Humans logo

Storytime: Man Recounts Heartbreaking Story Of This Woman He Met Along Oshodi Isale (Photos).

Completely heartbreaking.

By Jide OkonjoPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like

Completely heartbreaking.

There are stories I like to read and write about everyday – fun stories, stories about drama and entertainment, stories that are made to thrill.

Then, there are stories like the one you’re about to read that just leave you heartbroken. That leave you asking why some are favored and others not.

There is this story about a woman who this tweeter by the name of Okikiola met on his way to an FRSC office.

Without wasting any time, here is the story. I hope it moves you the way it moved me.

**Before reading on, make sure to like and follow my Facebook page so you don't miss out on any new and interesting lists, articles, and stories that I post every single day. I have a really fun page. If you like my page, you will have fun too. So what's stopping you? Like my page and let's have fun together!

So i was driving to FRS office yesterday morning along oshodi isale, close to lastma office, and i saw a woman under the rain 🌧 shivering 🥶, at first sight i thought she wasn’t ok psychologically and i drove past her, at a second glance via the side mirror!!!

I noticed there was a sack close to her, i slowed down and i kept wondering why was she was under the rain, so i parked, and trekked back to her, i saw it was a sack full of oranges, and she had sold only one, the #50 naira was right on top of the oranges

I moved close and asked her, “madam are you selling this? “ She said yes, i asked how much is the whole sack? She said #1200 naira, i was lost for words 😞 i said to myself “1200?” I had no cash on me so i promised i was going to come back to her

I went back to my car, and i couldn’t just hold back the tears, it kept rolling down my cheeks, as i looked up to thank GOD for all the blessings i over looked and forgot to appreciate, for all the goodness and mercies i get despite my sporadic sins

I was in no way better than this woman, afterall she’s outspoken, all through my conversations with her, she never replied with broken English, however, i went back to her and gave her my token, i was more concerned with her leaving the rain as she was really shivering

This should have been a low key thing, but i feel this woman needs help, she’s definitely educated, she said she’s got twins, and she used to be a fashion designer, I’m sure the pandemic affected alot, as there are no occasions as it used to be!!!

I wish people could see this and help this woman, she is a fighter, she’s not willing to give up either, if you have anything to spare, she stays directly in front of aquadana company beside lastma office at oshodi!!! I forgot to add she said she collected the oranges on credit.

Now let’s ask ourselves, who needs GOFUND ME ACCOUNT? Who needs WAD-ROPE ALLOWANCE? Who needs HEALTHCARE ALLOWANCE? Who needs travel allowance? The little things we do today counts tomorrow GOD bless you all as you help her 🙇

[UPDATE] So i revisited her after work today, and she said she doesn’t have an account, i offered taking her to bank just so we could open an account in her name, i asked if she has any means of identity card, she said no, no bvn too, This is probing difficult tho, Pls any banker here?

If you’re a banker of feel moved in any way to help or contribute to this woman, click below to access the original thread and tweeter. A little help really could go a long way.

This life can be so brutal. This story is so sad. I hope if anything, it at least just made you feel more compassionate towards the next person, especially beggars and sellers on the street. Nobody knows how or why the ended up there, any act of kindness or show of care I'm sure will go a long way.

That’s All.

**Don’t forget to like my page:

I'm sure you've loved reading this piece. To make sure you keep having fun and don't miss out on any fun in the future, be sure to like and follow my Facebook page above. It's a really fun page and you're really going to love it. So what's stopping you? Like it!

To catch up other content you might have missed, click here.

Until next time, have a wonderful rest of your day!

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jide Okonjo

I have ONE account and MANY interests. My page is a creative hodgepodge of:

🇳🇬 Nigerian news stories for my dedicated Nigerian readers.

🎥 Movie and music recommendations, listicles, and critiques

📀 Op-eds, editorial features, fiction

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.