Humans logo

The Beginning of Our Love

HOSTEL ROMANCE

By Joe And RosaPublished 4 years ago 11 min read
1

Was is that cheeky smile, that twinkle in his eye or the offer to help carry my luggage? You just really never really know when your true love is going to walk straight into your life. For me, who would have thought that May 2019, I would have met my love, my world, my absolute everything Joe.

After spending the past couple weeks in Spain celebrating a friends Hens night, I was actually really excited to have arrived to London to follow on with the celebration for my friend’s wedding. Exhausted, most probably hungover and so very tired after a not so comfortable plane ride I arrived to Gatwick Airport. As unorganised as I can be, arriving with no accommodation booked I did a quick google search for a hostel to stay for the next couple days until I got myself sorted. The Palmers Lodge in Wisden Green was the first to come up and without hesitation I booked it.

Arriving to The Palmers Lodge, now even more tired than ever I just couldn’t wait to just put my luggage away and go get some fresh air. I went to the desk to the receptionist to begin my check-in but I couldn’t help but get a glance of the guy to the left of me who appeared to be getting his phone charged. That guy was Joe. He was well dressed, Tall, Olive skin…. I almost had to look twice without him realising but the receptionist began to ask me questions about my check in and before I could look back, he had gone.

All checked in with my room number- which happened to be on the very top floor!! I headed straight for the lift. Just my luck, the lift was out of order and not currently working. I am not sure if the lady at the reception just forgot to tell me, or wanted to have a laugh to see me embarrass myself to carry up 23kg luggage up the stairs! I looked behind me to see Joe sitting on the couches. I think he may have been watching me ….Feeling very shy I asked him if there was another lift? Or maybe I said “is this lift broken” I can’t actually remember lol

I wish I could have caught on camera that first moment we actually laid eyes on eachother. He was way more attractive then I had thought, and me being me I was feeling even more shy haha. Without thinking twice, Joe offered to carry my luggage for me. Yes – that is right!! He offered to carry my luggage allllllllllllllll the way up the stairs to the very top level. I was thinking ; wow this guys is not only attractive but has a really nice heart. I don’t think we actually spoke too much going up the stairs, he was probably puffed out from trying carry my luggage hahaha

Once we got to the top, that was it! I said thanks and we parted ways. I didn’t really think that I would see him again as there were so many rooms at the hostel and people, I thought there would be a low chance to see Joe. I put all my stuff in my room and was still really eager to go for a walk to get fresh air! Although it was a little late, I went back downstairs and headed straight out the door to begin my walk. I did see Joe again, but I didn’t really take much notice as he was on the phone so I walked straight past him. Within seconds, I hear someone shout ‘Hey where are you going ?!” I turn around and to my surprise it was Joe! Trying to resist a smile, I answered “I’m going for a walk”. Not even thinking twice Joe responded “Okay ill come with you”.

I don’t think I actually processed what he said until he started walking towards me, until then I realised that he is going to keep me company. The confidence this guy had just blew me away! We began our walk and started talking so comfortable with each other, it almost felt like I knew him - All my shyness had gone away. To wonder the streets of London at night with a guy that I have just met would never be a good idea but Joe had a way to make me feel extremely safe with him even though I had just met him.

From the second I met Joe he was open about almost everything, he told me about his daughter Aaisha his baby mom, his job as an electrician, how he was planning to get his life on track, maybe open a business – this guy sure could talk! Through our conversation I soon discovered that Joe was 2pound short to pay for a night at the hostel. Coming from Australia-living with parents I never really ever knew what it felt like to have no money or be short of few pounds. I quickly offered him not only 2pound but to take 10pounds to cover his night at the Hostel. I mean after all he did help me to carry my luggage. Joe refused to take the £10 and only wanted the £2 but was very grateful of my offer. We continued to walk up and down around the Hostel – at least for a good hour!

Heading back to the Hostel, I wasn’t too sure what to expect. After going with Joe to pay for a night at the Hostel I thought that was it, we would go our separate ways. But I was wrong. Joe was full of energy, charm and there was something about him that made me want to keep hanging out with him. But I told myself, surely a guy like him wouldn’t want to hang out with me or even be slightly interested in!! To my surprise Joe invited me to join him on the Hammock outside. Very hesitant and shy I agreed. In my head again I was thinking … why on earth does this guy want to keep hanging out with him, he probably just wants some company.

