Education logo

Auditions at Weber State

Being the oldest in the room, doesn't make you the most experienced.

By Kevin RothlisbergerPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
Gaining admittance to Weber State was the first step.

An absurd thing occurred this last weekend. A 28 year-old man auditioned for musical theatre with a bunch of 17-20-year-olds. He was confused for a teacher at least once. He was the only one that didn't have a parent that had to be asked to leave. He was certainly the only one that hadn't graduated high school in the 2010s. He also drove the farthest distance to get to said audition (452 miles). This man was me, and I wouldn't trade the experience for the world. I now await to hear back about my audition and to see if I was selected for a tuition waiver that would pay for my classes in full. In the audition, I learned that being the oldest doesn't always make you the most experienced, that sometimes being the last one in line can be a good thing and I'll never regret chasing my passion.

As I arrived for my audition, I certainly expected to be the oldest one there. I severely underestimated by how much. Some of these students auditioning were ten years younger than I. They were bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. With no experience living on their own, or paying bills. Perhaps they haven't even experienced being homesick for the first time. None of that was taken into account. They were great actors. They had great technique and had been trained very, very well. After analyzing their talent, I knew that I'd have to do my very best. In performing for local theatrical productions in Farmington, NM, I've worked with some individuals that fall in this category. I've always tried to learn from them as best I can, and also be an example as best I can. It's a mutual relationship that can only be acquired by someone who is open to being a learner. To be "teachable" or "coachable" or "direct-able." I saw youngsters who were very confident in their talents, which came across as arrogance. While I'm a firm believer in being you and being true to yourself, you can still do that and be pleasant to be around or work with.

After a brief welcome from the theatre dept. staff, we were taken to a room with several chairs, a long table, and a piano. I sat in the place where I thought I'd get to go first. Get it out of the way, if you will. As everyone got settled, and parents were dismissed, they started the auditions from the opposite side of the room. It was clear that I'd go last. I sat and cheered on the other students. There were great monologues and songs presented. I slowly became grateful that I got to go last. The night before, I was able to go to Hales Center Theatre in Sand, UT with my girlfriend to watch the Hunchback of Notre Dame. It was a phenomenal production that further encouraged and motivated me for my audition the next day. I thought about the "home-grown" Utah talent that was in the production at Hales Center, and how moving to Utah would be a helpful thing for me growing and pursuing my passion in theatre. My turn came. I sang "Love Walked In," and "Leaning on a Lamp" for my contrasting songs and Looking Again by Charles Evered for my monologue. I feel confident in the material I presented and anxiously await more news on if I will be awarded a scholarship or two.

Four hundred and fifty-two miles. From the door of my home, to Ogden, UT, I traveled 452 miles for this audition. To a place where I didn't know anyone. A place that felt so warm. A place where I could clearly envision myself growing, learning, and performing. I encourage so many friends to pursue what they're passionate about. To not let fear overcome their faith. That scary things encourage growth. I know find myself in that boat. Where fear of the unknown could keep me in my bubble. This bubble of people I love and have grown with would stay behind so I could pursue new things. It's a new mountain to climb, and my bag is all packed. I have my walking stick in hand with my hiking boots on, and a microphone taped to my face.

Weber State University is a place I hope to call home for the next several years. So for all those that have auditions for schools or are considering auditioning for schools, I say go for it. It's an opportunity that you'll never forget.

college
Like

About the Creator

Kevin Rothlisberger

An aspiring actor from Farmington, NM writing a blog about theatre. Currently living in Eagle Mountain, UT. If I happen to make a dollar or two while doing so, so be it. Thanks for reading! Break a leg!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.