right Princess. I am not a creation of God, I, Princess Melody, am a creation of Man." I open my mouth to speak but am cut off.

"And with that being said, as your appointed caretaker by my creator himself, I am to excuse the servants from my chambers as you will be resting here tonight while I stand my guard outside."

The servants start to get up and leave me one by one. A couple of them come and hug and me and say "Glad to see you back to your old self again dear." I smiled and thanked them for tending to me. I am left standing there in the middle of the room while Zombie escorted the servants out.

Zombie, what an absurd name to give a creation. Why not give a real name, like Luke, or John? What was my father trying to accomplish with that name anyhow? I understand it is something not of the norm but Zombie? My goodness.

As I'm still standing there trying to process all that has happened from this morning upon seeing him again up unto now, he has already stepped outside and has taken his position as my caretaker and guarding the door.

To my surprise, I felt a small hint of disappointment that he did not stay to have more a conversation with me. Perhaps I was more harsh with my hint-full words then I intended to be? I shall apologize in the morrow, as of this moment, I am not even the slightest bit ready for sleep. I decide to look around this chamber of his. Seems he has been here for some time. I vaguely remember him saying something about him watching me grow up? If that were the case, why have I never seen him before now? I have passed this corridor many a times throughout the years.

I look out to the night sky and see his chamber faces the forest of the Cherry Blossoms! I gasp at how beautiful they look with the moon light shining brightly over them. That's how he has watched me.

I then realize, this the chamber in which I have talked to my father about several times. The one that over looks the beautiful forest. Father has always said me, "My dear Melody, you spend all your time in that forest, must you have a view of them too?" My response was always "Oh yes, father please, I would love to have a chamber that overlooked my precious forest." But to no avail had a I ever gotten my wish.

I felt an eerie feeling within myself and a question I had never really asked came to mind, Who is my father? and how did he ever come up with such an absurd idea to 'create' a human being...or parts of one and be able to give that creation living, breathing life?

Chapter 4

"Princess Melody!" I heard my name again, "Oh where has that child gone to now! Princess!!" I was hiding and for good reason. Another suitor had come to the kingdom demanding my hand to my father this time and would not go until we were wed. I was not going to let some Prince of whatever land he came from demand my hand and get away with it that easily. I am trying to get off the castle grounds and get to my Cherry Blossom Forest where I can be alone.

I finally slipped out of view and ran with all my strength, I would never marry such a horrid man as he. I care not of his wealth nor the jewels he has to offer. My heart was already taken by another.

Of course the servants knew where to find me, they were all to lazy to follow me. I was able to relax, but only for a moment. They told that good for nothing prince where to find me! I was furious he was told about my special place. I told him to go back to the castle and to never come here again or I shall accuse him of such a heinous crime he will be banned from my kingdom.

He did not believe me, I walked passed him intending to do just that when he grabbed my arm, spun me around and got so close to my face with his I could smell the pork roast he had for lunch on his breath. I was utterly repulsed by this not hearing a thing he was going on about until he said something about our wedding day. "I shall have you as my wife dear Melody, mark my words, you will be mine" he smiled an evil smile that made my skin crawl.

At those last words I spat in his face and slapped him hard, "You will never have me because I will never allow it!" I start to turn away and run from him only for him to grab my arm once more only harder then before, I saw he raise his hand as he is about to slap me, I shut my eyes tightly closed, and braced myself for what was about to happen.

Out of no where, Zombie appears behind him, wraps one arm around the prince's throat and grabs his hand before hitting me and the prince releases me from his grip from the shock of being attacked from behind.

"You dare raise your hand to a Princess?!" he roars as he throws him to the ground, points at him and says, "The king shall hear about this betrayal and you shall never be welcomed here again!" Zombie then turned to me, came over and looked at my arm that was now swollen and showing a discoloration or a bruise. Tears have escaped my eyes now from this horrific event. He growled under his breath upon seeing the new formed bruise.

Since day of my seventeenth birthday one year ago, and he became my caretaker, he had grown overly protective of me since then.

So much so that he did to Midlrea as he had said was going to happen if she were to disrespect me and have her tongue removed. She is now mute and is no longer sharing herself with my father in his chambers after learning the reason behind it. She shall be considered very lucky she is still a servant in the castle.

