Humans logo

Synthetic

Love poem

By Ada ZubaPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Synthetic
Photo by Victor Freitas on Unsplash

Falling in love is easy. You meet someone and you have a connection and you are in love. It is falling in love with the right person that is hard. You are in a relationship, but something seems…off. You break up and you learn from it. When you find the right person though it is unbelievably easy but finding them is hard. You might be going on date after date and it leads nowhere because you were not meant to be together. I’m not one to believe in soulmates but maybe there are a few right people. So here’s a love poem:

I would have loved to meet you across the room.

We would have talked the night away. The whole room would have disappeared and it would just be us. We would be surrounded by people and many of them but it would not matter because we would be in such deep conversation that they would fade.

We would exchange numbers just to continue the conversation. Organically that’s what we would call it.

Pandemic. Synthetic is the only way now. You scroll and you swipe through men with chain necklaces and women with fake lashes and wonderful nails. Who is serious and who isn’t? It is hard to tell.

Date after date but nothing ever sticks until that one guy. All he did was buy coffee. The red car. The green sweater and those green eyes like the calming hue of a bright early spring with flecks of blue that are like streams on a summers day. Warmth. Calm. Patience.

I can feel the putter patter of my heart lift. He’s done this routine more than once and going nowhere. Suddenly an easy yet nervous laugh. It’s something I’ve been missing my whole life. Warmth. Calm. Patience.

The date I don’t want it to end. We walk. We exchange life stories as he listens and laughs, his high energy and we match each other like no one ever has. Two souls are suddenly colliding like a perfect mural that has not been completed until now. All the colours in a blaze, colliding and working together contrasting yet it works like no other.

We stop by a bench and I can see the sun setting across the green grass once again I’m thinking about his eyes. Warmth. Calm. Patience.

His sense of humour and his love to make me laugh with silly puns and odd jokes that I only get. He calls me and I immediately feel better even after a horrible day of dealing with the unpleasantries of people yelling and shouting left and right. Yet, I hear his voice on the other line and my day is so much better. I have kissed boys but it took years to kiss a man.

When he holds me in his arms when cold winds whip about they feel warm. I feel a chill on my skin, stinging at my core and he takes it away from me. For in those moments that flash of heat is interpreted as light by my deeper self. It triggers the response of the phoenix, combusting the darkness, to spread wings of flame and fly once more. I can trust once more, safe secure but passion is behind every touch that pulses through us. Warmth. Calm. Patience.

In the emotion of the kiss a volume of passion is spoken that transcends the works of the great poets combined. We are our pure selves not pretending to be anyone else. I let him know about my secret’s he does not know why but he keeps them.

His warmth is that of a hot summer but not when you can get sunburned, just enough to know that you want to stay there. His calm is that of a lake on a early sunrise when the paddle of your kayak dips into the water. His patience is that of a tortoise knowing that slow and steady wins the race. His quick wit and intelligence remind me that he is so much more than I ever bargained for.

Our eyes met before the coffee shop and the rush of feelings never sizzled away. Love at first sight. Warmth. Calm. Patience.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Ada Zuba

Hello fellow interweb explorers! I am Ada Zuba. I binge the Netflix shows and just recently Disney plus has been my happy place. I am a creative person with a big love for Disney movies. I hope to one day write and publish a fantasy novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.