Humans logo

The 24/7 Diner

The Forgotton Cape

By Goosey Q.Published 4 years ago 7 min read
Like
The 24/7 Diner
Photo by Heidi Kaden on Unsplash

Prelogue:

It was dark. 8:30pm to be exact. My Uber pulled up to a 24/7 diner. Next to it was a black & blue Motel that i planned on staying in for the weekend. 2 stories where was a big chimney in the front office that covered both floors. The doors where painted blue and the rest of the motel was black on the outside. I came in with my boyfriend of 5 months. Red stripped t-shirt with blue stars on it & solid blue shorts is what he wore. I had on a black shirt with the 7 millennium items from the yugioh anime that i watched so much. We was going to attend an anime convention for the weekend. We waited last minute to find a hotel & this was the only place that had a room.

Boyfriend:

I’m starving. How long was we on that flight for? I’m glad that this hotel was available.

Me:

I know right!? The one we had planned for cancelled last minute. Like we had a bunch of hotels lined up or something. I mean… what’s the difference between a motel & hotel anyways besides the use. Its just a building where people can sleep in a decent bed with great community service & sometimes free breakfast with a gym.

Boyfriend:

Don’t forget a clean room. This hoe isn’t about to sleep in no dumpster hole that smells like a leftover sticky bun that mineta left behind from fighting with kaminari about midnight. (My Hero Academia Reference)

Monologue:

So we get settled in & right before we go to the diner for dinner the boyfriend forgets something & jumps out of fear. Realizing the point of going to the convention is to show off in a cosplay that will get pictures & promotion for the company that’s getting started.

Boyfriend:

I can’t believe I didn’t pack the cape. The whole cosplay isn’t complete without it. How am I going to look if I don’t have the cape with me. Even if I was able to buy the materials to make a cape from scratch there won’t be enough time.

Monologue:

The cape was made of polyester & graphite. It was a solid color blue with graphite covering the edges & corners. Graphite centered the cape with the initials M&B for their names. Rainbow glitter was also covering the other side of the cape. So much glitter was put in that when you twirl the glitter would spread as if using stun spore.

Me:

let me see if I have the cape packed in my suitcase & if I have it then we are good & if not we can try to get materials to make another one or at the very least make a better one.

Boyfriend:

ok fine. But I will NOT! Go out looking looking like those superheroes with no cape that definitely looks better with a cape on.

Me:

remember Etna Mode from the incredibles? (I asked intently)

Boyfriend:

yes

Me:

NO CAPES!

Boyfriend:

DONT MAKE ME GOCALL JACK JACK ON YOU NOW!!

Me:

alright chillout (me breathing intently as I use both of my hands in a downward motion to calm him down.) we have time so let’s just go to the dinner & get something to eat. You know how you get when you don’t eat something. Especially when you don’t have your coffee.

Boyfriend:

of course. You’re right. We haven’t eaten for basically a whole day with the packing & traveling over here we have been doing. Plus I could use some coffee about now to be honest. Do you think they will have a caramel macchiato with hazelnut & almond milk?

Me:

BITCH! this isn’t a Starbucks. They don’t have baristas to make your type of coffee how you want it. It’s not even a McDonald’s so you can’t even have it your way. We just need food replenish our energy so I don’t pass out & you don’t drop dead.

Monologue:

We approach the 24/7 diner & through the brown metal doors we see those swirling stools with the red tops. Red booths with brown metal linings like the front door. We see the counter lady come through the double doors that lead into the kitchen into the from desk.

Counter lady:

(Southern accent) sit anywhere boys. Booth or countertops, it doesn’t matter.

Monologue:

Me & B goes to the booth for some privacy. The one in the left side of the diner. That’s next to the motel so we can have a good visual of it. A waiter with red hair that goes up to his shoulders & a single strand reaching forward towards his eyes walks to us. Boyfriend gets flustered by looking at his red hair completely shuts down in shyness.

Boyfriend:

omg I can’t believe a guy like that works here. He’s so hot.

Me:

I know. Maybe we should try flirting with him to get a free meal.

Boyfriend:

You read my mind. We can even get dessert with that meal too. (He says as he winks at me with a smirk)

Me:

You know I’m lactose intoler… (I quickly recognize what he meant by the smirk he gave) oh I got you. (I give a node to confirm what he’s saying).

Waiter:

(in an Irish accent) so what will ye be having boys?

Boyfriend:

You!

Me:

(I quickly tap on his hand as a sign of neglect like an owner telling a dog no) (giving a quick chuckle I respond) No we would like 2 coffees & 2 sparkling waters please.

Waiter:

(he responds as if he doesn’t know what sparkling waters are) sparkling waters? Oh you mean the bottled water with the bubbles. Ok 2 of them, anything else?

Boyfriend:

(gathering himself together) ahem! Yes! We would like 2 chicken ceaser sandwiches please with a side of truffle fries.

Waiter:

truffle fries? Oh the fries with the black stuff on it. Got it! So that’s 2 chicken Caesar sandwiches with truffle fries. Is that all?

Me:

yes that’s all. Thank you so much. Your hair is so nice. How do you get it to look so red?

Waiter:

Oh it’s just my natural hair color. I just wash it with.

Monologue:

As the waiter continues his conversation the counter lady calls for him to go to the back.

Counter lady:

(Southern accent) HEY RED HEAD!! We need you back here!

Waiter:

(Irish accent) yes mam (he thanks thanks the boys & he speed walks back into the kitchen)

Monologue:

As the waiter leaves B&M (boyfriend & Me) discuss the cosplay outfits they brought & look on their phones for stores that sell the materials that they need to make another cape. The waiter brings them their food & they finish eating.

Boyfriend:

How much should we tip?

Me:

I don’t know he’s cute so maybe 20% with a number to our room

Monologue:

After leaving their numbers, M&B leaves the diner as they wave goodbye & goes across the street to where the store that has the materials for them to complete the cape & once they get into their room who do they find but mr red head waiter. Wearing a black and flannel and his hair out & about.

Waiter:

(Irish accent) what took you guys so long?

Me:

(talking to boyfriend) I didn’t think he would show but we gotta finish the cape.

Boyfriend:

it’s ok you can keep him company while I finish the cape & I’ll join in the entertainment.

Monologue:

The boyfriend finishes the cape in the corner of their square foot room where you can clearly see each other. The waiter & Me was on the second bed while the boyfriend was in the other finishing the cape.

Boyfriend:

Walla! I’m done!

Monologue:

Right before boyfriend exerts his completion Me go on the bed with the waiter.

Me:

Or there’s the cape. It fell under the bed once we came in.

Boyfriend:

Mother fuffff (he yells to himself)

Monologue:

Boyfriend was fed up in rage but quickly took a breather & put all the clothing and luggage aside in a corner.

Boyfriend:

alright I’m done with it. Let’s do this.

Monologue:

The three end the night happy & plentiful with great success being able to not only make the cape but to find the other one & having a plus one.

lgbtq
Like

About the Creator

Goosey Q.

A Portfolio of Written Pieces from Poetry & Reviews, to Positive Affirmations & Mental Health. This page is to Inform, Educate, & Inspire people to take a positive outlook on life while relating to struggles that we have or haven’t faced.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.