Humans logo

Simplicity Is the Key to a Happy Life

Two ways you make your life more complicated than it has to be

By Kristina SegarraPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Simplicity Is the Key to a Happy Life
Photo by Becca Tapert on Unsplash

“Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.”

— Confucius

As I pause and think about this quote, I realize how much modern life has brought complexity to our lives. Too many people are making their lives more complicated than it has to be, adding more stress to their lives.

They overcomplicate things, overthink their decisions, and surround themselves with too many choices. These are the roadblocks that prevent them from reaching a state of happiness.

The truth is, life is already stressful enough. Why do we add additional stress to it?

The reason your life is complicated is that you’ve made it that way.

You’ve crossed that golden threshold of happiness and stepped into a complex, chaotic existence. If you go in the opposite direction, you’ll realize that living a simple life is the key to a happy life. You can step on a journey of bliss any time, but only if you choose to do so.

The key to a happy life is living a simple life.

Here are two ways we make our lives more complicated.

We overthink our decisions

Often, we spend too much time making a simple decision. From decisions involving what foods to eat, what clothes to wear, and what items to purchase. The list goes on and on.

Take shopping, for example. When I was younger, I used to spend hours shopping in the store, and it was a mind-boggling experience. I spent too much time trying to decide what item to choose and for what price. Shopping quickly turned from a pleasant activity to a nerve-racking experience.

After I’ve had kids, though, I realized I can’t spend so much of my time on my shopping trips. Now every time I shop, I allow myself a certain amount of time to decide on which items to buy. If I can’t decide quickly, I just randomly choose what I think will be the best to meet my needs.

I realized that not spending too much time on simple decisions improved the quality of my life tremendously. Now I can focus more on activities and hobbies I enjoy the most, which are music, gardening, cooking, and of course, writing.

We sink in abundance

Have you wondered why minimalists live a happy life? Living by the rule that less is more is the key to long-lasting happiness.

Owning too many possessions makes you constantly think and worry about them; owning fewer items clears up your mind and helps you focus on things that truly matter. Too much stuff takes away the essence of life. It strips away the joy of existence. Not to mention, it takes away your brainpower.

Since the pandemic, I have tried to adopt a few minimalist habits. I did a closet overhaul and got rid of items I hadn’t worn in ages. The reason they were in my closet was that I had a psychological attachment to them, but they no longer served their purpose other than occupying my closet space. And I can’t describe the feeling after I cleared up my wardrobe. By clearing up my closet I cleared up my mind.

Research has shown that physical objects don’t add to our happiness. It’s our experiences that add enrichment to our lives and make us more fulfilled.

When you step away from material possessions, you open up your mind for more experiences that give you lasting memories of a lifetime. Experiences, as opposed to material possessions, will go far and beyond the transient feelings of excitement that come from owning objects.

Some people splurge and purchase something in the heat of the moment. Later they regret their actions as they realize their decision didn’t make them happier. If you think about it, do you need two TVs, three computers, or four speakers in your house? What about all the clothing you wear? I’m sure if you peeked into your closet, you’ll find a few items that you can get rid of that you haven’t worn for years.

Every person is different when it comes to figuring out their level of complexity. But if you follow the general rule that less is more, you’ll make sure you don’t surround yourself with too much stuff.

Take a close look at your life and see where you can simplify. I’m sure you can find some areas where you can cut down, reduce, or minimize. By decluttering your life, you’ll declutter your mind too. You’ll live a happier and more fulfilling life.

Simplicity is the golden ticket to a happy life.

The bottom line

You don’t need to make your life more complicated than it has to be. Overthinking your decisions and owning too many possessions will only make your life more stressful and reduce the quality of your life.

Whatever you do, focus on simplicity and you’ll find the key to long-lasting happiness. It’s your life after all and you deserve to live it in the best way possible.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Kristina Segarra

Health & wellness and self-improvement writer. Mother of 2. Musician.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.