That moment could not have been any more romantic. Laying under the stars next to what I thought was an amazing guy that I just met. We spoke for hours, with not a single dull moment. I can’t even remember what we spoke about but everything just felt so comfortable. I still not entirely sure if Joe was genuinely being friendly or just wanted to have a shag. We soon realised that we had things in common and not thinking that I would ever see this guy again I lied about my birthday to him just to continue with all the things we had in common.

Joe didn’t try make any moves on me that night, he was very respectful and I really had such an enjoyable night. We had to cut the night short as Joe had to be awake by 6am for work. We both headed back to our separate rooms, within seconds of arriving to my room I get a message from Joe asking if I could meet him downstairs so he can use my charger. Was this just an excuse to see me or was did Joe really need a charger? I was still thinking there is no way that this guy could be interested in me. It was just impossible! Of course I would do anything to help someone out , so I met him downstairs and we chilled again for a couple hours while Joe charge his phone ( Later found out that this was an excuse to see me hahaha ) I soon realised that Joe didn’t even know my name! haha maybe I didn’t even introduce myself properly or he just had bad memory lol

I still remember that feeling when I went back to my room. I had the biggest smile on my face and I was not entirely sure why. I had this strange feeling in me that wanted to see Joe again, but soon negative thoughts came in and I just assumed this guy just only wanted a shag. I mean like why would he be interested in me? I promised myself that I wouldn’t be just some girl that Joe gets into my pants.

From the night we met, we spent each night together. Laying under the stars, chatting until early morning. The connection we had, it felt was so strong. Each night Joe tried to invite me back to his room but I kept my distance and laughed it off. I mean we just met!

Couple days later, Joe actually lost his job. I always felt partly guilty that could have been a reason as we would always spend time together chatting until early hours when Joe had work early. On this particular day, Joe was late to work and he had a fall out with a guy at work in which he punched in the face. The first-person Joe wanted to come to see after this was Me however, I was out with a friend. When he had called me to tell me he was coming back to the hostel to see me, I felt so special- again I found myself smiling for an unknown reason. I so badly wanted to see him too, I had been thinking of him all day. I quickly hurried with my friend and met Joe back at the hostel.

Joe continued to make me laugh and made me feel more and more comfortable each night. By the third night, we were laying, cuddling under the blanket on the hammock when Joe turned to me and said “It has been 3 days and I haven’t even got the chance to taste those lips of yours”. Wooooo my heart jumped a beat and the smile on my face I thought he was never going to ask. The fact that Joe never tried to be sleezy or make a move in a way that made me feel not comfortable make me so attracted to him. The moment we touched lips; it was the most magical moment. His lips so soft, the way he touched my face. A slow and passionate kiss, I felt like I was in heaven! Who was this Prince Charming?

I think this was the night that we actually made Love, yes, the entire time I promised myself I wouldn’t shag with Joe but somehow it just happened. At the time, I believe we were allocated the same hostel room as Joe had changed his room to be in the same one as me. We went straight to my bed and after a little cuddling we made love. I was so surprised that I didn’t even regret it after, but still in the back of my mind there was a little part of me that assumed now Joe got what he wanted I would never see him again – but I was completely wrong!

From that day on were inseparable, Joe and I would hang out and chill every day. I was even lucky enough for Joe to cook me dinner! Every day I was falling more an more for this guy , but I still was not entirely sure where this was going, if this was even anything at all. We were laying in bed one night and Joe brought up that question “What is this? What are we?” I was lost for words as I was not entirely sure what this was, we had formed a great connection and what felt like we were basically a couple. I was falling so much for Joe but I didn’t want to make it so obvious. When he asked me this, I realised that this guy is not messing around, he is actually interested in me. Joe had literally swept me off my feet and stolen my heart without me even taking notice. Within 3 days of knowing each other he had made me his lady and he was my man. I felt like the luckiest girl in the world.

We began to get more and more cheeky, we even got kicked out of the hostel for making love on one of the top beds and someone reported us! Haha Each moment I spent with Joe was so fun, we never had a dull moment. I loved the way he made me feel so comfortable, how he would always hold my hand, put his arm around me, kiss me, making sure that I knew he was only interested in me and no one else. We would always get so many compliments of people saying how good we looked together, how everyone thought we had been together for ages when really it was only so fresh and were still getting to know each other. I had never ever had that feeling of what I felt towards Joe. The feeling was so strong, so intense. I decided I would not let go of him. What I would soon find out very quickly was that Joe was not just anyone, he was not just some guy- he was the love of my life. Joe walked into my life at just the perfect time and I couldn’t have been any happier. Still to this day, Joe continues to be my love, my world, my everything.

love
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.