Humans logo

Spyish

The Time and Mexico Mission

By Kevin ErvinPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
Like
Mexico City- Storyline Location

Time. What an interesting concept. It is strange laying here and thinking about the time. I am watching the clock tick by. It’s hot here. Of all the countries I’ve traveled to, this one is the hottest. I feel like I’m in some Cartel movie scene. The creaking ceiling fan, brown curtains, and loud city outside. Of course, Mexico city is better than Oklahoma City by a long shot. It’s time to go.

After reaching the lobby, I notice the faces of people around me. They are distracted and carry a somewhat grim demeanor. Except that blind old man. He is a darker complexion with white hair. More like silver. He just sits there. It almost seems as if he’s watching everyone else. I should talk to him sometime. He likely knows all the secrets about this place and the people.

“Do you finally have a question for me?” the old man murmurs.

I’m caught off guard. “What? I- No.”

He grins at me and says, “You look lost.”

I chuckle a bit. “So, you aren’t blind, old man?”

What he said next definitely gave me a dojo master vibe. “Your feet. You lost pace as you got closer and now you’re stopped here in front of me.”

I’m still chuckling a little. “Sorry. Umm, I was wondering... Do you live here?”

Laughing he replies, “Sure enough.”

I check my watch. “Oh okay. I’ve got to get going but I’ll see ya around.”

What a weird experience. Moving on... I have until 4:00 o’ clock p.m. to get down by the garden. Everything I’ve researched has led me to this point. Her letters and maps lead here. I have spent two years on this chase. “Where the Elephants are always green.” Those were her final words in this particular letter. The taxi drops me off at the Botanical garden sign.

Man, my hands are shaking and my body is cold sweating. What is this? My first mission? It is feeling like it. Great, here comes the elevated heart rate. After 20 minutes of searching, I find the Elephant ears…

I see someone a short distance from me. I mutter to myself, “Wait. Is that? There she is, beautiful.” Her cold black hair is just like I remember… I think?

“Aren’t you going to come closer?” she says with a subtle smile.

“Yeah. Hah, I’m just a little nervous. Callie, it has been a long time. I have worked tirelessly for this mome-” she steals a kiss that sends me to the moon.

With a sarcastic whisper she says, “That moment, Jay?”

We sit on a bench nearby. She insists on sitting to my right. That’s Strange. Anyway, this was unbelievable. I don’t think my brain translated any audible words for 10 minutes, literally. My thoughts were encapsulated by her piercing green eyes. Not to mention, she has clearly maintained a flawless physique.

She nudges me. “Jay, come back to earth.”

I reply, “Sorry, you’re stunning.”

She laughs then grabs my hand, “You are still easy on the eyes and flattering with your words.”

My thoughts spill out, “Callie, I have so many questions. I don’t know where to start.”

Weirdly she says, “And she will have plenty of time to talk later.”

That thoroughly confuses me. “Cal? Later?”

Suddenly, my head has a subtle ringing. Then my eyes start to readjust. Wait... She’s not Callie.

She squeezes my hand, “Listen to me, Jay. We are not safe here. Callie sent me.”

My spy training kicks back in. “The inaudible moment. The kiss was laced?”

Her, now, brown eyes locked onto mine. “Callie said you would fall for it.”

My smile returns. “I am close aren’t, I?”

She smirks back at me, “Nice kiss. Now, back to business. You need to return to your apartment.”

I throw my arm around her shoulder. “What is in my seat?”

She utters, “Taped to the bench is a contact. We have to make this look as natural as possible. Take the note and find him.”

We stand up and find a bathroom nearby.

She embraces me, “This is my exit. The contact will get you to her.”

There was no drawn out moment. Just like that, we parted ways. I return to the apartment complex. The sun has lowered a little. The center garden of the apartment building is much more tolerable. As expected, the old man is still in his seat. I think about spy movies during this part of the mission. They always rush the “in between” moments. For me, this is no time to rush off. It will spook the onlookers and make them call the “big bad guy".

