Humans logo

The Absurdities of Love: Why Embracing Quirks is the Key to a Happy Relationship

Why focusing on the positive qualities of your partner can save your relationship

By Edy Zoo Published about a year ago 3 min read
Like
The Absurdities of Love: Why Embracing Quirks is the Key to a Happy Relationship
Photo by Ave Calvar on Unsplash

Relationships! They're a bit like a rollercoaster ride, aren't they? You're soaring to new heights one moment, and the next, you're plummeting toward the ground. And just like a rollercoaster ride, the absurdities make the journey worthwhile.

If you're in a relationship, it's essential to focus on your partner's positive qualities. It's a cliché, sure, but it's one that's been around for centuries for a reason. After all, the grass is never greener on the other side. Trust me; I've been on both sides of the fence.

Take my first girlfriend, for example. She was beautiful, intelligent, and had a great sense of humor. But like any relationship, there were quirks. One of her quirks was that she insisted on eating cereal for dinner every night. Now, I'm not talking about a bowl of oatmeal or even cereal with milk. No, no. She would mix various types of grain into one bowl, add chocolate milk, and call it a day. It was enough to make my stomach churn.

But did I focus on that negative quality? No, of course not. Instead, I focused on her always knowing how to make me laugh, even when I was having a terrible day. And besides, who am I to judge someone's food preferences? I'm the guy who puts ketchup on everything, including pizza.

Another absurdity that comes with a relationship is the amount of time we spend together. Sure, having someone to spend time with is great, but sometimes you need some alone time. I remember when my second girlfriend and I decided to move in together. It was all sunshine and rainbows at first, but then the reality set in.

Suddenly, I couldn't just sit on the couch and binge-watch Netflix for hours on end without someone interrupting me. And don't even get me started on the bathroom situation. It's one thing to share a bathroom with someone you're not romantically involved with, but sharing it with your partner is another level of intimacy.

But again, did I focus on those negative aspects? No, sir. Instead, I focused on the fact that I had someone who loved me enough to put up with my quirks, even when they involved hogging the TV remote or taking hour-long showers.

And let's not forget about the absurdity of dealing with each other's families. My third girlfriend's family was like something straight out of a sitcom. Her mother was overbearing, her father constantly made dad jokes, and her younger brother was always up to something.

But did I focus on that? No, because I had the most wonderful girlfriend who put up with my own dysfunctional family. We would laugh and joke about the absurdity of our families, and it only brought us closer together.

So, why should you focus on the positive qualities of your partner? Because the alternative is focusing on the negative, and trust me, that's a recipe for disaster. Of course, no one is perfect, and everyone has their quirks. But if you can find someone who loves you despite those quirks, then you've hit the jackpot.

Besides, the grass is never greener on the other side. I've been there, done that, and got the t-shirt to prove it. It's easy to think that someone else might be better, but the reality is that everyone has their own baggage.

You might think that the person you're with now is the cause of all your problems, but the truth is, those problems will follow you wherever you go. That's why it's so important to focus on your partner's positive qualities because no matter how absurd or quirky they may be, those positive qualities make the relationship worth it in the end.

So, next time you're tempted to focus on the negative, take a step back and remember all the reasons why you fell in love with your partner in the first place. Laugh at the absurdities, embrace the quirks, and enjoy the rollercoaster ride that is a relationship. After all, life is too short to do anything else.

datingadvice
Like

About the Creator

Edy Zoo

Edy Zoo is an author who writes about social subjects. He contributes to the ever-growing library of social critics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.