Humans logo

Tell Me Fairytale Endings Exist

By: Tori Loren

By Tori LorenPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
3
Tell Me Fairytale Endings Exist
Photo by Mikael Kristenson on Unsplash

He would rather be in pain because he can’t have her, than to have all of the memories of her be taken away. (Yeah I know it’s a show, but I mean it can’t be completely made up. I mean there has to be truth in it!)

I know the world isn’t perfect, but just for once I’d want to feel the way I think my character feels when the love of her life risks everything just to tell her how much he loves her. 

How he exposes his soul and isn’t afraid to be completely raw with her and just tell her. 

I mean we all know that love is real…right? 

But the fairy tale stories of stargazing on the deck with the telescope your boyfriend made for you, kissing in the rain as the KC lights from the truck light your path, dancing in the moonlight with the prince at the royal ball, the boy suspending from the Ferris wheel to ask you on a date...is any of it real? 

I’m not a complicated girl, just give me chocolate, take me to a baseball game, and hold me close when I’m scared or lost. I don’t need fireworks or fancy dinners. 

I just want one person. Just one. 

One person who is willing to stay, not despite me and everything about me, but because of it! 

I want someone to stand by me and be there for me and make me laugh when I want to cry. 

Not because he has to…but because the thought of me upset makes his world turn grey and without the light in his world he is lost…or you know, something along those lines. 

All I want, is for one guy to look at me like I’m different than all the rest. Look at me like he’s happier when I’m in his view. And once he realizes this I want him to pull me close, look me straight in the eyes, and tell me. 

Tell me that this is real. That this is forever. 

Promise me that you’ll never let me go. Tell me all the reasons why you’re choosing to stay, why you’re happy, why its me. 

Tell me all the great memories that you’ve kept locked away. 

Tell me why I make you smile. Tell me when you knew that you could look into my brown eyes forever and never get tired. Tell me. That’s all I want. 

You can buy me the brightest and biggest diamond (please don’t), you can take me to the most amazing places…but if you tell me how you feel about me…I couldn’t care less where we are. 

I won’t remember the diamonds or the places…I’ll remember the way my heart felt as it leaped in my chest, how my eyes gazed upon you as you let me see the real you for the first time, how my tongue felt as I tried to bite down to try and stop the tears from streaming down my face, and how my whole body felt like it was floating and the only way I was still on the ground is because your hands were keeping me from flying away. 

That’s all I want. 

The movies, the books, the shows…they may all be fairytales created by daydreamers that live for dramatic gestures. 

But I honestly hope that in this moment I am not too grand of a daydreamer. 

One day I will find that person that will look at me like no other and will tell me the love story of us. Someday I will hear the most beautiful words come from the man that will make me fly like Peter Pan. 

My once upon a time is coming…all the mystery man has to do is tell me.

satire
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.