Humans logo

Snow Angel

No Footprints Left

By Scarlett PricePublished 4 years ago 5 min read
Like
Toledoblade photo credit

I entered a contest with Reedsy Blog and they gave this prompt and this was my entry piece.

“You go for a walk in fresh snow. Suddenly you realize you're not leaving any footprints.”

Dani and Chris have been dating two summers back. They met when her parents needed help with keeping their land and Chris answered that call. Now seventeen both seniors. It’s the last class of the day. Dani fell asleep drifting off to a winter wonderland behind her parents farmhouse. It’s five miles from the pond they play at during the summer and another five miles from the four lane where she gets dropped off from the bus.

Her parents own ten acres of flat land and it’s breathtaking when the fresh snow lays softly covering everything in sight. Trees look like like they have been sprinkled with powdered sugar and as far as the eye can see. It’s something of such sparkle when the sun reflects off it all. Chris got permission to come over for a few hours to spend with Dani so they get off the bus and with such glee they run in the snow. Finally all giddy they get time alone. Chasing each other and throwing snowballs. Leaving footprints and he tackles her in the snow. It’s in the low 30s and with a grin on his face says, “I’ll keep you warm”

Dani says, “Chris, stop with your games. I bet the pond is froze over and I can finally ice skate like a princess.”

Chris in a reluctant tone, “I’m unsure about it being cold enough to freeze over.”

Come on Chris, don’t make your girlfriend all sad with a pouty face she says.

They head toward the pond. Which is about ten feet deep and 20 feet wide.

Chris is tall 5’8 and slightly built with brown hair and almond brown eyes. He’s wearing a brown carhartt jacket and jeans.

Dani has long auburn hair, hazel brown eyes, a puffy blue jacket and jeans.

They have no ice skates but Dani is care free and brave at heart. She tells Chris, “I’ll go first. It will be okay.”

Chris, tries pleading to let him try it out first but Dani is anxious and full of adventure.

Chris edges out some onto to the pond feeling his sneakers slide but cautiously stays toward the ground.

Dani is much further out. A glimmering smile on her face she shrieks with joy, “Chris this is so much fun.” Watch me to do a twirl like those figure skaters do.

Dani bravely lifts herself up in the air and twirls a complete spin and as she comes for a land her knees buckle some and almost crashes. She yelled, “I did it”

Chris smiling ear to ear knowing how happy she is says, “Baby, I saw. You did a great job.” How about we go build a snowman or get out of this cold.

Dani doesn’t want to leave because she wants Chris to spin with her but noticed the ice is cracking.

Chris, baby the ice is cracking she says frantically.

Chris is a calm voice says, “Dani, stay calm the more weight we shift on this ice the more it’s going to break. Trust me baby, I’m going to get you out.

Dani is panicking and terrified and begging Chris to get her.

He’s trying to think of how he can get to her and fast.

Dani yells, “Chris it’s giving way I can feel it. I’m going to run to you.”

Baby, I don’t think it’s a good idea.

She dead sprints and her arms reaching to him and he’s reaching out to her and she drops into the icy cold water.

She grabs for anything and holds onto a piece of ice. “Chris please help me”, she mumbles as she is freezing in this water.

Chris is too far from her. He has to run for help or find a long stick to let her reach on to. He tells her, “Dani, be brave for me I have to get you help we are against time. Hold on baby.”

The moment he turns his back the water and her clothes weighed her down and pulled her under. Chris is running for help as fast as he can to the four lane flagging down anyone.

People coming to help and Chris is frantic.

Dani looks at him and says, “Darling, I made it out. I’m okay.” Why can’t you see me?”

What’s going on? Why is everyone going to the pond? I made it out says, Dani.

She sees everyone’s footprints but not hers. No one can see her. She goes back to the pond and laid amongst the snow like an angel, ice blue is Dani. Everyone is mourning.

Chris said, “Dani, I loved you baby, I’m so sorry. I tried.”

Dani, “Wake up young lady. Did you not rest last night?”

I’m sorry, Mrs. Damron. It won’t happen again.

The bell rings and class is over.

She catches up with Chris and takes the bus to her place for them to hang out. She stops him and tells him it feels like deje vu. That she had a horrible dream. He kisses her forehead and says baby it’s only a bad dream. Don’t worry about it. Let’s go have fun.

She brushes it off and they play in the snow. They see the pond and he reminds her of how she always wanted to figure skate. She said excitedly let’s go.

He’s the cautious one and she is the fearless one.

She keeps thinking about her dream and how it all seems familiar. She’s trying to enjoy her time with Chris. She gets on the ice and does her twirl she always wanted to try. When she lands the ice breaks. Her heart sinks and she knows it wasn’t a dream.

She yells to Chris, “Baby, the ice is breaking and it wasn’t a dream. I’m scared to death.”

Chris tries to calm her but she wants to be safe in his arms. She ignores all his pleas and words of caution. She thinks to herself, if I run faster I will make it to him.

Chris frantically and calmly says, baby I’m going to get you out. We are against time. Just hold on for me.

As he starts to run for help Dani yells out, “I love you Chris” as she slipped under.

It wasn’t deje vu after all.

fact or fiction
Like

About the Creator

Scarlett Price

I am a mom, and a domestic violence survivor. I love writing, reading, yoga, cake decorating and baking. I recently took up belly dancing. Writing is my passion and healing. Stay positive!

https://linktr.ee/mullinscasey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.