Humans logo

Something More

Wanted To Prove Something To Myself

By Michelle HillPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
Like

I'm going back to my old job.

Now, don't get me wrong, I really love the job I have now. BUT a salesperson I am not.

Now let me explain.

I found a gym job. I would open the gym at 5am six days out of the week, it was a great gig. Would work from 4:30am to about at least 10:30am. Within a month one of my managers asked me if I wanted to become a manager and she thought I would be great at it. I told her I wanted to wait though, kind of get into the grove of things, but I honestly didn't want to do it.

Four months later I gave it some thought because all of my managers at the location I was at were telling me how the money was great, and that I definitely be great at it.

I saw an opening one day and I applied. Just took a shot. Not two hours later did I get a phone call to do an interview. I'll skip the interview process. Long story short I got hired. That's when I found out that a new General Manager got hired there as well. We both came from the same manager that hired us both.

So we had that person in common. It was great for a while. I was learning so much and I was starting to get the sales part down. But then, the power trip started with my GM. Or so that's what I felt like. I get it, he's been in sales for a long time.

He helped me a lot getting a lot of sales. But it started to become a numbers game for me. I don't like that. Once numbers is getting thrown into things, I get lost. I can't do that. I'm a manager first then, a sales person second. I just felt like I was forcing something on someone that didn't want it. If they don't want it, don't force it on them. That's what it felt like to me.

So I decided to leave, on good terms this time. My old job is taking me back with conditions of course. I also have a small blogging gig which I am happy about.

I guess I just wanted to prove to myself that I could do something more than just the restaurant industry. I am proud of myself that I was able to do that. Going back to my old job I'm excited for it, but I hope this time it's different.

Maybe I just needed a mental break from the restaurant industry for a while. But now that I'm going back I'll be happy again. But we shall see.

I took a risk, and I proved to myself I am capable of doing something that is out of my comfort zone. Don't be afraid to take that leap! Sometimes we all just need a mental break from things. That's okay, we just need to take a break and to reset. We have to put ourseleves first. We forget that.

Remember to take care of YOU first. Don't forget that you need some self care.

I also find this ironic and hilarious; I lost weight while working in the restaurant industry, because I had great routine. I'm working in the gym and I gained some weight back because of the stress I've been under. It's definitely ironic I think.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Hill

I'm 35 and taking each day one at a time. Writing is my passion and I'm also a huge movie buff. Music is another way I escape reality for a while. I live in VA, and I have traveled a bit. I hope to share my words with the world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.