Humans logo

Suicide Reflection

In the Bathroom Mirror

By Tia Dalu SouhradaPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Suicide Reflection
Photo by kevin laminto on Unsplash

There you were. Your beautiful face, the magnificent wonderful face, staring at me in the bathroom mirror. You couldn't see me but I was there and I could see you. I could see the pain in your eyes and the sorrow in your tears. I could feel every heartbeat that dared to beat. You fooled everybody. All the smiles and laughter. No one knew all that you held inside. No one ever seemed to understand or get the real you. You felt that it didn't matter. You knew no one would see past all your layers. You always looked for ways to numb all the feelings that consumed you but nothing was ever enough and then you just finally told yourself that you had enough. There was unbearable loneliness that I could feel that surrounded you. This underlined yearning for something that you knew would never be able to be obtained. I pounded on the mirror and screamed as loud as I could as I realized what you were doing. I pleaded and begged for you to stop. For you to look at me. For you to remember all those who loved you and were here and wouldn't understand. I screamed until my voice echoed into silence. We promised each other a long time ago we would never take our lives for granted. That we would live them to the fullest. But I could feel you and a pain that was crushing your soul. I could feel you. And it was killing me. There was nothing I could do because when you decided to take your life was the night the shadows that were in mine ceased to exist. And I was too late. I told those around me about the presence I was feeling of the fear of the unknown. How it was crushing me. But it was you. You were sending me these signs that just to me were so incomplete. Every time I have lost someone close to my heart the shadows come and I knew something wasn't right. I just couldn't see what was right there in the mirror of my nightmares. It was you this whole time. Crying out for help. You were one of the only ones who knew of the shadows and how they haunted me. How something had a hold of you. As far apart as we were I still felt you. I loved you. We were soulmates. This was one of the things that I learned is that soulmates don't have to be lovers. Soulmates can come from different walks of life or different lives altogether. They form a bond far beyond a deep connection that is tested but will never divide. You would always find me and I would always find you. And now you are gone. I am incomplete without you. There will be a part of me that will search the ends of the earth for you. Until I cross the veil to finally find you. And I hope that you knew that in those last moments that you were not alone. I was there, while you cried all those tears. I was there while you screamed at yourself that was there in the mirror. For I was in the bathroom mirror as you took your last breath. Standing next to the reflection of you. I believe that is when you finally saw me. Because that is when I woke up. And you were gone. Your beautiful soul disappeared and darkness fell over my heart. You were gone. The presence that loomed over me for days was gone. The shadows that I was seeing in the corners of the rooms during the day and the night, were gone. You no longer remained in the realm of the living. You left but I felt that you finally felt free. 

-by Tia Dalu Souhrada

friendship
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.