Humans logo

Stahp

A frustrated plea

By Jessica StevensPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
1
Stahp
Photo by Ian Chen on Unsplash

The world used to be tough.

Like, you had to be tough to get by. If you travel back through history, the deeper into time the tougher you had to be.

We live in a world of sissies. Please hear me out before you dismiss my inner John Wayne.

What I want to say must be written delicately, and read with care.

It seems that many people today want to take the easy road and boohoo their way through life. And what's worse? They expect you to boohoo for them because it confirms their victimhood. Then, they want you to boohoo back so they can "boohoo" with you, though not very many are truly in sorrow with you. They only want to pour their heart to you so they can feel like you're listening.

Which you're not, of course. How many of us listen and truly empathize with others?

Well, here's the truth: people only tell you part of the story. Then you trust they told you the whole truth and nothing but the truth so help them G....wait, you can't say that word now.

God. I said it. God's name isn't a bad word, though some would say so.

These people want you to spill your guts for no reason, only because they want someone to sympathize with their pains.

Not that the pains don't exist. Let's be real: this world sucks.

But what sucks worse is its inhabitants' lack of resilience. Look back a couple of generations. Our grandparents and their parents fought two world wars AND the worst depression this country has (yet) seen. I'm sure there was bellyaching back then, too, but I am adamant it was less.

How can you arise from the terrors and heartache of earth without the silent strength of resilience? You cannot.

These same people are the ones who say they are the compassionate ones; they "hear the cries of humanity and are there to listen and help." Excuse me, but that's a load of bulls***....

Wait, I can't say that word.

Not because I can't, because I can, and I am very good at it. Just ask my husband. I can't say it because I choose not to. There's a difference between these cannots.

Anyway, these people claim virtue but when really pressed, they are the rudest, most hateful, vengeful, entitled, degrading people you'll ever meet. Ever notice how some (peruse carefully here, reader, I said some) of the people who tout green-friendly ideals are the very ones who discard the most trash on a daily basis? If it's a glass bottle you put in the recycling, it's still trash. It will end up as trash someday. You can take that gold nugget to the bank.

See how they do this instead of bringing a container, using it, taking it home and then washing it and using it again? Ugh.

What kind of insanity has breached this nation? Did any of you notice the temperature of the atmosphere yesterday, on our famous Independence Day? Did you notice how it felt taboo to go out and celebrate the hard-earned freedom we enjoy?

We live in a country filled with crybabies. Those who want to blame everyone except themselves for their misfortunes. Sometimes ourselves aren't to blame, but wow, listen to this:

We are the only ones responsible for our reaction to misfortunes.

Whoa! What an idea! Someone frame it and put it in a museum, quick! It might quickly be a relic of the past.

The crybabies could be our downfall. Have you become a crybaby? I have. I'll be honest. I've cried and cried about nothing and everything. I've felt sad and mad about nothing and everything. Life sucks. It's hard. You don't choose the cards handed to you.

But you can choose the way you resolve those cards.

Remember one thing: you alone have the power to change your life. Use your mind, it's strong. No matter the drugs or assaults or bad choices or accidents, your brain is powerful. Use your body. No matter the drugs, the assaults, the bad choices or accidents, your body is capable. Use your kindness. No matter how abused, your kindness can change your own outlook and those of your fellow man.

Goodness gracious, for the sake of us all, stop being a crybaby. Acknowledge your pains, tell someone you can truly trust (not the hipster wearing Carhart that doesn't know a thing about hard work that you just met at the coffee shop) about them, then MOVE ON.

PICK UP YOUR FEET, DUST YOURSELF OFF, AND MOVE ON.

Get people around you to help you. To encourage you, to laugh with you, to go on walks with you. Not people who just want to sulk in the s*crap life has dealt.

Your dad died? Your mom was mean? Your brother raped you? Your whole family died in an accident? You have cancer? People never invite you to hang out? You get ditched all the time? It SUCKS. It really does. But please get over it. Power through.

Peruse carefully, reader. Don't read my words as if I care not. I do the opposite. In fact, I am only writing this because I care. I care about you, I care about your life, I care about your family and mine and our country and our world.

So please. Do the hard thing. Pick yo' self up off that hard ground. Push yourself. Set limits. Break the limits others put on you. Do what you were made to do.

Some quotes from pop culture about this topic:

"Get up offa that thing! // And dance 'til you feel betta!" -James Brown

"You'll never be ready! MERGE!" -Barley (Onward)

"Let me tell you something you already know. The world ain’t all sunshine and rainbows. It’s a very mean and nasty place and I don’t care how tough you are it will beat you to your knees and keep you there permanently if you let it. You, me, or nobody is gonna hit as hard as life. But it ain’t about how hard ya hit. It’s about how hard you can get hit and keep moving forward. How much you can take and keep moving forward. That’s how winning is done! Now if you know what you’re worth then go out and get what you’re worth. But ya gotta be willing to take the hits, and not pointing fingers saying you ain’t where you wanna be because of him, or her, or anybody! Cowards do that and that ain’t you! You’re better than that!" -Rocky

Stop whining.

--A letter written to myself and everyone else

humanity
1

About the Creator

Jessica Stevens

Mountain raised and sorrow softened, I hope to help the world make sense. I grew up in the middle of the Rockies, surrounded by beautiful scenery and soulful people. I love my God, my family, my friends, and my purpose.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.