The prince gets up, takes out his sword and I gasp at seeing him run towards us. Zombie pushes me one way as he goes the other to get the princes attention on him. I get up to try to and run towards the castle to warn my father and the others that prince has gone mad but he grabs me by the hair, I scream as loud as I can by this action and he pulls me to him putting his swords up against my throat.

I have more tears streaming down my face as the prince faces me to look at Zombie. I am scared beyond measure now. I had to think of a way to get him to let go, I have to trick him. He was going on about the wedding once more and Zombie saying it will never be, that's when I said, "I''ll do it!" he stopped talking "what did you say?" he whispered in my ear. "I said...I'll marry you. Just please put the sword down!"

"Not a good idea Princess" Zombie was trying to say but the prince said "Quiet you! My future wife is talking and you will listen to what she has to say!" he yelled, then still struggling to keep his sword at bay I look at Zombie and say, "I will marry you, but not with the sword at my throat." Zombie knew exactly what I was getting at. Zombie then says, "Okay Princess, if that is what you choose, my duty as your caretaker shall be done." With more tears in my eyes I say, "It is, I have finally chosen," I say as I slowly turn around to face the prince, "I will marry you tonight if that is what my prince desires." I say, wrapping my arms around him to hug him, making sure he feels assured about my decision.

I then turn half face away towards Zombie and say, "Please inform my father of my choice Zombie" I say turning back to the prince, he lowers his sword just enough for me to be out of his grasp as Zombie says, "As you insist...Princess" he understands my words as he goes to walk to past us, making sure the prince is focused on me, I lower my hand down to his and I grab the sword from the prince as I push away from him and Zombie lands him to the ground as I point the sword at the prince.

This time he can't get away. Zombie proceeds to take him to my father, the whole time he is shouting, I give the sword to Zombie as I follow behind, a ways behind, not wanting to be grabbed at anymore. My father reaches the place he hears the shouting from and sees Zombie holding the prince with his own sword at him, opens his mouth to ask what's going on until he sees me holding my arm that is now clearly bruised, my hair a complete mess, my face is stained with dried tears and the worst of it all, my dress was ruined and saturated with dirt from being pushed on the ground.

My father rushes to me as do the servants and ask what happened, I try to talk but I am crying and talking at the same time, no on can understand me so they all turn to Zombie and he tells them everything.

Everyone is so distraught by how the prince acted. He was banished from the kingdom and letter was sent to his own father explaining the reason for his banishment as to what he did. And if he were to ever come back, he would be beheaded upon arrival.

Chapter 5

I was taken to my chambers by the servants, drawn nice bath and just laid there. The servants were ordered to not leave my side while my father and Zombie discussed the details of what had happened. I closed my eyes for a moment to relax and forget about this day, but was awoken abruptly by one of the servants screaming. "He is back!" she screamed, "The prince is back and has brought an army!!" I stood up in all my naked glory and the servants rushed to get my dressed. "Quickly Princess, he is coming our way! He says he will stop at nothing!"

I quickly started to get dressed and told the servants to barricade the door. I urgently helped them and just in time as we put last heaviest item in front of it, the prince had tried to ram it down. I started to panic but I remembered, there was a secret entrance in my room leading within the walls of the castle. I used to use them all the time when I was a child playing hid and seek with the servants.

I ran over to my candles, grabbed one and then ran to the portrait of my mother, lifted the painting, held open a door way and called for the servants, "Over here quickly, move silently through here so he will not know!" I said quietly. The servants were hesitant at first but the prince kept trying to get through, the screamed in terror and ran towards me through the secret entrance. I handed the first servant the candle going through as I went through last so that I could make it look as if we had all disappeared.

One of the servants asked how I knew about this place, I smile, remembering our hid and seek games. "Do you remember when we used to play hid and seek when I was a child and you could never find me?" They all said, "yes.." I smiled more, "I found this secret entrance one day by mistake and decided to use it to my advantage."

They all aww in the sneakiness of me when one said, "So that's how you always got passed us and into the kitchen!" I chuckled at the remembrance of surprise at that memory. "You sneaky little Princess you" another said.

