Humans logo

She Wanted a Rainbow Party

What would you Do?

By SUZETTE DRUMMONDSPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like

She wanted a Rainbow Themed Birthday Party

We were ready to give her the best Rainbow Party a girl could ask for. It took all day to create her Rainbow-Colored Backdrop which consisted of streamers with seven different colours attached to cardboard and then attached to the wall outside for photos.

We ordered a rainbow-themed triple-layer cake and bought the perfect princess dress for the occasion. The party was amazing everyone came from all over. We ate, we laughed, and we enjoyed ourselves. She wished for LOL dolls and her wish came true, she got several LOL dolls and accessories.

The party was over, we cleaned up and put away the chairs, the tables and all the equipment we used to transform our deck into the ultimate party. We decided to keep the Rainbow streamed backdrop on the wall to take more pictures during the week before taking it down.

I am an early riser and I love to go for morning walks to the local coffee shop, I am very social, and I had quickly become associated with all the neighbours where I live. I was going to say hello to one of my neighbours and I noticed that she looked the other way when she was passing by. I tried to greet another neighbour, but he tried not to make eye-contact with me when he was driving out from his garage. I started to get the feeling I was being treated differently.

On the news the next morning a gentleman was talking about Pride Month and noticing some decorations were still up in the downtown area and it was a pleasant sight to see. I wondered could my neighbours think I am Gay because of my Rainbow-Streamed Background? It was still hanging on the porch. I was sure I mentioned the fact that I lived with my daughter and two granddaughters, had they forgotten that fact? I wondered what I should do.

One day I saw one of my neighbours working outside in front of his garage. He had company but I knew this was my opportunity to strike. “Hi, I just wanted to make sure we did not disturb you last weekend with our Rainbow-Themed Birthday Party for my Granddaughter” I said. He laughed and said he was not disturbed and made a joke about the rain that day, and how it could have possibly created a rainbow which would have matched our theme. We laughed and talked about the fact that no rainbows appeared in the sky, but the sun came out and the weather worked out for the best, and the party was great. We said our farewells and I walked back home. I had planted a seed of information in his mind and now I had to give that tree some time to grow.

I know I should not care what people think about me. I love myself and I am very comfortable in my own skin. Being a visible minority is already tough in itself. I just could not handle the fact that I was openly being treated so differently. I was being shunned something I did not expect or think would happen to me. To test my theory, I had to share enough information to see if I was correct.

The next day I went for my regular morning walk, I was being acknowledged again, neighbours were making eye contact with me, and the neighbours were greeting me. I knew the word had spread, that I was not making a statement of choice, it was just party decorations. So, I was being shunned because they felt that I did not fit in with their norms of society. No person should be treated differently due to their life choices. We should all learn to accept others in all aspects. There is just no excuse for any person to be treated this way. I thought society had changed for the better, but we still have a long way to go.

We are all unique, special magnificently created human beings and we should treat each other with respect. We should love one another for we are all the same, we are one.

featurehumanitylgbtqfamily
Like

About the Creator

SUZETTE DRUMMONDS

I am a Child & Youth Advocate, a Poet, a Writer, a Sister, a Mother, A Woman, and A Visible Minority with a Voice. I always wanted to be a writer and Vocal allows me to challenge myself. I Love This Awesome Community of Creative Writers

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.