Humans logo

So you Didn't make the final Cast

Missing out on a prime theater production

By Kevin RothlisbergerPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
So you Didn't make the final Cast
Photo by DJ Paine on Unsplash

Well hello!

It's been way too long since I have added anything to my blog collection of theatre themed blogs. So here we go.

So since I have written last, I didn't end up going to Weber State. I didn't end up studying theatre. I got married to my lovely wife Lashele and we now live in Eagle Mountain, UT. The last theatre production I was involved with was a community theater production of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers. I played the role of a suitor. I enjoyed it, but I also was tossed in very late as I filled in for someone that left the production. Being added so late meant I didn't get to make connections to other cast members.

After experiencing so much success with auditions in a much smaller pond (New Mexico), it can be hard to get that confidence back up after not getting a call back after several different auditions in a larger pond (Utah). I saw that my dream theatre, Hales Centre Theatre in Utah, was holding auditions for my dream show, Les Misérables. With so much encouragement from my wife, I decided I'd think about auditioning.

It ate away at me. This thought of auditioning again. Could I handle not getting another call back? Would it be the same experience and same unity I have experienced with previous productions I've been a part of? Would I be able to make it work if I did get apart?

It's hard to be an adult and work full time hours, and then go to rehearsal. You miss out on time with your family. You sacrifice. So what did I do 3 weeks ago? I auditioned for Les Misérables at Hale Centre Theatre. It was a one of a kind audition where you were allowed to sing a song from the production as your audition. This was MY chance! There wasn't going to be any call backs. This audition was, for all intents and purposes, a call back. I had the piano side background music as well as my wife to record me. That's right, the audition was over a YouTube video submission. I was excited!

The hard part about auditioning over video is you don't know when the director and casting crew will see it. So for days I would check my views on the YouTube video I sent. Start of my work day? Check the views. Any lull in helping people at work? Check the views. Finally, one day I saw there were 4 views! The video itself was 1.35 long, and each view only lasted 43 seconds or so. nothing too long.

Needless to say, the final cast list was posted today on Facebook. And the only place my name appeared was in the comments, congratulating the castmates on being cast into such a quality production.

I've always tried to go see any production I audition for, but with COVID-19 and the limited amount of seats that the theatre can provide, the tickets are already sold out for the production. If you haven't heard of the Hales Centre Theatre in Utah, you should check them out. There are 2 locations, one in Orem, Utah and another in Sandy, Utah. The Sandy location has all of the bells and whistles and experience that you hope to have at a professional theatre company. It's a great time and the stages are all state of the art, with talent on stage and behind the scenes to boot. It's really not hard to understand why my dream is to perform there.

I guess what I'm saying is, I'm grateful I auditioned for that show. I'm grateful that I had the chance to consider theatre production opportunities during this pandemic. I still believe theatre has a power to bind us as a people. To help us all feel included. To be a part of telling a story is one of the most gracious things I have felt in this mortal experience.

I can't wait to write more about my experiences! Have a happy new year! And please share this blog with a friend!

art
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Rothlisberger

An aspiring actor from Farmington, NM writing a blog about theatre. Currently living in Eagle Mountain, UT. If I happen to make a dollar or two while doing so, so be it. Thanks for reading! Break a leg!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.