We walked a while inside the walls of the castle, the noise of the prince finally breaking though our barrier only to find no one inside. He could be heard screaming for moments on end, I heard him destroying everything in my chambers! I had to stop eyes from welling up for there were priceless items in there that were my mothers. We scurried through the walls for sometime while the screams of the prince were soon drowned out as we continued, I had been down this path many of times and were taking the servants to the other side of castle...to Zombie's chambers.

I shushed everyone before opening another secret entrance, slightly poking my head out from the curtain to view the chambers, no one was there. Perfect. I signaled the servants to come in as I went to lock the door and barricade it. I started blowing out the candles and we were engulfed in darkness, we would be safe here. I told the servants we are safe but must be absolutely keep quiet and not make a sound, we must also keep away from the window and the door as to not draw attention to this very chamber.

It was most terrifying. The sounds to be heard were of swords clashing with one another, screams coming from those dying or severely wounded. Praying that no one would come to this way, only then someone tried to get in, I shushed everyone as we went over to the secret entrance, all of getting ready to go back into the walls when I heard Zombie's voice, "Princess, are you there?" I sighed with relief, about to move the barricade he says, "Be very quiet, no noises, he is coming this way and is breaking into chambers, leaving no survivors!" I gasped but covered my mouth, no survivors?! He continues, "When you shall hear him, get back in the wall and stay put, make no noise! I will find after I kill him." There was a long pause before he said, "Stay safe...My Princess."

I heard him leave the door, my mouth still covered I let out a slight sob but I quickly regain myself upon hearing more people of the castle being slaughtered, begging him to spare their life only to be silenced while in the midst of speaking their plea of reason. Killed in cold blood. All over me.

I went over to where the secret entrance was and stepped through. Closing it cautiously as to not make a noise. I lead the servants a way back the way we had come until we were far enough away where we could hear the Prince thrashing around more, screaming, "WHERE IS SHE?!?!" one of the servants let out a small sob, but only loud enough for us to her. I comforted the servant telling everything will be alright. But I was not certain myself on how this was going to end.

I was certain enough though that this was only going to end one way, and that was either he kills everyone in the castle, including Zombie...or he dies by Zombie's sword.

In the midst of my thoughts we heard swords clashing and shouting. "Come lad," we heard the Prince say, "where is your sweet Princess?" no response, only silence. "Tell me where she is I swear no harm shall come to her." We heard the swords clash once more, a grunt or two were made and then, what sounded like a sword had been disarmed from it's wielder, we hear it clang against the castle floor and a voice say, "There shall be no harm bestowed up on her anyhow for you shall die by my sword this night!" as a grunt sound was heard with a piercing of flesh it went silent.

Silent as the dead of night. No more screams were left to be heard. We watched the entrance of the secret door. Then Zombie's voice rang out, "THE PRINCE IS DEAD!" He said in between breaths. We slowly appeared out of the secret entrance and saw the gruesome mess of which used to be the Prince. Although we can surely say, as of late, we had held our word of what shall happen to those that are warned do not heed our warning as truth.

Midlrea's tongue was cut from her mouth and now the Prince's head was no longer attached to his body. Perhaps now, tales of these warnings will be seen through if ignored. I look up at Zombie and for once, he looks exhausted...and human. I realize then that he truly was human. He may have been created by my father but he is made of human remains. He has a heart and mind like the rest of us and can exhort energy just same as any of us.

He looks back at me, still breathing heavy, he drops his sword to his side, steps over the Prince's corpse and embraces me in a tight hug. I am shocked and taken aback by this action I know not of how to react. I only wrap my arms around his waist. As we stand there, I forget that the servants are there and witnessing everything. Then Zombie says, "Glad you are safe Princess" he releases me and turns to the servants, "I am overjoyed that all of you are safe." and goes to hug them as well, we are all in surprise to see this different side of him, we all hug him back.

literature
1

About the Creator

AzteckPrincess26

I love to write stories, I have been writing since I was 14years old. My dream is to someday be an author with a random selection of books created. I have a very imaginative imagination and being on vocal I can express myself to no extent.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.