Petlife logo

Lost In The Owl’s Eyes

My unique owl discovery.

By T.MonetPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Lost In The Owl’s Eyes
Photo by James Wainscoat on Unsplash

Owls were always interesting to me. Once I started to read about owls. I discovered how meaningful an owl was to me. The stories below describe my most intimate owl experiences. Getting lost in the eyes and how I developed a love for such a miraculous bird.

It seemed as the painting of this owl was taking me places I’ve never been before. Capturing vivid images through the eyes of the owl was truly mesmerizing. We’ll embark on an imaginary journey through my many visions of owls.

A Barn Owl

Taking flight through the night

I’m mobbed with love

And fortuitous

Silent lands

Through the motherland

Kindred to the Barn Owl

I wanted to

Fly free nonstop

Bi Coastal

Pacific Islands

Soar in the sun

God’s plan for me to

Visit the Holy Mecca

Strength and survival

Non endangered

My wings stronger

Built to last longer

Nocturnal

until I take flight

Elevate

I’m simpatico to a Barn Owl

From the twist

And turns of the sight

Searching for prey emotionless

Lay nest without rest

I’m territorial by right

I own the night

mate as I made

As the wind blows

Upon A Rose

I suppose

A refined beak

Will reach me to

elevate at peak

A resilient species. Stands with grace and delicacy by design. One with great mystery and nobility. It’s coated with warm soothing shades. Piercing eyes widened with prestigious quartz. Movements are particularly calculated with full intensity. Often not spotted because of it’s cleverly intentions.

How do you not fall in love with such a beautiful creation?

Through the trees and onto the sturdy branches are graced with the presence of many owls. If your lucky enough, you might catch an eye view of one flying by. Gazing through the sky and immersed by the beauty. The eyes have locked on you before you get a slight chance at glance.

I’ve never noticed one before it has sighted me . I wonder of the owl’s interpretation when it sees me? Even though it’s a rare sight, you’ll be delighted at the encounter.

One night tracing through the backwoods on the bed of a truck, I spotted an owl. Pitch black night and no light within miles. I was carrying a small flashlight. Shining the light in the direction of the open fields, waiting for an amazing glimpse. Once the truck stopped in front of a giant tree. On the tree’s longest branch an owl sat. The eyes were as illuminated lights in the dark. Not much of it’s body was visible, but the eyes were as spotlights. Somewhat terrified and intrigued at the sight. I remained calm and valiant enough to not startle the experience.

My grandmother had a Willow tree outside of her home. The shrubs were full and hung low. She told me there was an owl that lived in the tree. I had to see for myself. Immediately, I was curious about the owl and knew it was a sight to see. So I went underneath all the shrubs to explore. Sure enough, I spotted the owl and it’s nest. That’s as close as I’ve been to a real owl. It was so exciting. Every summer I went to visit my grandmother, I had to visit the owl.

Even during slumber, I’ve had dreams of owls. Once I dreamed off a small town. This town was made of cobblestone roads lined with lamplights. Each lamplight had an owl that sat on the rod of the post. There must have been hundreds. You could hear them as you walked down the road. It was definitely owl territory. A beautiful sight to see their wings open as one takes flight. The backdrop of the sunset as the owl flies on a quest to another destination.

One evening I bought a ticket to experience a play on the famous owl “Oli”. “The Golden Owl” was the title of the play. This particular story was based on an owl who became famous for it’s ability to sing. No one had ever heard of an owl that was able to harmonize nor sing. His melodies and lyrics were made eloquently. His songs were of love , affection, and happiness. The music was composed with jazz and earth sounds. Oli had charming characteristics and an incredible voice. Oli sat on the end of a grand piano and sang his beautifully written songs. After every number, the crowd would give him a standing ovation.

The Golden Owl was a well credited musical experience.

Stay attentive to the dark skies, you might see one fly by. The wingspan will captivate you. The image is one you will definitely remember forever.

Lost in the eyes of the owl.

literature
Like

About the Creator

T.Monet

Hello, I’m Mom. That’s the most important name to me. That’s my title and greatest passion. I also love to write. Here, I share with you some of my thoughts of life. Some are random thoughts past and present mixed with my deepest desires.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.