Humans logo

That Looks Like Me

By Leah

By Leah ParkerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read

I remember the first time I met Ty Allan Jackson and believe I always will. Please trust me when I say, you will never see a more bright and genuine smile. It was Third Thursday, a street fair in Pittsfield, Massachusetts, where local entrepreneurs set up booths to publicize and sell products. It’s the kind of event where one might evade eye contact with vendors in order to avoid high pressure or awkward interactions.

I had heard of Ty and seen him around town. We both frequented Dottie’s, the local coffee shop. We lived in a small town where only around 5% of the population is black. I hadn't had the pleasure of meeting Ty prior to this Third Thursday. I saw that smile and it drew me in. He wasn't over eager in his sales tactics. He was casually standing at his table that was piled with hoodies that said “Read or Else.” I love to read. And I love hoodies. I had to have one. They were black with white lettering and as Ty rummaged through the stacks to find my size he enthusiastically told me what it was all about: ‘With each purchase of a “Read or Else” garment, he sends a copy of his book Danny Dollar Millionaire Extraordinaire: The Lemonade Escapade to a child in a homeless shelter or Title 1 school. The goal is to spark a love for reading while simultaneously inspiring and teaching children about financial literacy.’

That day I walked away with not only a “Read or Else” sweatshirt I would end up wearing until it was faded and threadbare, a sweatshirt that every time I wore it would spark questions and conversations that allowed me to propel the Read or Else movement, but also a high esteem for this man.

Ty is a businessman making a living doing something he has an incredible talent and passion for. More than that, though, he is doing something of great importance.

When Barack Obama was elected president I was proud to say I voted for him. I am embarrassed to say that while it was obviously momentous, the true significance was, at first, lost on me. Shortly after the inauguration I read articles and saw videos that shed light on an issue that previously, I had been ignorant about. I came to realize that, even in 2008, there was a lack of role models for young black people. Minorities have been severely underrepresented in most fields. A most poignant and succinct way to illustrate this is a photograph taken by former Chief Official White House Photographer, Pete Souza, titled Hair Like Mine. In the photograph, President Obama bends down to allow a five year old to touch his hair in order to answer the child’s question, "I want to know if your hair is like mine." Twelve years later, Kamala Harris is our vice president and similarly young girls, without prompting, have exclaimed in delight, “that looks like me!”

I have hope. I believe things are, albeit slowly, heading in the right direction and I give a lot of credit to people like Ty.

Ty is making a difference in a most tangible way. He is a speaker with three TedX talks under his belt. He has toured the country sharing the importance and joy of reading; inspiring children and educating parents. He founded an organization, Big Head Books, LLC, that advocates for literacy especially among young people. Ty believes, and I wholeheartedly agree, that “literacy is the foundation for a successful life.”

Ty inspires me. He was the recipient of the Massachusetts inaugural Martin Luther King Jr. Content of Character Award. He has been praised by the Massachusetts Governor, Senator, and the House of Representatives. His books have been featured on CNN, NBC Nightly News, The Steve Harvey Show and PBS among others. In 2012, Ty’s books were gifted to former First Lady Michelle Obama, swoon. He is the co-founder of the Read or Else movement and Danny Dollar Academy.

The Danny Dollar Academy is a program that teaches elementary students financial literacy. It presents the basics of Finance, Entrepreneurship and Economics in a fun and engaging way. Participants learn the principles of credit, debit, banking, entrepreneurship, marketing and many other concepts that prepare young people for success in the ‘real world.’ I wish The Danny Dollar Academy was around when I was growing up. Shoot, I might even sign up now!

On a more personal note, when I had an idea for a children’s book I wanted to write I asked Ty if I could ‘pick his brain.’ I was nervous to reach out to him knowing how busy he is. Without hesitation he sent me his availability. What a guy! The aforementioned is all exceedingly admirable but I would like to tell you about the first book Ty wrote.

Danny Dollar Millionaire Extraordinaire: The Lemonade Escapade was written in 2009 after Ty’s seven year old son opened a lemonade stand. As they say, the apple, or in this case the lemon, doesn't fall far from the tree. In just three hours the young entrepreneur made $50! Ty’s son asked him what he should do with his earnings. Ty wasn’t sure. I once read a quote by Will Smith that resonates with me, “there have been gazillions of people that have lived before all of us. There's no new problem you could have--with your parents, with school, with a bully. There's no new problem that someone hasn't already had and written about it in a book.” Well Ty, cleverly, made a trip to the bookstore in hopes of finding a book that would teach his son about finance and entrepreneurship. He couldn't find a single one. So he wrote one! I love this story for so many reasons. For one thing, when I read it I got the impression Ty and his son have a healthy relationship and bond. For another, Ty did, he’s a doer. He saw a need and wrote a book that provides children with an element of education that is not only profoundly important but also overlooked by our school systems. Lastly, Danny Dollar is black. He’s representing. He’s smiling on the cover Danny Dollar Millionaire Extraordinaire waiting for someone to walk by and say, “that looks like me.”

feature

About the Creator

Leah Parker

I just wanna write!!!

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Leah ParkerWritten by Leah Parker

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.