Humans logo

Small act of kindness leads to

A changed life.

By Gabriela MarcialPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

It was a beautiful morning as my husband and I walked to jack in the box. We had just come from a hotel that we stood the night. We enjoyed walking everywhere even though it was really hot outside. We enter jack in the box and started ordering our breakfast. We got the 2 for 4 dollars. But see we bought an extra one because see my husband can eat. I don’t know if it’s a man thing but he can eat a lot. Well as we were enjoying our breakfast with endless conversations. A nice lady comes in and sits down at a booth before us and starts falling asleep. I had noticed her because when she came in she seemed so tired and drained. I just had this feeling to keep an eye on her. My husband pulled my attention for a moment and asked what I was staring at. I explained I was staring at the young lady in the booth before us. I also said that I just had a feeling to keep an eye on her. He did ask me perhaps we should talk to her? I told him she’s asleep. I know our day wasn’t supposed to stay at jack in the box but an hour passes by and she is still asleep. A cashier comes up to her and tells her she needs to buy something to stay in the restaurant. Now I understand where they come from but I feel like that’s not the right way to approach someone. The young lady explained that she isn’t feeling well and that she was pregnant. I immediately got up and when I did my husband stared at me as I scared him with the way I got up. I went to the cashier and told her “I want to buy this young lady her food”.

“Okay, I will take the order at the register”. She said kindly. I bought the lady I big drink because you wouldn’t believe me but it was really hot and a pregnant woman can get dehydrated and pass out. I know from experience. I also bought the young lady the 2 for 4 dollars but instead of it being 2 I bought 4 for 8 dollars and 66 cents and 2 hashbrowns. As I am waiting for her order I get her a drink from the fountain drink. It was raspberry pomegranate vitamin water. I bring it to the young lady and she kindly says “thank you so much. I was scared to ask for help. I have been starving for two days”. “How many weeks are you pregnant?” I asked her. “I am 22 weeks pregnant.” She says while drinking her drink quickly. I told her that her food should be out in a bit and that I would get it for her so that she could stay seated.

I asked her if she had a place to stay and she told me she didn’t. I told her there is a shelter for women she should go to because her health is very important for the baby to keep growing. “Order number 19” the young man calls out. I get up and get the young lady’s food for her. My husband was staring at me signaling me he was going to the restroom as I was taking the lady’s food to her and I quickly nodded my head toward him. I approached the lady with her food and sat down as she begins to unwrap her food and eat quickly. I told her to slow down because she could get a stomach ache for eating too fast. “I didn’t get your name”. I said to the lady. “My name is Daysha.” She said with a smile. “My name is Gabriella,” I say while watching her eat. I look up the women’s shelter on my phone for her as she is enjoying her meal. I write down the name and address for her and handed it to her. I wrote down the directions as well on how to get there. My husband came from the bathroom and sat right next to me in her table booth. She finished her first two sandwiches and a bag of hash browns and saved the other two sandwiches for later. She said, “thank you I don’t know how I will ever repay you, and may God bless your heart”. Oh, it’s no problem at all, this is what we do we help people we see in need even if we don’t have enough we figure it out. But promise me you pay it forward”. I say with a gentle smile on my face. I got up and explained to the lady I had to go home now and I gave her 20 dollars even though it wasn’t enough. I still gave her it and told her to use the bus and not to walk and to promise me that she would take care of the baby for me and not to give up even though there are hard times. She nodded and smiled saying how much she appreciated us. “May God bless you and the baby, please take it easy”. I said looking at her as she started to cry. I hugged her and told her to never give up. My husband and I left the restaurant as she waved us off and started walking home.

13 months later we meet again. I see her in a nice dress suit. We bump into each other at the same jack in the box. As I was ordering she came up and told the cashier that she was paying for my food. I told her she didn’t have to but she insisted and said no I appreciate everything you have done and I want to repay you and show gratitude. Because it was you that helped me get to where I am today and help me have my baby here. I hugged her and said thank you.

She had a boy and his name was Dominic.

Daysha because a businesswoman and has everything together. Since my one act of kindness, I helped that one person become what she is today. Now I hear that she is getting married and having a baby girl.

That one act of kindness can lead to a changed life.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Gabriela Marcial

Hi I am a mother, wife and love to write and express what life has been for me. Thank you guys for your time and reads I appreciate you guys, I’m very caring and humorous.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.