I smile at the old man. “How has the day finished up?”

He nods in my direction. “Oh. Not too bad for an old guy.”

I motion to the bartender. “My usual and I’ll catch his too.”

“Did you see her?” Mutters the old timer.

“What?” I mumbled.

Now, I have to trace my every step in a matter of seconds. How could I not know this old man was in on it!? Wow! I am really getting rusty. It makes so much sense though. Just like a spy movie, there is always a handler of sorts around. I should’ve known.

“I know what you’re thinking and I am not a handler,” he smirks and continues, “My way is a little unorthodox. Used to be in the game like you. It took me awhile to figure you out. You are good but women have a way of unraveling us.”

My words were grasping for air. “You read me like a book.”

The old man laughs and says, “If you are as good as I believe, you’ll stay put for awhile. So, we might as well get to know each other better. Also, I have something for you. Take this book. This finishes your search.”

I pull out my paper from the bench. “So, the contact is you? Wasn’t much point of going through all that trouble.”

He replies, “Yes there was. You have to keep the dogs off your scent. Play the game and keep them busy.”

Pause... I have been here for months and this man is dropping some serious knowledge on me. This is exactly what I get for blowing right by him everyday. I suppose I should listen to what else he has for me.

The Old man takes a sip of his drink and gives me more news. “The best part... All you had to do was ask. I have watched you cruise up and down for awhile. Wondering if you would take a moment to pay attention.”

I can’t help but laugh at this point. “Let me get this straight. I didn’t have some divine waiting period to contact you and all that? I could’ve just showed up and asked you about this?”

He wipes the foam off his lip and gives the hardest hitting message of the night. “Callie is here. Has been all along. Room 2103. Her and I have breakfast everyday after you leave.”

My hands and voice are shaking. “What is the book for? Can I see her tonight? What-“

He interrupts me, “Slow your roll young blood. We still have a part to play. Hiding in plain sight. Use the book to complete the task.”

My thoughts are all over the place. “More tasks. This is redundant. Childish.”

Still laughing he says, “Okay, relax. There’s money inside. 20K. Use it for whatever you need. It’s yours. Callie will join you for breakfast tomorrow morning.”

Unbelievable. She has been under my nose this entire time. Not even at a distance. Literally, here. At the same place. Things are about to get interesting. My mind is racing through my memories and searching for glimpses of her over the past several months. Nothing. Clever girl.

I get my myself together for a reply. “Okay, thanks for the money. This little black book has everything I need?”

He leans back. “Sure. Callie says so. Well, it’s time for me to jump in bed. See ya around youngster.”

My heart settles. “Okay, I guess we will see each other tomorrow.”

What a night. My wife to be is at this apartment. The blind old man is my “not” handler. At this point, it’s time to take an evening stroll. My brain can’t go back to that bed and wonder for two more hours. I cannot wait to lay eyes on her. If it is her. I make my way further down the sidewalk. The garden area has an old concrete fountain with a stone bird in the middle. My hands are finally still enough to crack the little black book open..

There’s nothing inside.

I release my last breath of frustration. “You’ve got to be kidding me. There’s nothing in here. No plans.”

There is a folded page towards the back. She left me a note:

“You are so predictable. This is actually to benefit you. Your mind is always so focused on time and people. It caused you to miss a few details. Namely, your fiancee has been in the same apartment complex as you for months. Anyway, I love you and will see you in a few.”

With Love,

Callie

She is very clever. I need to prepare for what’s next. Gotta keep the goons off my scent and so on. Who could have predicted this day would turn out this way. Imagine how much faster I would have figured this out, if I just took a moment to slow down.

Time. What an interesting concept. People focus so much on it and miss the things right in front of them. I am definitely one of those people. What’s that cliche? Life is full of surprises..

“Hey love.”

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.