Humans logo

She smiled

The sunset gently shines, a few birds cut through the quiet sky, the sky a round of red sun is slowly descending, slowly the sky cloaked in a layer of light purple, but also dense with a lapel of light vine yellow, let people feel a little unreal.

By David R HallPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
She smiled
Photo by Aniket Bhattacharya on Unsplash

The sunset gently shines, a few birds cut through the quiet sky, the sky a round of red sun is slowly descending, slowly the sky cloaked in a layer of light purple, but also dense with a lapel of light vine yellow, let people feel a little unreal. The city is frozen in time, and the bustle of the past has turned into a bubble. 2020, the sad year, terrible pneumonia swept in, and Wuhan has become an empty city. People are a bit more distant from each other.

Right next to our building was a district of villas. One villa was attached to another villa all with two floors, red tiles, and yellow walls, each with a few small windows on the upper floors and a small garden. And just in the gap of that one villa after another, slowly extending out of a stone alley, the alleyway is covered by the thick shade of the trees, which can not be seen without a close look. Not far from the alleyway, there is a convenience store, that sometimes helps others to receive couriers, so the name of the store is also called "convenience store". A white cat lazily basking in the sun, stretching from time to time, licking its fur, lying leisurely in front of the store. During the epidemic, I often went to that store. Gradually, I fell back into contemplation ......

It was the first time it opened during the epidemic, and I was already bored at home with mold, when I heard that the convenience store had opened its doors, making me a "glutton".

"Mom, can we go buy snacks?" "Please, I want to eat so much." ......

I had to make a good deal of effort before my mother agreed to go shopping for snacks: "Okay, okay, okay, go buy." We made a list and bought a lot of food. After ordering, I put on my jacket, put on my shoes, tied my shoelaces crookedly, put on two 50 yuan, grabbed a handful of change and ran out the door, and came back in a flash. "Finished shopping so quickly?" I laughed: "I didn't bring my mask." I put on the mask and rushed out again.

Darted to the door of the convenience store, but the door was closed, "Bam, bam, bam, bam", the knocking sounded. The owner hurriedly opened the door, she was 30 years old or so, cute round face, a light layer of powder on the face, a pair of light purple eyeliner on the eyes, she smelled like lavender perfume. She very while taking out the goods from the carton on the shelves, while squinting and smiling, said, "Children, come and buy it yourself, what to buy?" "Auntie I want milk, and this snow cake, Want Want brand better ......", I want everything I see. She scurried between the shelves, and in a short time filled a large bag, and she carefully counted "a total of 104 yuan." She smiled and handed me the goods, and then brought a bottle of alcohol, carefully sprayed a spray on the bag, wiped and wiped, "Thank you," I counted the money "this ...... I only brought 59 yuan. " I was in too much of a hurry to get out of the house and dropped a 50 yuan at home. My face turned red and I felt and felt in my pocket, hoping to find something.

She used alcohol to sterilize the money and brought it over "Well, well, all neighbors, go home and let **** mom Weibo call over the line." She handed me the QR code, "In fact, this convenience store can also be online orders, call **** mom into the WeChat group, direct orders to pick up on it."

A warm current rushed into the heart, like a clear spring flowing slowly. I went home and paid for it, and from then on, I often went to her house to buy things. There was an alley where her villa and another villa intersected the flesh, said to be an alley, but a gutter. This epidemic period specifically with a stone slab paved up to pick up goods. I saw the white cat again, still sitting lazily at the end of the alley, seeing people, just blinking and licking their paws, sitting there gracefully. The owner moved a chair and sat there waiting for customers. She hung the merchandise on the railing, still smiling warmly: "What number is it?" "Number four." "This is the merchandise, absolutely hygienic and clean, disinfected." I also laugh, this enthusiastic laughter has been echoed in my heart ......

I love this little store, which became my "snack store" during the epidemic. I also like her smile, because when she smiles, she shows two small dimples, making people feel sweet, the corners of her eyes slightly up, and my heart warmed.

A gust of wind pulled me back to reality, and I picked up my phone to freeze the gazing scene forever, this one alley in the golden line of this picture. On one side, a clear, cold city, and on the other, a warm, smiling face. The epidemic has separated us temporarily, but it can't stop the love between people. I hope one day we can still embrace with such a smile, beautiful Wuhan!

friendship
Like

About the Creator

David R Hall

Reading makes you feel good

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.