Humans logo

Spring

What does Spring Ahead mean to me

By Tina MillerPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
An actual picture I took of a path while walking

I hate Spring Forward. If we could stay on the same time all of the time, it wouldn’t bother me a bit. I don’t understand why we have to keep changing the time every fall and spring? It just upsets my schedule.

I am a morning person. I live to see the mornings. I wake up in the morning and the clocks are in the Fall-back time. It’s great! I get a cup of coffee every morning and sit and read or write during my quiet time with my cup of coffee. By the time I have to start getting ready for work, the sun is just starting to wake up and begins to take away the darkness. By the time I leave for work, the sun is starting to peak through and the air fills with excitement as I begin my way to work.

The weather is starting to get warmer, and the snow is melting off. Animals are starting to scurry around more outside. Birds are back and I can hear them as I go out to get into my car to head for work. I love the sound of the birds! In the air are birds again. I see birds everywhere along my way. The roads are much easier to pass. The days are getting warmer and the scenes are getting greener.

My neighbors horse!

My drive to work is so much better when I can see what is going on around me. There are wild animals I can see along my way. In the dark I am so afraid of an animal running out in front of me and it’s too late to stop because I couldn’t see it coming. But now the sun is starting to shine through, and I can see as far as the eyes can see. The sun is shining on the tops of the trees as I make my journey to work. It’s a beautiful sight. Everything is waking up and the view is beautiful.

My view of a sunset at my home

Now it’s time to take the clocks Spring ahead. I dread it. I am a nurse and I do not have weekends so the day we turn our clocks ahead, I don’t have time to get used to it. I have to go back to traveling in the dark again. And I have to get up even earlier to go to work. Granted I am up already, the point is that I have to get moving so much earlier. I dread the idea of having to get going even sooner than usual.

Not only does it mean that I have to get moving earlier, but it’s also time to Spring clean. Everything in my house gets a clean over. I go around and clean out closets and start trading my winter clothes out for my summer clothes. My drapes turn into curtains that let the sunshine in instead of trying to keep the cold wintery days out. Time to put the screens on the windows and get the vegetable garden ready. Summer projects begin their utilization. Landscaping and other outdoor projects begin to take place in my mind. Everything gets an uplift, including my own personal life.

Time only makes me realize that I have to sit back and examine my life. To see where I am headed. What do I need to correct or change in my ways to get more organized? Where is there more responsibility that I have to enforce upon myself. Where am I headed and what do I need to correct? Spring is a time for change. For me it is a time to get organized. To get ready for spending more time outside where the sun is so much warmer and inviting.

On the night before I have to change my clocks to the Spring ahead time, I go around and change all of my clocks one hour ahead. I used to change the clocks ahead a few days before the actual time, just to try to get used to it, but my husband had a fit. He never knew what time it really was, so I had to stop that habit. So, with the time change comes the sweet smell of summer that is coming upon us and it’s time to wake up earlier to see a later day.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Tina Miller

I have always written. Since I can remember I have kept a diary. Now I just want to show my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.