Humans logo

Sip on Fate

From a date to a soulmate

By T.MonetPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like
Sip on Fate
Photo by Lefteris kallergis on Unsplash

What a morning it's been—I'm over this week and looking forward to the weekend. Dating, why do I try? This time I told myself I'd step out of my comfort zone and give dating a try. His name is Matt.

He is funny and loves to talk for hours about music. His voice is so captivating. I didn't want to tell him how attracted I am to his voice, but I did compliment him more than once. Not sure if he caught on, but I believe he did. His random text messages have turned into brief voice messages.

He's already causing endless butterflies. I decided to share the new information about my love life to close friends. In their opinion, I'm falling too quickly for the small things. I don't think there's anything small about showing someone you care, and they're on your mind. What I didn't share is he's a man of prestige. Mainly, Matt usually focused on his businesses; for him to be putting any time into communicating with me is appreciated. I'm surprised we even crossed each other's path on an early Saturday morning jog around the park. As I decided to take a breath on the bleachers, he came and sat at the opposite end and ask me my name. The conversation went on briefly. Matt informed me he is new to the city. Also, he was looking to meet new people. Matt mentioned seeing me before at the park and a few other local places. I was a little shocked he was even talking to me. We exchanged contact information and agreed to keep in touch. Our first conversations went until the sun came up. It turns out we're both single and have a lot in common. We communicated during his time traveling on business. Getting to know each other was turning out to be a good idea.

Matt went to India for a few months and said he wanted to start dating when he returned to the states.

Last Friday, he invited me to a social event. The launching of his new sports lounge was our first official date. It's the first date I've been on since being single. He asked me to come business casual and have on some comfortable shoes. It seemed like a dream come true.

It's a quarter to 6, and the chauffeur will be here at 6 o'clock. Something about this feels right. Usually, I allow my intuition to set my vibes. Since we first spoke, I've felt positive vibes. Matt is always in high spirits and chill. His laid-back tone of voice and the way he mentions people in his personal life is fantastic. I'm open to the endless possibilities of a future for us. The past didn't matter to him, and he understood I didn't want to speak on it. Not much is left to disclose, and I'm confident spending time with each other will be beneficial. He's been hinting at wanting to know why I'm coy and what made me this way? He senses the guard I've created and how I keep my distance at times. Once I didn't return his calls or answer his messages for a couple of days. OMG- that was me sparking his interest. He showed up at the park and made sure I knew that wasn't the best way to handle him. He expressed his feelings of wanting me to stay open with him. I made a promise of no more ghosting, and I'll be more relaxed. Matt told me from the start I'm a lifelong friend no matter what.

So excited for his new business, I purchased him a small gift for his new office. I hope he likes it. It's a candle made from his favorite fragrance. I'm going to say a prayer and keep the faith everything works out. I arrived at The Sport's House, and it's lit. The establishment was immaculate with an upscale ambiance. I was greeted at the door by him. He said, "Welcome VP" to our new sports lounge. I paused for a moment, thinking he was joking. He showed me around and brought me to the table with a place card that read my name and under was title VP. I'm even more amused. He assured me he would explain more over dinner. Matt gave a memorable welcoming speech during his toast. After, Matt came over to me and whispered it's time to go.

He took my hand and led me to the car waiting for us. On our way to dinner and he kept telling me how glad he was I made it. I complimented him on the sports lounge and thanked him for the invite. We arrived at a local 5-star steakhouse. He ordered me a glass of his Merlot. He insisted I try his new wine called Calm. At first sip, I was genuinely impressed. Our main course consisted of Pan-Seared Sea Bass, Herb Crusted Tomahawk Steak, and Oyster Rockefeller with assorted side dishes. We shared an array of spectacular desserts. Matt remembered I love desserts and placed a special request days before. How amazing? During dinner, he offered me the VP position. As we spoke more about the position, he assured me I was more than qualified, and it would make him truly happy if I agreed.

As we walked to the car, he confirmed for us to meet at The Sport's Lounge tomorrow afternoon for lunch. I would join him for a tasting and my first day as the VP. Matt mentioned this is a chance to spend more time together, and he'll walk me through the duties expected of the position. Jokingly I replied, "That sounds like a second date." He laughed and remarked, it's a date at the office.

The exact reason why I said, too good to be true.

I happened to be looking for something new, and he showed up at a perfect time.

We ended the night with sincere salutations. He noted for me to text him when I arrived home safely. I replied certainly. Upon arriving home, I sent him a text with gratitude. The morning came, and I felt superb. My attire again was business casual. As I got ready to walk out the door, I received a text message from Matt. The text read, "Don't bother picking up my regular morning latte; an order is on the way. I was ecstatic. Arriving at the sports lounge, we briefly greeted and proceeded to the back offices. Throughout the building, there was high-tech security and state-of-the-art equipment. Matt showed me all of the establishment and its functions. He assured me that things would get hectic. I will always count on the team to assist.

The head chef prepared a tasting that consisted of the lounge's menu items. Most of the menu items were quick bites with a healthy flare. We all agreed everything was delicious and gave our compliments to the chef.

After a long day and taking in all the information, I was exhausted. I received my schedule as we all left for the evening. Later that night, we spoke for a few hours. He said soon we'll have to take some business trips together. He expressed wanting me to be a part of many business ventures. Precisely what I've been praying for and shared with him how I wanted to travel more and needed a significant reason other than leisure. Every day we grew closer and started dating regularly for about a year. We became comfortable with each other and moved into a new home together.

For the first time, I've felt an abundance of love and respect from a significant other. Receiving the love I was willing to give. I'm so thankful for him. There's nothing more valuable than meeting someone who brings out the best in you. He said that's what he admired about me, and I found the same from him. Later we married at our estate with family and close friends. It's all God's plan. We started from a date to a soulmate.

dating
Like

About the Creator

T.Monet

Hello, I’m Mom. That’s the most important name to me. That’s my title and greatest passion. I also love to write. Here, I share with you some of my thoughts of life. Some are random thoughts past and present mixed with my deepest desires.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.