Humans logo

Small Acts of Kindness.

a storie

By Overnight nightPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Small Acts of Kindness.
Photo by Eugene Chystiakov on Unsplash

Graduations, marriages, promotions, and other important occasions are the big moments that make up life. However, the biggest influences on our lives frequently come from the little things. Even though they may be brief and seem insignificant, these moments have a significant impact on our attitudes, emotions, and behavior.

An incident where I spoke to a complete stranger on the train had a significant impact on my life. When a woman sat down next to me, she was staring out the window and lost in her own thoughts as I was driving to work. I continued to look out the window after we exchanged courteous nods.

But then she began conversing with me. She inquired about my day and then we began to converse about the weather and other lighthearted subjects. The conversation was enjoyable, but it wasn't particularly unusual. However, as we spoke, I noticed a change in how I was feeling.

I know I can tell you're a kind person,

the woman said as we got closer to my stop. Continue extending kindness to everyone. She then stood up and walked out of the train.

By Marcos Paulo Prado on Unsplash

Even though it was a brief instance, I was greatly affected by it. Throughout the rest of the day, I found myself reflecting on the woman's encouraging words whenever I felt stressed or overburdened. Her words served as a powerful reminder of the impact that even small acts of kindness can have on others.

I've made an effort to be more aware of the effect that my words and actions have on other people ever since that incident on the train. Even in little ways, I've tried to be kinder and more compassionate. I've discovered that spending time interacting with people, even total strangers, makes me feel happier and more a part of the world.

Even though they frequently go unnoticed, the little things in life frequently have the greatest capacity for growth and meaning. Whether it be a kind word from a total stranger, a breathtaking sunset, or a fleeting moment of intimacy with someone we love, these small moments serve to remind us of the wonder and complexity of life. They remind us to take it easy, live in the present, and appreciate our surroundings.

It's simple to lose sight of the significance of these little moments in a world that frequently feels overwhelming and stressful. We often neglect to stop and notice the beauty all around us because we are so preoccupied with achieving our objectives and being productive. But when we do take the time, we frequently discover that these little things can bring us more happiness and fulfillment than we could have ever imagined.

Consider stopping for a moment and taking a look around you the next time you find yourself rushing through your day. I realized that I had been feeling anxious and stressed about work, but that this conversation had helped to ease some of that tension. Who knows what small moments of connection and joy might be waiting just around the corner.

By Clark Tibbs on Unsplash

As a result, it's critical to keep in mind that even the smallest life events can have a significant impact on our thoughts, feelings, and behaviors. These small moments serve to remind us of the wonder and complexity of life, whether it be through a conversation with a complete stranger, a stunning sunset, or a brief moment of intimacy with a loved one. They serve as a reminder to take it easy, be in the moment, and value our surroundings.

It's simple to lose sight of the significance of these small moments in the clamor of daily life. However, we frequently discover that they bring us more happiness and fulfillment than we ever imagined when we take the time to appreciate them.

So let's try to pay more attention to the little things in life. Let's make the effort to get to know one another, recognize the beauty in our surroundings, and enjoy the ordinary moments that make up our lives. Because these insignificant events mold us into the people we are and make life worthwhile.

humanityadvice
1

About the Creator

Overnight night

I am a software developer who likes poetry and art enthusiast so I leave a little of my ideas here

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.