Humans logo

Social Distancing is not the Solution

You stay safe when you are physically separated by at least six feet

By Debra LobelPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
simon-matzinger-HSy0QXIRafg-unsplash

The government and media keep stressing that we must observe social Distancing. That’s not true. We must physically distance ourselves from others, at least by six feet, during the COVID-19 crisis. But it is imperative to connect socially. It is a proven fact that human beings are social creatures and must interact with other people for positive mental health and emotional happiness. Thankfully, we live in a time when we can virtually connect with others in our lives, including neighbors, friends, family, and co-workers. We can even have conversations with people we don’t know and haven’t met in person, possibly making new friends.

________________________________________

I live in the San Francisco Bay Area. We began sheltering in place (SIP) on March 16th, a few days before California was put on SIP. On March 17th, the streets were empty. Stores were shuttered with signs saying they’ll be back in (physical) business when allowed to inform potential shoppers how to support them virtually online. Restaurants offered carryout and delivery. Parking was plentiful and free. By now, everyone understands how long six feet is. Even young children know how far to stay away from anyone other than the people in their homes.

But people are social. My neighbors sit outside their homes and talk to neighbors, but don’t hug, kiss, or shake hands. Or say hello as we pass each other from across the street or as we give people space to walk by. Sometimes we stop and talk, ask how they are and if they need anything.

The neighborhood businesses that are allowed to stay open have designated six feet markings inside and outside their stores to help people know where they should stand while waiting to get into the store or checkout. The long lines of shoppers have shrunk and people are not waiting for hours to get out of the store. Carts and hand baskets are sanitized by employees wearing gloves and/or masks. For smaller stores, only a limited number of people are allowed to shop at a time. There are times when only senior citizens may enter the store.

We can socialize while staying physically distant. It is our new normal.

I used to be a timid person who didn’t like to talk to people but have grown into someone who loves social contact. I work in a restaurant. One of my favorite benefits is talking to people, including neighbors, regular customers, and people just discovering us. I miss the contact but have figured out other ways to connect with people.

There is always social media, email, phone calls, Skype, Hangouts, Zoom, and another way to meet online. My family even started an online book club. My granddaughter stays in touch with her friends for eight to twelve hours a day by texting or web meetings. I became friendly with a woman whom I met online. We decided to meet in person and go to the movies after the current crisis was over. I contacted the owner of the theater, and he promised to let me know when the theater opens.

________________________________________

Yesterday as I was walking to the store, my phone blasted a Public Safety Alert. It said the shelter in place would be extended until May 3rd. I was saddened but not surprised. Being retired I’m used to keeping myself busy during the day reading, writing, studying and being a mom as I look forward to my evening shifts. I would like to go back to work. I miss my co-workers and talking to the customers but I’d rather we are all safe, staying physically distant while socializing.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Debra Lobel

Author, writer, fan of legacy and modern technology, and dedicated family caregiver

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.