Humans logo

Sometimes, you need to be a NICE human.

try it.

By Tuesday DailyPublished 11 months ago 3 min read
Like

On Sunday, we ventured out to a local lake... there's a handful or so around these parts so we just went to one that we haven't been to in YEARS, like 16 years. We packed a picnic lunch and loaded up the trunk with the cooler and the metal detector. The weather was grey, rain was in the forecast but nothing major... some slight summer rain, and spotty showers at best. It might be a little wet but we're heading to a lake so that's kinda the point... to get wet.

Arriving at the lake, the rain has let up and we spot a picnic table close to the kayak dock. Grabbing the cooler, we set lunch up at the picnic table under a lovely tree. The rain is coming down lightly, almost a sprinkle... which was nice and didn't sog up the bread too badly. After we had finished eating, we drop the cooler off at the car and begin down the trail through the woods, to the lake. We make it maybe 100 yards before the rain picks up. It begins to pour like a full-fledged storm pour; minus the thunder and lightning.

NOPE. Not happening. Load it up.

We run, as best as we can. I will say the husband was running in sneakers much better than I was in my ugly slides.

Hopping in the car, I realize that my period has decided to be extra heavy while it was raining and I've leaked through and started getting red spots on my jean shorts. Fan-fucking-tastic.

We begin driving, looking for a bathroom, hoping for a shower room or something similar. We pass a couple of port-a-potties and... I just can't, unless I absolutely have to. We make it to the entrance/exit of the park with no sign of a real bathroom. Whelp, guess I HAVE to. Turning around and heading back into the park, we head back towards the port-a-potties. The husband notices that the park office has an "open" sign on it and suggests that I go in and ask if there's an actual bathroom.

I get out of the car and scurry in the pouring rain to the door of the office. Opening it, I see an older woman at the back watching the rain through a window, and a younger gentleman off to the right side at a drive-up window. Neither of them noticed I had entered the office. I walk up to the desk.

"Excuse me", I say to alert them of my presence.

This looks like a scene from a horror movie... woman soaked from head to toe, lost at the lake, asking for instructions from two 'distracted' park employees. *here we go* lol.

"Hi", I continue, "Is there a bathroom near here at all that I can use?"

As the older lady turns around, the younger man turns to me first and says, "Yeah, you go down this way", he points back into the lake, "And it'll be about a mile in."

The whole time he is telling me where this bathroom is, the older woman is standing in the back shaking her head "No".

I, kinda, interrupt the man to say, "Well, this is a lady thing bathroom issue and I'm starting to stain my shorts. Can I use the bathroom here?"

"Yes, through the curtain, and that way", the lady says as she points to the other side of the office.

"Thank you, I appreciate it."

As I was closing the door, I hear the older lady talking to the younger man.

"Sometimes, you just have to be a nice human."

I did what I needed to, dried the bathroom as best I could as I was drenched, thanked the park employees once again, and left.

But the point is... Sometimes, you have to be a nice human.

quoteshumanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

Tuesday Daily

I enjoy writing and have for a very long time. I think I have a knack for it, just no direction. I prefer to write erotica. Other styles to keep my brain fresh. Enjoy reading my work.

Twitter: @tuesday_daily

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.