Humans logo

Simply KT Retreat

Making cushions at a craft retreat.

By Louise A BarrettPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have just spent the last two days at the Simply KT Retreat, which is a crafting retreat in Uralla, NSW, Australia to raise money for Ronald McDonald House in Tamworth.

The retreat has been run by a family friend every year, except 2020 due to COVID. This was the first time I was invited so I wasn’t sure what to expect.

I started sewing as an 8 month pregnant soon to be single mother watching Gilmore Girls, I decided I wanted to be Lorelai Gilmore. Which of course meant learning to sew so I could make my daughters clothes. I tried a maternity pillow which didn't quite work, then a cute little dress and finally a cute little sloth cushion which came out so great I knew I needed to make more.

So before we headed to the retreat Friday afternoon, I went to my local craft store and spent way too much money on some gorgeous fabrics. I packed my sewing machine, fabric, scissors and a few other bits and pieces, ready to get stuck in.

The retreat started Friday morning and we showed up that afternoon. We were set up in a local hall with groups of six tables put together for social distancing, really it just gave us more room to spread out and make a mess. I brought my sewing machine and my mum brought her knitting, but there were people making cards, scrapbooking, quilting and more.

Once we got there we got set up and spent the next four hours crafting and chatting we didn’t go home till about 11 pm, others had been there since 7 am and were still going when we left.

It was a great opportunity to get some constructive criticism as well as discuss setting up and promoting a craft business. We talked about social media and the pros and cons of Tiktok. Despite all of the chatting, I finished the night with a completed cushion, which I got a lot of compliments on.

The second day we got there at 11 am and it was an action-packed day. We brought my daughter and I chases her around while checking out all the other projects and learning a few tricks of the quilting trade. Once the little one went to the grandad's for babysitting, we got stuck into making some more cushions. Until we got distracted by smoke coming out of someone else’s sewing machine. Which was taken outside straight away in case it caught fire.

Not long after another family friend came over to show us his free stitched quilted shamrock, just as I was finishing up the cording on the second pillow. His quilt looked amazing and he was impressed by my cording. Which was a bit of a feather in my metaphorical cap.

After doing more sewing in one day than I've ever done in my life, I decided to take a little break and update my socials.

Updated Facebook (www.facebook.com/rosielousplace/), Updated Instagram (www.instagram.com/rosielousplace/), Set Up Pinterest (https://www.pinterest.com.au/rosielousplace/_created/).

Then we went out, organised dinner and got back into crafting.

After a while, we started making mistakes, my mum had frogged her knitting 7 or 8 times and I had made my cording too short, so we decided it was time to go home.

While the party carried on late into the night and started up again this morning, we decided to stay home today as we have a long drive home.

Its almost a week later and I have now finally finished the last pillow I'd started during the retreat which is all ready to photograph and put on our website!

We had a great time with a lot of great people and learned a lot. It was such a great experience and I'm already excited for next year!

If you want to keep up with what I'm sewing or you want to buy one of the above cushions, please visit our website and socials:

Website - www.rosielousplace.com

Facebook - www.facebook.com/rosielousplace/

Instagram - www.instagram.com/rosielousplace/

Pinterest - https://www.pinterest.com.au/rosielousplace/_created/

diy
Like

About the Creator

Louise A Barrett

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.