Humans logo

Story One

Not Understood

By Symphony WinterPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like

Okay. One thing that I want to make clear before I start my story, this is my opinion only. I will be changing some names as I do not want to there to be backlash on anyone who does not deserve it.

On to the story.

I am in a group chat on Discord. For those of you who do not know what Discord is, it is like messaging application that was originally used for people who like gaming and need a way to contact one another. The Discord server that I am on in this case, only has one chat section and no voice channels to use. We also have people from all around the world from many different cultures, languages, and races. I love it here and would not like to change it for the world.

There is just one thing that I am not a huge fan of. This chat has a strict NO BULLYING rule and anyone who does not follow this rule, accidentally or not, will get kicked from the group and potentially banned. But this was not the case for me.

One day in September, a very negative thought went through the chat and it seemed to be escalating very quickly. So a few of us, including myself, were trying to calm the situation down and ask for those who keep bring up the subject to let the MODS know and then switch to something on the more positive side. We were saying this because, well, we couldn't do anything about it and only the MODS or the "TopGun" can do anything about it.

We had to keep trying to calm things down as this one girl kept on saying things like "nobody seems to care at all" or "I guess I am just invisible to everyone", which was also making a huge scene. So a couple of us had informed her that we were not ignoring her, we just were not saying anything on the subject cause we can't do anything about it.

But knowing this girl from what she had been saying before during this whole thing, she was not giving up that easily, and for some reason she decided on me. So she decided to "quote" and reply to me.

Now, before I continue, I want to let you in on a little background of me. I am a very quiet person and don't like confrontation. This is due to the fact that I have crippling anxiety and very severe depression. Not a good combination to have but I got it. And even writing this is making my hands shake.

She kept on saying that I was saying she was spreading hate within the chat, which was not the case at that time. I replied saying that I was just letting her know that what she was saying was bringing a lot of negative vibes and we wanted to try and keep the positivity up.

Don't get me wrong, I understand where she was coming from as one of the people in the chat had stolen content and shared it on their own social media sites. But again, we can't do anything about this.

This girl kept on saying that I was saying bad things about her spreading hate and constantly trying to accuse her of different things. I was trying to clear this up by saying "no, I am simply saying that what you keep messaging and posting about is bringing in a negative vibe that people wanted to try and escape from. We understand the situation and the people who can do anything about it have already been informed, now we need to let it go and let them do what they need to."

She then started tagging some of her friends to join in and about 5 or 6 people were not telling me "you are in the wrong", "stop picking on a 13 year old", "you need to leave the chat", and "you don't belong here". They said more things then just that, but I would rather not go into to much detail there.

My anxiety and depression took over and I instantly said "I have said what I need to. I am done talking. Please leave me alone". This is my go to when in a discussion and I need to leave because of one of my mental demons. After that I stopped messaging and started to just read what other people were saying, as well as reading the hurtful comments that were made towards me.

Suddenly, I get a Private Message from this girl. And this part I have pictures of as proof for the Mods later.

Her: sorry if i like offended you or something but what you and that other person said about me really hurt. i wasn't spreading hate as you saw because of her em said, also if you're 23 you shouldn't be accusing at 13 year old of spreading hate. Thanks!

Me: I was not accusing you of spreading hate. I was telling you that what you were saying was spreading negativity to the chat and it has been said multiple times by mods and *Steven* that all that talk should be sent to mods directly and stay out of the chat. So please don't start accusing me either. I am already done saying what I need to. Just leave me alone. I am done. Thanks.

Her: I wasn't spreading negativity btw I'm 13. Trying to help *Steven* and the people that could barely get *into this chat* so in that case YOU leave me alone and stop accusing ME of negativity as a 23 year old you shouldn't be accusing at 13 year old of hate.

In the sake of keeping things from getting out of control *This* has been replaced with other words so that it doesn't affect anyone innocent.

Age should not matter in a situation like this. She was informed that it was not hate that she was being asked to stop but the negativity that came with her words. I broke down into tears at her words and I informed her that she was starting to verbally abuse me with some of the things she and others were saying. Which she brought into the group chat and said that I was accusing her of verbal abuse that wasn't true.

I had let one of the Mods know what happened and they looked into it and just told me that it was because of her age, that she was being immature and that I shouldn't take anything away from her words.

I have been threatened before, I have been stalked, I have been abused, and so much more. I take everything seriously and at face value. If someone says that they will kill me. I will be going to the police and informing them about this threat, whether it was meant as one or not.

Now, today is November 3, 2020. I asked another one of the Mods if they can let me know if this girl came over from the previous month to this new month, as I didn't feel safe to talk just in case she was lurking and popped out just to bully me again. Again, the Mods of the group did nothing about it and said that she probably didn't mean what she said.

I have gotten to the point that I am scared to talk on the group chat until I know that this 13 year old is gone. Because I know if something more serious came along, nothing would be done about it.

That is the end of my little sob story.

- Symphony Winter

social media
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.